We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back from Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Ka'anapali Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 51 hotels in Maui
saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just back from Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from Hawaii and I would like to comment on the Ka'anapali Beach Club where we stayed for 5 nights. As an owner and this being the first time we have had the opportunity to use our Time Share, the overall experience was a GREAT ONE!!! Upon arrival we were put in the capable hands of Elvis, He is a definite bonus to the check-in staff. Always smiling and so pleasant. As our room wasn't ready when we arrived, they stored our suitcases for us and as soon as it was ready they texted us...so in the meantime we were free to go and roam around and check things out. Which was cool with us!! We had an older corner room, but we had the most spectacular view! We were told by staff, who we always found very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful that they are doing renovations, but we never heard any of it.
They have some great activities going on during the day and some evenings also. That was fun! We did the breakfast buffet, dining by the pool and Maui pizza....all were very good.
Luv'd the fact that you can walk right out of the resort and unto the beach and into the ocean.
Would we stay here again....YOU BET!! Already looking forward to our next trip back!!!

Room Tip: The top floors are newly renovated and they are currently working on 9 and 10 I believe. We stayed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    364
    151
    49
    29
See reviews for
299
405
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my stayed at Ka'anapali Beach Club. We received one of the rooms that were recently renovated with a partial ocean view. The room was very large, comfortable, quiet for my taste and beautifully decorated. I was dissappointed in the restaurant options since it was really only one restaurant but thankfully there were plenty of other options nearby to choose from. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have been owners at this resort the past 8 years. We booked a deluxe ocen view and were supprised at the room we were given. Its view fromt he room was a condo complex tot he south, you could only see the ocean if you walked out tot he patio. We called and spoke with the front desk manager and she looked into a new room but nothing was aval.. I went down to the front desk and spoke with 1 of the clerks and she found a room as we had orignally requested when we made our reservation but would not be able to move for 3 days which waqs fine as we were staying 9 nights total. All our interactions with the front desk were positive.

In reading some of the past reviews I see complaints about the timeshare reps, I can tell you we were only approached 1 time when we picked up our welcome gift and as soon as we said we did not want to sit through another one she thanked us for our time and we went about our day.

I'm very happy as an owner to see the property constatly making improvments, and that we are not just spending money each year and leaving things just how they are!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here. We are truly grateful that you have been an owner with us for the past 8 years, however, it was concerning to read that your original room did not meet what you originally booked, as far as the view type was concerned. While the front desk manager did appear to fix this and provide you the correct room type three days later, this does not excuse the error in your original room assignment. We will be looking into this further, so that does not happen to you or other guests, when assigning rooms. Nonetheless, we were very pleased to read that the rest of your stay went well, and that you were happy, overall, with your stay and with your status as an owner. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice location, nice to have the kitchen amenities. Everything was great except the concierge and front desk. Don't fall for the time share sales pitch and don't ask the front desk for late checkout or anything extra. Everyone else was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

suite with fridge micriwave sink coffeepot (and coffee!), toaster. huge pool and nice beach. clean. great setvice. washers n dryers no charge on every other floor. food s little pricey...true everywhere in Hawaii. store in walking distance. pool towels nice. the activities concierge oversold sunset dinner cruise maui princess is awful. nailed Dowm plastic cheap laundromat chairs and tint tables crowded into inches small enough for midgets. bills for entertainment and dancing. huh!?? joke! big play for tipping overbosrd...i hated rhis event...waste of $$$ And vacation and time...pity this hotels people sell it big buckd big commission. ...shame on them. they pitched timeshare session for us...we said no no no. and that was that. we liked the hotel overall. old embassy suites. jacuzzi hot but pretty tiny...and too many tiny tots in it with parents...no thank ypu. not good place for any kids older than 6 or teens..they will be bored senseless. room suites lack quiet or privacy between rooms due to louvered doors everywhere that let every sound escape. no privacy ir quiet anytime any room

