We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable, but not much beach area.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ka'anapali Beach Club to your Saves list
Ka'anapali Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Maui
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable, but not much beach area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our room was large (living room with dining area & small kitchen, bedroom & large bathroom). The balconies on all rooms are very narrow, allowing a couple of chairs side by side with a very small table between them, which makes it impossible to acually eat outside, unless you have a plate on your lap. The kitchen includes a nice size frig, dishwasher & microwave. We made the mistake of purchasing eggs to make omlettes for breakfast.....no stove top!
The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean & the service was wonderful. Our TV's, both in the living room & bedroom, stopped working and they replaced one & repaired the other within the hour of calling.
The pool area needs more umbrellas for shade. People were saving the few lounge chairs by umbrellas by 7:30 - 8:00am!
All in all we had a lovely time for the we were there. We stayed the next 6 nights at a timeshare.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club. We regret to read that you have not been pleased with the beach and guests reserving sun loungers have caused you disturbance. We would like to assure you that we try and inform guests that such ‘techniques’ are not welcomed, unfortunately they remain popular. We also regret to read that the size of the balcony was not to your satisfaction – we apologise for this inconvenience. We are pleased to learn however that you had an overall pleasant stay and we hope you will consider us for your future bookings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    406
    167
    54
    35
See reviews for
334
453
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here in March of 2009. The hotel was going through some renovation so some units were new and some old. Ours happened to be old and had a view of the side court yard but was just above some sort of utility room with giant engines making quite a bit of noise. If possible avoid this side of the building.
The unit we booked was a one bedroom condo. It was quite decent, small kitchenette was adequate for our needs (we travelled with a one year old at the time and did not feel like keeping him strapped in a high chair in a restaurant three meals a day), the living room had ample space for a one year old to crawl around and we did not feel lacking space that we most likely would in a hotel room with a small child. The price of the unit was what an average hotel room would be at the time so we felt it was quite a good deal.
The grounds were nice, the pool was great, the small beach was nice and clean. The main restaurant was overpriced but the food was decent. Our main problem was that there was not much to walk to from the property so we had to get in the car and drive to the main part of the Ka’anapali beach where major hotels are.
Bottom line: it is a great choice if travelling on a budget or feeling like you do not want to spend way too much money on overpriced hotel breakfasts.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above the little Koi pond. Too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in Jan 2012. It was actually a gift from my neice and her husband, who own the timeshare. We loved it!! Poolside movies were amazing! We saw whales from our beach every day! We even saw a sea turtle one morning! To be barefoot ALL the time, in January, was the best!! We used the hotel staff to book our excursions so we were able to get them at a discount. The time-share presentation was long but we didn't feel overly pressured. The only down side to me was that it was too far from "town", we had to drive everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It got to a point i was trying to find an AHA! moment. As in " AHA! I found something wrong with this property"! I got weary of that game and settled into a relaxing, pleasurable, stress dissolving, sensory overloading, scenery explosion, people pleasing , culinary delight, ocean exploring, sea turtle paradise, beach bumming, pool slumming, etc. etc. etc. that is Maui and in particular THE KA"ANAPALI BEACH CLUB AND STAFF. They remind me of the folks in Aruba, gentle, genuine, and gracious people. No Steppford Wives smiles here. You get the feeling that they are sincere and love their island and MORE importantly what they do for a living......to accommodate you. After all, isn't that what you spend you hard earned dollars on vacation for? People who are thankful that you chose them to satisfy your vacationing needs? Never mind the timesharing fuss. Say no thank you and keep moving. If you go to a presentation expect to spend 3 hours to get your little discounts to the snorkeling excursion or a discounted dinner. If you are genuinely interested good for you go for it. Nobody can make choices for you but you. Now, to the good stuff. Lahaina Grill. Pricey. But worth it ( see my review) and I would go again. Is Maui expensive? If you shop across the street fron the resort ,yes. Find Costco or Walmart or ask the locals where do the shop for food and sundries. Do go to the north where you will find my favorite ( and the surfers too) Oneola beach. Rough surf but Gin clear waters and no crowds. But you have to be a good swimmer. Kapula beach and the rest in the area are great for snorkelers and have tamer waters.I found my new retirement home although I still love all the Keys from Largo to West it's gonna be hard to chose and oh yeah, San Diego. The Beach Club is super. Words can not explain what a great time I had there ding virtually nothing. Get the oceanview rooms and wake up to Moloki every morning.....stunning. Rent a car to enjoy the island. Ill post some photos later. I will be dedicating at least one week vacation to Maui and the surrounding islands each year. It took me 30 years to get here but I'm glad I made it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Top floors are best and any floor that is ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigamme
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were incredibly dissappointed by our experience here. First, almost every encounter with staff (that's speaks English) is a high pressure sale. We were required to attend not only the "buy a time share here" meeting but an additional "look at all the attractions we sponsor to sell you" meeting. Our first 2 mornings at the resort. We were told both would include breakfast but coffee was all we got at either one.

