We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Ka'anapali Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 51 hotels in Maui
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed one week in a one bedroom. The bed was great but the pull out was only OK. The room is beautiful, as is the bathroom, but they could've used that space a lot more efficiently. The staff was fantastic and accommodating, as well as extremely friendly. The women at the front desk were beyond helpful. The pool area is absolutely gorgeous and only a few steps to the beach! Food and drink prices are high, as to be expected in Maui, but the happy hour specials were fantastic. It's nice to have options for the kitchen to cook (although no stove) but also easy to eat/drink on site if necessary. A really beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    357
    148
    48
    30
See reviews for
293
394
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Ka'anapali Beach Club is a place we have been going to for the past 15 years. Every time we go to Maui (4 times), this is where we want to stay. Sadly, there were no rooms available this time around, mostly due to how many have been taken out of service due to much needed renovations for many of the rooms. I don't know where that stands, but other reviews have floors 8-12 already renovated. They did have renovations going on at the Ohana Bar and Grill outside by the pool from 10pm-6am every evening. Everything was in order by the next morning. Due to lack of availability, we stayed next door at the sister Diamond Resort, the "Ka'anapali Shores". With that, we are able to use anything on the Ka'anapali Beach Club's property, including the pool. While over there, we had to put up with the unsightly view of many, many, "time share" workers putting the "once over" on guest of the Beach Club to buy timeshare. Yes, they are usually contained to a section of the property, however that is around the breakfast area and pool area. Not what you want to see while on vacation. Having said that, it's a fantastic property in the middle of paradise and the most amazing view. That's why we always go back there!

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room for sure. Try to avoid the "time share people" the best you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are sorry to read that due to refurbishment works we were not able to offer you an accommodation at Ka'anapali Beach Club however we are glad that your stay at Ka'anapali Shores was just as pleasant. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, solicitation of a timeshare presentation may take place and we apologize if our sales team's presence has inconvenienced you in any way. We would like to assure you, that in most cases participation in the meeting is not obligatory and all agents appreciate that not every guest may be interested in joining The Club. We hope that this has not marred your stay and we are looking towards your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just got back from a week at this resort. I liked the rooms which we thought were a great size (we had a 1 bedroom). Bed was comfy and the pull out sofa wasn't bad either. The bathroom was very large with two sinks, a tub, shower and private water closet. The kitchen was good to have as we like cooking a bit to save on meals. There was no stove top but an electric pan which was nice for bacon and eggs in the AM and grilled pork chops over onions for dinner one night. there is a blender, toaster, coffeemaker and microwave also.

The service was great. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. We didn't do any presentations as we are members of Diamond resorts and didn't get any negative vibes for this.

Pool was nice, big and always clean. On the bad side the hot tub was broken (which was disappointing) and didn't get fixed during our visit. The resort is on the beach which is nice and there are tidal pools along the beach to explore also.