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

09-28-12
We were denied an early check in because of a full house at the hotel, not a huge deal, we just wasted time until we could check in at 4pm. When we finally did check in at 4pm we were given the room with the dumpster view shown in the picture. This room was on the far rear of the building, on the second floor and directly over the dumpsters. Unfortunately, we did not have time to move our bags to another room because we had our scheduled Luau at 4:45pm and it was a 20 min. drive to get there. We were assured by the front desk that our things would be transferred to a new room by the time we came back and we just had to pick up our new keys at the front desk. When the Luau ended and we returned to the hotel at 10pm our things were still in the original room and the front desk did not have another room for us. After about 30 min. of checking they found a room on the same floor, no ocean view but at this point we just wanted a bed for the night. We transported all of our bags ourselves to this other room and couldn't even go inside because of the smell of mildew was so bad as soon as we opened the door. Again, we go back down to the front desk and talk to the hotel manager on duty at length about our experience. She was very nice and was notably understanding of the situation but just kept repeating that there is nothing she could do. She said the hotel was full and all owners and "diamond" members had all of the ocean view rooms. The only 3 rooms she had available in the entire hotel were 1) dumpster room 2) mildew room 3) or a non-ocean view room that had a pedestrian walkway next to the porch, and no working internet. Obviously it was getting late (about 6am our time) and we went with the #3 room for the night. She assured me that if something opened up the next day for ocean view we were first in line.

09-29-12
The following day I talked to the same manager at about 3pm and she said that we had to remain in our current room for the duration of our stay. They could not refund the remainder of our stay because it was booked through a travel agency. I researched switching hotels and there was no availability anywhere on that short of notice. The room we were in was very nice on the inside but we had zero privacy because of everyone walking to they're rooms through out the day and night in front of our sliding glass doors, plus the fact that we were looking at a huge pink wall outside of our window instead of the ocean view that we paid for.

09-30-12
Still no word hotel management.

10-01-12
We had a 4:30pm departure at the airport and when we asked for a late checkout that morning, they had said 11am was the best that they could do. Of course, why would they try to start accommodating us now. At that point we were more than happy to leave this place!

SUMMARY
Overall the inside of the hotel was very nice, spacious, updated, and clean (aside from the mildew room). However, the layout of the hotel was not so good. There were minimal rooms facing the ocean and more rooms looking at other hotels and parking lots. Granted, that is hard to change on a older hotel, but my point is to not charge ocean view rooms that are not ocean view. We could barely see the ocean from the dumpster room but it was down an alley and very far away. We did eat numerous times at the restaurant on site and it was reasonably priced and good food, which was one plus. This hotel seemed to be more for families and not for honeymooners. There were constantly kids running and yelling around the pool and hallways. Not exactly the relaxing vacation spot that we had in mind.

Of the three days that we stayed there, we invested multiple hours of our lost vacation time talking with management, switching rooms, and at no fault of our own. We booked our rooms more than nine months in advance and I find it extremely hard to believe that these were the best rooms that they could come up for us. I stay in hotels more than 90 nights a year for business. This is by far the WORST customer service that either one of us have ever seen. Management had made NO effort in order to accommodate or compensate for their mistakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here at Ka’Anapali Beach Club. We always strive to provide exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is quite concerning to us that our accommodations, nor our Customer Service, did not meet your expectations. The customer service you describe that was provided to you by our front desk staff is not normal for our resort. It is quite concerning to us that this happened, and we are truly sorry that this was not resolved during your stay. We assure you and your wife that this behavior and lack of compassion by our front desk staff will be addressed internally, and that one of our Executive Management staff will be in touch with you directly to address and resolve these concerns. We were glad to hear that you did enjoy eating at our restaurant. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations as a destination for honeymooners. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the second time we have been here, this time we had a delux ocean view room, The pool is a great place to relax and it is well kept, only problem I had has the wired internet in the room, but I would go to the lobby for Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.