We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Beach - Renovated Rooms Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ka'anapali Beach Club to your Saves list
Ka'anapali Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Maui
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location - Great Beach - Renovated Rooms Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ka'anapali Beach Club is definitely located on a great beach in Maui. The rooms are nice (if you have a renovated room)...but there is little to no chance of getting an ocean view if you don't get one when you check in. We were there 2 weeks and they kept saying they would move us to an ocean view room, but never did. The ladies at the front desk lie, so don't believe them.

Only other major complaint is that the breakfast buffet place is totally gross. Its DIRTY! I watched the staff use the same rag to clean the tables and floor!!!! The chairs aren't cleaned at all and are covered in sticky stuff. It was really sick...Plus the lady who is supposedly the "hostess" is NOT hospitable. People were laughing at how rude she is...She doesn't help anyone she works with and makes getting a table difficult. Guess she feels in charge of something by controlling the table her customers get. We just ignored her and sat where we wanted. Would have been nice to get a good breakfast in the morning.

Luckily, the restaurant that is by the pool (open for lunch/dinner) is actually pretty good and the servers there are wonderful-- but that is the only good place to eat on site....which doesn't really matter unless you plan on staying at the resort all day which you shouldn't because there is SO MUCH to do on the island. Maui is absolutely my favorite place in North America...no place like it.

With that said, KBC is an affordable average place to stay...how can you not be happy in Hawaii?!?!?

Room Tip: In June -- renovated floors were floor 7 and up. If not renovated, rooms are moldy smelling and pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    429
    177
    54
    35
See reviews for
355
469
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort in May 2013. We booked an ”Ocean View” room through Priceline. I was told that our room was on the second floor. The room was on an interior corner. 50% of the view of the ocean was blocked by the section of the building that jutted out towards the ocean. The building totally blocked the main part of the sunset. Both the window in the bedroom and living areas had the top of palm trees in front of them. You could see some of the ocean between the branches. When I challenged the clerk about this, I was told that “as long as you can see some water, it is an ocean view room.” I was paying extra for this room!
When I booked the room, priceline said that I had free parking but had to pay any resort fees. The desk clerk said that parking was included in the resort fee ($25 a day – stayed 6 days: total: $150). Hence, I was actually paying for parking.
With the two problems, I asked to see a manager. After a lengthy discussion, I was given a room on the 8th floor. This suite had a better view ( but still 50% blocked by the building). There was no movement on reducing the resort fee. The manager claimed that priceline was at fault for advertising free parking putting - even though it was clearly stated on my confirmation page. When I got home, Priceline was called. They indicated that they would not refund a portion of the resort fee to me. I contacted the Better Business Bureau and filed a complaint with them. Thanks to the Bureau, priceline finally reimbursed me the resort fee.
Recommendation: If you stay here, ask for a room on the south side, fourth floor or higher if you want to see sunsets. Do not believe that parking is free. If you are looking to buy into the timeshare, be careful about specifying where your room is located. In addition, do not be fooled by white tablecloths at you free breakfast. You do not see them at the restaurants if you are paying for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
On a positive note, the food was good. The resort was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the problems overshadowed the fun.

Room Tip: Make sure that you specify the room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are deeply sorry to read about your disappointment following your recent stay at Kaanapali Beach Club. We would like to advise, however, that we do rely on our 3rd party partners to provide our guests with comprehensive advice and we apologise if you felt that some of the information presented to you was misleading. We are, however, glad that we were able to offer you an alternative apartment, by which the quality of your stay was improved. Nevertheless, we are of course very sorry for the disappointment and dissatisfaction you may have experienced and we hope that this will not deter you from considering making the most of our comfortable and well kept resort and giving us another chance in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Kaanapali Beach Club 4 times so far, and every stay is ALWAYS a pleasure. The staff always have gone out of their way to make sure our stay is great. Not to mention that just about the entire staff knows me from each of my stays. My buddy and staff member King and the front desk group have helped us get wonderful rooms facing the ocean and west Maui mountains. Every suite at the KBC is large and spacious with a spectacular view wherever your room is located. Pool is nice and large, and the slide was just renovated. The talking parrots in the lobby (Alex, Casey, Lil Guy, etc) always bring similes to travelers faces during the stay. There is also a timeshare district it you are interested. Do note that the hotel is currently getting renovated top to bottom also. An activity center is also located downstairs with Susan, Bryson and a few other awesome people! Bowling and mini golf is also included. The "Pepto Bismol Colored Palace" is another way to experience the real luxury of ALOHA on Kaanapali beach. And if anyone from the KBC staff, this is Kyle and this is MY review.
Mahalo Kaanapali Beach Club for the memories so far!