We played mini-golf which was also disappointing based on the many rips and issues with the course. Beware of the loose bricks. That aside we had fun playing on it and my 6yold enjoyed it.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I have loved staying at our adopted resort, the Ka'anapali Beach Club numerous times, we even have a favorite room. I'll give you a hint, it's on the 10th floor with a view of BOTH the ocean and the mountains, truly spectacular. Our friends that own on Maui love visiting us to watch the sunset from our spacious lanai. We even hosted a star-gazer evening this past time, iPads and SkyView app for all! Service is top rate as well as friendly smiles from the staff. Three weeks melted into one memory way faster than I expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I stayed here July 6 to July 9. We checked in to two one bedroom condos. One for my husband and I and one for our children (22, 20, 14 yrs). Anne Tanner and Bonnie checked us in. While my husband got all our luggages, I told them that I prefer an ocean view room because my husband and I are celebrating our 24th yr anniversary and that we will be renewing our vows on the beach on July 8th - a surprise to my husband. Anne checked us into room 1012 - in the newly renovated side of the condo. When we walked into our room it was a honemoon suite!! I was in so much awe that I cried because it was more than perfect. My kids love their condo too. The staff is so friendly and customer focused. Anne Tanner rocks! She was my Maui vacation angel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It means the world to us to ensure that our guests can enjoy their time with us and so it is great to read that you were so pleased with our services and the standard of our resort and accommodations and that we contributed to making your stay even more special! Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding our team! We are looking towards your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Kaanapali Beach Club in April 2013. Our room was very clean with comfortable furniture and Kingsize bed. The room had a very large bathroom, so 2 people getting ready was a breeze. All the staff that we encountered, from check-in, to dining, to parking were very pleasant and helpful. The pool is outstanding! It is very large with numerous chaise lounges, so a place to lounge in the sun was always available. The resort was upgrading the children's pool area, making for a noisy swim time. However, they were nearing construction by the time we left. The main downside to our stay was the location of our room. We were on the service side of the building and were awakened each morning to the beeping of trucks backing into the service dock. And, unfortunately, the service deliveries continued throughout the day, though honestly, we were not in the room much during the day. There is a very small beach area in front of the hotel with a lot of coral. So, be cautious when swimming or snorkeling. My husband and I would definitely stay here on our return to Maui, but at a different room location.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the service side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We’re really pleased that you liked the resort and that our team provided you with all the assistance you needed during your stay, but we’re sorry to read your concerns about the location of your apartment. We want all our guests to have a relaxing vacation, and our front desk team would have been happy to look for an alternative apartment for you if one had been requested – we do encourage guests to let us know if they have any concerns at all during their stay, s we’ll be happy to help.

We’re pleased to read that you would like to return here for another visit, and we feel sure that your next stay here will more than exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at Ka'anapali Beach Club Resort May 5-12,2013. It was my friend's and mine first visit to Hawaii. We rented a car and it was not too difficult to find, even though it was late at night. The valet parks your car so you don't have to deal with that part, though we always gave a tip when they brought it to us.There was a bell porter that carried our luggage up. The one-bedroom I had reserved was pleasantly large. The bathroom was huge, with a vanity with sink at one end and a pedestal sink at the other. It was nicely done with granite and tile and had a water closet, seperate glassed shower and a soaking tub. The bedroom had a king -size bed with the Diamond Resort linens. A comfortable bed is one thing you can count on at a Diamond-managed resort.There was a dresser with large flatscreen TV, a desk and 2 nightstands. The large closet could be opened from the bedroom or the bathroom.The living/dining area had a decent sofa, 2 armchairs and a nice table with 4 chairs. There was a large TV stand-dresser combeo with a large flatscreen. Living room opened to the narrow but long balcony. 2 chairs with a small table and a lounger were out there. My friend slept on the sofabed and I got the bedroom.The furniture was a bit nicked here and there, like the coffee table. But the Resort is being re-modeled and had not got to our floor. We were on the 3rd and they were doing top floors first.The room was actually nicer than we had expected. The kitchen, though is partial. It is nicely done, but there is no stove. They provide a good-sized fridge, microwave and dishwasher. There is a large electric skillet that we cooked on. It was inconvienant not to have an oven.There were small appliances like toaster, blender,can opener, etc.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. But the laundry situation is a bit crazy. Even number floors have a small laundry with only one washer and 2 dryers. There are quite a few rooms on every floor(3 towers!) so the one washer for 2 floors was not enough. You don't have to pay for them, just bring detergent. We spent too much time trying to do laundry.
There is a restaurant and bar downstairs but we didn't eat there.We did have drinks at happy Hour once.
We had a maintanace problem, we came back one night about 10:oo pm and the A/C was making noise. I called maintanance and he came promptly and said one of two units was broken. We were cool enough for the night with one and they replaced the other the next day.My friend froze after that;)

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are better, 11th floor has been re-modeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review, we are delighted to read that we were able to meet, if not even exceed, your expectations and you had such a lovely and relaxing time with us and we are glad that our team once again proved their reliability and competence, although we are sorry to read that your friend found the newly installed A/C unit to provide a bit too efficient to their liking.. We are grateful to you for your comments and are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.