After an hour and a half of telling the time share sales person we weren't interested because, my inlaws are owners and we will inherit their property, we were sent to the "closer". She proceeded to insult us by saying "Do you still drive your parents' car?". My husband reported this to the manage who offered us complimentary breakfasts for the rest of our stay. That would have been nice however, the hostess at the breakfast buffett couldn't understand our efforts to explain this when we tried to redeem it. And we had to track down that same manager at check out to actually get the "free" breakfasts off of our bill.

The beach is rocky and steep with constant strong winds. Making it pretty unpleasant to swim there. The pool is beautiful and large. There is 1 very small hot tub that was always filled with children.

Our room and my parent's room were supposed to be next to each other. Instead we were on opposite ends of the facility. A couple minutes walk from one end to the other through the open air maze. Our room faced the supermarket behind the resort. Not much of a view for the price.

There is 1 ice machine on every other floor. There is 1 washer and 2 dryers on each floor. However this place boasts how many rooms? The ice machines on the floors near ours were usually out of ice and we had to go to every floor to find a washer or dryer that was not already in use.

The food was marginal and expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, General Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It is our goal to ensure that all our guests have an excellent holiday experience here at Ka'anapali Beach Club and we are very disappointed to read that we have not been successful on this occasion.
We are sorry if the contact made by our concierge department has caused you any inconvenience and we would like to assure you this will be addressed with the sales team.
We would also like to apologise that you have not found the facilities available on site efficient/numerous enough; we will mention this during our next management meeting. We would be grateful if you visited us again and gave us an opportunity to leave you with a better impression.
We wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at KBC numerous times over the past 10 years. This resort is now owned by Diamond Resort Int. Avoid becoming a Time Share owner. It is not cost effective.

The rooms are spacious but most have very "used" furniture. There is an on going plan to upgrade and replace the old furniture over a number of years. It is taking forever to see any major changes.

The support staff is the best and will usually go above and beyond to meet your every need. The valet crew, housekeeping and maint staff are alway top notch. We enjoy seeing the same support staff year after year.

Our most recent stay at KBC was 29 Dec 12 - 13 Jan13. I was unable to secure a room using the Diamond points system. No availability!!! I contacted the great group at Maui Hawaii Vacations. They were able to obtain the type of room and the exact dates I needed at KBC. In addition they also got us a room for my Son and Grandson also at KBC. When I saw the cost for a mini van from the nation wide car rental agencies I turned to MHV for assistance. The cost for the mini van for he entire stay was exactly half of what I was quoted from the Big Boys!!!!

If you want great helpful service to obtain your next reservation on Maui I recommend you contact Naomi at Maui Hawaii Vacations. Check their website to begin the process. You will not be disapponted.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and all the tips you shared with your fellow travellers. We appreciate all kinds of feedback as it allows us to monitor guest satisfaction and target any issues needing addressing. We are under an impression that, apart from few issues, you had a pleasant stay and we are glad that you are considering returning with another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were in Maui for a wedding so we were only at this hotel for four nights. From the minute we checked in through the time we left, the staff was friendly and welcoming. Our room wasn't ready at 4pm when we went to check in so they gave us a different room (same category, different location). They didn't tell us it would be an accessible room, but we were ok with it when we noticed it after entering. We had an extra large bathroom and shower, but a lack of counter space since it was an accessible room.

We loved our private Lanai and a peek-a-boo view of the pool. Should have splurged for an ocean view, but we weren't going to be in the hotel much to enjoy it. Will do that next time! Lunch poolside was great and not too expensive. One night we ordered pizza in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised how good it was, considering it was so affordable by Maui standards.

Convenient parking, good location and the pool is beautiful and relaxing! We didn't use the beach much, as there wasn't time, but it looked pretty small. We never had any trouble finding two pool side loungers, which really made our trip stress free. Nothing worse than being at a beautiful resort and not finding chairs to enjoy the pool. We always found two chairs quickly and in prime spots too!

All in all, a great stay! We will recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

Room Tip: I'd splurge for ocean view. Especially if you are here during whale season. We had a second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.