We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good snorkeling site!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honolua Bay

Honolua Bay
Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 235 Attractions in Maui
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Riner
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling site!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped here because of the reviews on snorkeling. Parking wasn't too difficult because there are so many paths that lead thru the forest to the bay. We chose parking near a driveway, right down from the overlook, and walked down the driveway to the bay. There were signs posted on the driveway about being careful but no 'keep out' signs. The "beach" itself is just rocks and boulders piled up, not a bit of sand. The rocks were very slippery and difficult to get into the water. Some steps would be very helpful and much less dangerous. The water near shore is cloudy and dirty, but if you swim to the right along the shore, you start seeing coral and the water clears. There are some large coral formations about 1/2 to 2/3 around the bay that come up close to the surface and have lots of fish around them. You can see in the pictures how the water turns lighter aqua. We saw a lot of fish, coral, no turtles. There were about 20 other snorkelers in the bay but they were spaced out a lot. I felt pretty comfortable in the water and would put this on my to do list, if you love snorkeling like I do! Wear water shoes to get over the rocks at shore. There are not any bathrooms or facilities here. We saw someone set up selling carvings and that was all. There was a Barbeque truck at the overlook above the bay, cooking chicken.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    78
    17
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Makalela Bay, Honokowa, HI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful, quiet beach that has great snorkeling. You can go to the crowded Honolua Bay which is where the Catalans will take you or you can go to a beautiful, quiet beach just East of that Bay called Makalea Beach and Bay. Look for the Green steel staircase on the Oceanside of Hwy. 30 and you will take a stairway down (about 60 steps) to a beautiful beach. Bring your boogie board as the waves are lots of fun here. There is fantastic snorkeling to the right about 60 yards out. The water gets very clear and the amount of fish is amazing. Be very careful going out. Suggest going straight out the center and then going right. There is a lot of coral and the waves strong so you won't want to get cut up heading directly to the right.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

You will need beach shoes as this is rocky not sandy. You will need to snorkel 100 yards out to get to the clearer water. Lots of places to see fish. We also saw eels and turtles. It's a bit of a hike to get to, but we'll worth it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A wonderful random discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When driving past, we stopped at the overlook above Honolua Bay, we not familar with this spot prior to this. The view is breathtaking, and there were a number of people snorkling, and the water was so clear and inviting, we just had to try it. Lucky for us, our gear was in the trunk. There are several spots to park but I am sure parking is often an issue. You have a short walk in, about 5-10 minutes, but really this is part of the experience. Absolutely beautiful rainforest pathway to the beach. There is no beach to speak of, no sand, just rocks. but this really this does not matter. Just get in the water.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome place, but what's with the guys living there?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We've been to Honolua Bay dozens of times and used to make it a regular destination when we lived here 10 years ago. The snorkeling is the best on the island, but for intermediate/advanced snorkelers only. Go to Black Rock if you have little kids or beginners.

Our visit this time was still great, but were surprised to see all the private property signs and what looked to be a semi-permenant camping location for a couple of gentlemen. They were friendly enough (just completely ignored us, as we did them) but I couldn't help feeling like we were playing in their backyard. Does anyone know what the deal is there? One guy was raking the leafs outside and looked to be taking care of things around there. But this is the first time we'd seen anything like this, and it was a little off-putting. Can anyone clue me in?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolua Bay also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Honolua Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honolua Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.