Room Tip: Make sure to call ahead and ask if you can get a renovated room noted on your reservation. Its just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We’re really pleased that you enjoy staying at the Ka’anapali Beach Club – thank you for this lovely review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed one week in a one bedroom. The bed was great but the pull out was only OK. The room is beautiful, as is the bathroom, but they could've used that space a lot more efficiently. The staff was fantastic and accommodating, as well as extremely friendly. The women at the front desk were beyond helpful. The pool area is absolutely gorgeous and only a few steps to the beach! Food and drink prices are high, as to be expected in Maui, but the happy hour specials were fantastic. It's nice to have options for the kitchen to cook (although no stove) but also easy to eat/drink on site if necessary. A really beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Ka'anapali Beach Club is a place we have been going to for the past 15 years. Every time we go to Maui (4 times), this is where we want to stay. Sadly, there were no rooms available this time around, mostly due to how many have been taken out of service due to much needed renovations for many of the rooms. I don't know where that stands, but other reviews have floors 8-12 already renovated. They did have renovations going on at the Ohana Bar and Grill outside by the pool from 10pm-6am every evening. Everything was in order by the next morning. Due to lack of availability, we stayed next door at the sister Diamond Resort, the "Ka'anapali Shores". With that, we are able to use anything on the Ka'anapali Beach Club's property, including the pool. While over there, we had to put up with the unsightly view of many, many, "time share" workers putting the "once over" on guest of the Beach Club to buy timeshare. Yes, they are usually contained to a section of the property, however that is around the breakfast area and pool area. Not what you want to see while on vacation. Having said that, it's a fantastic property in the middle of paradise and the most amazing view. That's why we always go back there!

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room for sure. Try to avoid the "time share people" the best you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are sorry to read that due to refurbishment works we were not able to offer you an accommodation at Ka'anapali Beach Club however we are glad that your stay at Ka'anapali Shores was just as pleasant. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, solicitation of a timeshare presentation may take place and we apologize if our sales team's presence has inconvenienced you in any way. We would like to assure you, that in most cases participation in the meeting is not obligatory and all agents appreciate that not every guest may be interested in joining The Club. We hope that this has not marred your stay and we are looking towards your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just got back from a week at this resort. I liked the rooms which we thought were a great size (we had a 1 bedroom). Bed was comfy and the pull out sofa wasn't bad either. The bathroom was very large with two sinks, a tub, shower and private water closet. The kitchen was good to have as we like cooking a bit to save on meals. There was no stove top but an electric pan which was nice for bacon and eggs in the AM and grilled pork chops over onions for dinner one night. there is a blender, toaster, coffeemaker and microwave also.

The service was great. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. We didn't do any presentations as we are members of Diamond resorts and didn't get any negative vibes for this.

Pool was nice, big and always clean. On the bad side the hot tub was broken (which was disappointing) and didn't get fixed during our visit. The resort is on the beach which is nice and there are tidal pools along the beach to explore also.

We played mini-golf which was also disappointing based on the many rips and issues with the course. Beware of the loose bricks. That aside we had fun playing on it and my 6yold enjoyed it.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I have loved staying at our adopted resort, the Ka'anapali Beach Club numerous times, we even have a favorite room. I'll give you a hint, it's on the 10th floor with a view of BOTH the ocean and the mountains, truly spectacular. Our friends that own on Maui love visiting us to watch the sunset from our spacious lanai. We even hosted a star-gazer evening this past time, iPads and SkyView app for all! Service is top rate as well as friendly smiles from the staff. Three weeks melted into one memory way faster than I expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maui hotels
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#21 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,949 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.