We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great snorkel in Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ahihi-Kinau Natural Area Reserve

Ahihi-Kinau Natural Area Reserve
Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 170 Attractions in Maui
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great snorkeling spot on the southern coast of Maui.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great snorkel in Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It's a first time for us to visit the place. We arrived early while the tidal waves were still calm. For us as beginner snorkels, the place was quite beautiful coral. There were many colorful fish under the sea. The water clarity was great. We found this spot to be among the best, and it is really close by if you stay in Kihei.

Bring lots of water and food if you're planning to snorkel for some period of time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were a little skeptical at first as it was our first snorkel around a lava rock beach. However, the doubt went away the minute we got into the water. We were greeted immediately by a big school fish and it got better and better as we snorkel along the right side of the cove. The corals and fishes are all around you and you get to see many big colorful fishes swimming freely around you. Recommend to go before 930am to enjoy your private time with the fishes there when the water is calm and before the crowd arrives.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling on Maui...period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We snorkeled in many beaches along the Maui shore and have to say that the cove area in this nature reserve was the best in terms of variety of fish so close to the shoreline. This is likely because of the black lava rocks in the area.

Drive into the reserve and keep a look out for a small sign on the right that says "Parking area 1/4 mile". Once you've seen that sign, the snorkeling area will be on your right, and will look like a little cove. Go on ahead and park on the right after the cove and walk back. You will need reef walkers or fins as it can be tricky to walk to the water because of the black lava rocks.

Come early by 7.45am for the best visibility and sheer number of fish! Just snorkel out following the right side of the cove and be amazed!



Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Rocky entry. No Beach. It's a little tricky getting in the water. But really great snorkeling once you are in. Beautiful coral and fish, and the water clarity was great. We are not snorkeling experts by any means, but tried as many spots as we could, and found this spot to be among the best. We also went to La Perouse Bay and hiked around the lava, walking through a beautiful tree sheltered pathway. A lot of black goats just hang out in there. It was a very hot day, and once you are out in the lava fields there is no sun protection. Bring lots of water.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lots of fish!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I've heard people say this isn't a place for beginners.. Not true!!! Me and my cousin did snorkelling for the first time here without any help and I couldn't have imagined this to be any better!!! Lots of fish and coral!!! Be careful though, the rocks are slippery (I fell) and many tiny sea urchins. You need to make sure what you are stepping on! I think this place would be just fine for beginners as long as you know how to swim and use the snorkelling equipment!! I did some research before going so I knew what I was doing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahihi-Kinau Natural Area Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Ahihi-Kinau Natural Area Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahihi-Kinau Natural Area Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.