We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall really nice stay at KBC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Ka'anapali Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 51 hotels in Maui
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Overall really nice stay at KBC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at KBC for 6 nights during our Hawaiian vacation. We were really hoping to get a renovated room but no luck- the girl at check in said the hotel is usually 90% or more booked up. We ended up on the 7th floor and I must say the suites are very nice and very spacious. The bathrooms are huge! The only complaints about the room was that it had a strong musty smell and the sofa was very dated, awkward and uncomfortable. We got somewhat used to the smell, and as for the sofa- we just avoided it and sat on the chairs which were very comfy. The maids kept the room very clean, and the kitchen was well equipped with just about anything you may need to use- coffee maker, blender, toaster, etc.

The pool area was very nice, pools seem to be heated which is so much nicer to get into than others. No shortage of chairs, always lots of space available. Beach is nice also- can be quite windy though so we didn't spend a lot of time on it.

The poolside restaurant was good- service was always friendly- although drinks are pricey unless you get in on happy hour from 3-6. We loved the gentleman who sang just about every night on the deck. Very nice to sit and enjoy and meal or drink outdoors in beautiful Maui while being entertained by him.

The concierge desk we avoided like the plague after our encounter with them on the first night. The gal we spoke to was VERY aggressive about trying to book us for the 90 min timeshare presentation. They use cheesy lines like "how would you like $100 of free groceries right now?" as well as tell you about all of the great discounts on excursions. I guess if wasting an hour and half of your time is worth saving a few bucks then fine but we couldn't be bothered.

I would say the location is nice although if I returned to Maui I would probably stay somewhere that was within walking distance of more shopping and restaurants (perhaps one of the ones close to Whalers Village for example). There is a grocery store and a small strip mall with some businesses but nothing that appealed to us. You pretty much have to drive 10 min or more to get to anything decent which is a bit of a pain when hubby doesn't want to shop and only his name is on the rental car agreement).

Overall I would say this is a nice hotel to stay in- will probably be top notch once renovations are completed. Would we return? I'm not sure... the pushy concierge was a real turn off and the location does not best suit our needs so we may be booking elsewhere next time around unless we got a really good deal at KBC.

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room- 8th floor and up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    357
    148
    48
    30
See reviews for
293
394
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This was my first stay at KBC. I was thrilled with the accommodations. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The nightly music for happy hour and beyond was relaxing and enjoyable. The two musicians we listened to were great. They took requests and all. Two thumbs up for them. We enjoyed the Maui sunsets both from the beach and from the patio of the bar. I used the workout facility daily. It was well equipped. Our rooms were great. Full kitchen, huge bathroom with full bath tub, separate shower and two sinks which made it easy for my mom and I to get ready at the same time. I really enjoyed the location. North Ka'anapali is more low key. Every morning we could just walk south and catch the boardwalk to go for a morning walk along with many avid athletes and exercisers. Duke's was just a 10min walk. Excellent dinners...

I will definitely go stay at KBC again. This would also be a fabulous place for a family. I would not change a thing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in the Maui area. We are sincerely delighted to read that our accommodations, amenities, customer service, entertainment, and location met, if not exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach Club for a week in late January 2013. We were very happy with the accommodations, the restaurants, the amenities and the location. Ka'anapali is a beautiful location on Maui. There are lots of beaches and the weather is lovely. We were only about 10 minutes from Lahaina, an easy ride to more shopping, restaurants and the whale watching excursions place. The restaurants were good - the pizza place handy and open late, the breakfast buffet was also very good. The pool area was beautiful and we never had problems finding chairs. All in all, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are delighted to read that you recent visit at Ka'anapali Beach Club has left you with such a good impression and you would consider paying us another visit in the future. We hope we will not need to wait too long to see you again and until then we wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakPark, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wife & I spent 4/23-4/30 at the wonderful Ka'anapali Beach Club. Had a ocean/pool view room which was great. The night(9pm) we checked in we were greeted by a wonderful young lady at the front desk by the name of Diane. She was so helpful whenever we called the front desk for help or info.Diane provided great customer service. We found the entire place to be fantastic! Would return again. Maui is such a wonderful island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitvale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We just returned home from 2 weeks at KBC and we had a fantastic vacation.

This is our first trip to Maui and we found the KBC to be a great place to stay. The staff treated us like family. The valets were very helpful and always provided some advice before we headed out for the day. The front desk staff were always smiling and very attentive to our needs. Everyone - cleaning staff, bartenders, concierge, etc - we dealt with appeared to be very customer focused and enjoyed their jobs.

Location was fantastic - close to great restaurants, grocery stores and fabulous beaches.

Our room was an excellent value and the bed was very comfortable. Kitchen facilities met our needs.

The pool was very nice and the beach area was the perfect place to watch the sun set after a busy day.

We can not say enough about the KBC and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on southeast corner provide great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of our resort. We were very delighted to hear that our accommodations, activities, amenities, customer service, and location exceeded your expectations. Our team members take great pride in going above and beyond when it comes to making our guests feel at home. Your recommendation is much appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A group of 5 of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very accommodating and were always ready to help when they could. One of our group is severely handicapped and the staff and manager worked to help us have an extended checkout so we could be more comfortable for our late evening flight. This gave us almost another full day at this lovely resort.

Bryson in the activities center was a lovely young man who helped us to enjoy our stay. He did a great job dancing and working at poolside as well.

Brett who enticed us to buy more points gave us the most pleasant sales experience we have every had. We were treated to some free meals and he always made us feel that he had our best interests at heart. Although the sales group has a new approach, we never felt the hard sale and outright anger that we have experienced elsewhere. We are looking forward to coming back in the winter.

We enjoyed good food, drinks and ambiance and comfortable beds.

We did have a few points that made our stay less comfortable. There are no floor mats in the rooms so although we took our shoes off at the door we constantly had to deal with sand on the floor. We asked to borrow a broom but were told that wasn't possible but they would send housekeeping to sweep. That was very inconvenient so we just used towels to wipe our feet and bedside. The bathroom only has one towel rack on the shower door so there was no place to hang damp towels. We had them hanging over doors and furniture but still had to exchange often because of the humidity.

The kitchens do not have a stove top or oven but with the available rice cooker, crock pot and electric skillet, we were able to turn out some good meals. Unfortunately there are not enough bowls in the kitchen to mix or store any food. There wasn't even a cheese grater.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is fantastic! The staff are all great, the food is excellent. The room is comfortable and spacious, with a separate bedroom and a huge bathroom. This was our first trip to Maui, we shouldn't have waited so long to come here. The weather has been perfect except for 1 day of rain, which was great anyway as it cooled everything down a bit. We became friends with Jamie and Helen in the bar, they are great people and when we walk in they always give us a smile and make us feel like long-time friends. The location is perfect, between Lahaina and Kapalua. I played golf at both, which is another review

Room Tip: Try to get the Ohala Tower, it's closer to the beach and the views are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.