We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK, great views anyway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Ka'anapali Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 51 hotels in Maui
North Yarmouth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's OK, great views anyway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We traded 2 weeks at a Gorgeous resort in Playa Del Carmen, so we were a bit disppointed. We arrived very late one evening and were given a terrible room on the back side. Given the resort we traded from and we did this a year in advance, we were not happy. We did complain and were moved to a high floor with southly ocean views 4 days later, not close to ocean front (held for the owners we were told), but a very nice ocean view. The room was recently renovated, it was beautiful, and the view was grand. The facility as a whole however is old and worn. It's adequate and OK, but we expected more. More plantings around the palm trees would help to break up all the concrete!!! The gym was way too small, had to wait for equipment. The pools were nice, same with the beach, just not lots of room. Love the location. The bar was so so, we ended up strolling down the beach to Dukes several times. not sure if we would come back, maybe. The Westin down the beach is MUCH nicer, not sure we can trade into that one. The food was pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a High floor, a renovated room, south/westerly exposure (pool side)....can't go wrong in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    359
    150
    48
    30
See reviews for
294
398
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just came back from a week at the ka'anapali beach club. We had an amazing time. Our room was as we asked, high room with an ocean view. The room was amazing, we had a one bedroom suite that had everything we needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I had for the week was there was only one person serving the pool. The bar usually had two people on as did the bar side restaraunt while just one person covered the pool, which is a large area. Most of the time we ended up going to the bar instead of waiting. Small price to pay for such a wonderful resort. Can't wait to go back! Mahalo!

Room Tip: Pool view room would have been nice although that side of the resort was in direct sun. Great for su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from Hawaii and I would like to comment on the Ka'anapali Beach Club where we stayed for 5 nights. As an owner and this being the first time we have had the opportunity to use our Time Share, the overall experience was a GREAT ONE!!! Upon arrival we were put in the capable hands of Elvis, He is a definite bonus to the check-in staff. Always smiling and so pleasant. As our room wasn't ready when we arrived, they stored our suitcases for us and as soon as it was ready they texted us...so in the meantime we were free to go and roam around and check things out. Which was cool with us!! We had an older corner room, but we had the most spectacular view! We were told by staff, who we always found very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful that they are doing renovations, but we never heard any of it.
They have some great activities going on during the day and some evenings also. That was fun! We did the breakfast buffet, dining by the pool and Maui pizza....all were very good.
Luv'd the fact that you can walk right out of the resort and unto the beach and into the ocean.
Would we stay here again....YOU BET!! Already looking forward to our next trip back!!!

Room Tip: The top floors are newly renovated and they are currently working on 9 and 10 I believe. We stayed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my stayed at Ka'anapali Beach Club. We received one of the rooms that were recently renovated with a partial ocean view. The room was very large, comfortable, quiet for my taste and beautifully decorated. I was dissappointed in the restaurant options since it was really only one restaurant but thankfully there were plenty of other options nearby to choose from. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have been owners at this resort the past 8 years. We booked a deluxe ocen view and were supprised at the room we were given. Its view fromt he room was a condo complex tot he south, you could only see the ocean if you walked out tot he patio. We called and spoke with the front desk manager and she looked into a new room but nothing was aval.. I went down to the front desk and spoke with 1 of the clerks and she found a room as we had orignally requested when we made our reservation but would not be able to move for 3 days which waqs fine as we were staying 9 nights total. All our interactions with the front desk were positive.

In reading some of the past reviews I see complaints about the timeshare reps, I can tell you we were only approached 1 time when we picked up our welcome gift and as soon as we said we did not want to sit through another one she thanked us for our time and we went about our day.

I'm very happy as an owner to see the property constatly making improvments, and that we are not just spending money each year and leaving things just how they are!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here. We are truly grateful that you have been an owner with us for the past 8 years, however, it was concerning to read that your original room did not meet what you originally booked, as far as the view type was concerned. While the front desk manager did appear to fix this and provide you the correct room type three days later, this does not excuse the error in your original room assignment. We will be looking into this further, so that does not happen to you or other guests, when assigning rooms. Nonetheless, we were very pleased to read that the rest of your stay went well, and that you were happy, overall, with your stay and with your status as an owner. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice location, nice to have the kitchen amenities. Everything was great except the concierge and front desk. Don't fall for the time share sales pitch and don't ask the front desk for late checkout or anything extra. Everyone else was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

suite with fridge micriwave sink coffeepot (and coffee!), toaster. huge pool and nice beach. clean. great setvice. washers n dryers no charge on every other floor. food s little pricey...true everywhere in Hawaii. store in walking distance. pool towels nice. the activities concierge oversold sunset dinner cruise maui princess is awful. nailed Dowm plastic cheap laundromat chairs and tint tables crowded into inches small enough for midgets. bills for entertainment and dancing. huh!?? joke! big play for tipping overbosrd...i hated rhis event...waste of $$$ And vacation and time...pity this hotels people sell it big buckd big commission. ...shame on them. they pitched timeshare session for us...we said no no no. and that was that. we liked the hotel overall. old embassy suites. jacuzzi hot but pretty tiny...and too many tiny tots in it with parents...no thank ypu. not good place for any kids older than 6 or teens..they will be bored senseless. room suites lack quiet or privacy between rooms due to louvered doors everywhere that let every sound escape. no privacy ir quiet anytime any room

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Maui hotels
Mid-range, Beac...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
#20 of 29 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
Romantic, Mid-r...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 29 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
Quiet, Romantic...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Quiet, Ro...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Beach, Pool, Qu...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#2 of 29 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
#36 Business Hotel in Maui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.