We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclist Dream Ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Highway

Hana Highway
Route 36, Maui, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$221*
and up
East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over...
Ranked #40 of 313 things to do in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving, Viewing wildlife, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic and often dangerous road popular with the more adventurous visitor.
Nelson
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cyclist Dream Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This highway is seriously one of the best road rides on the planet. You have to get started early, 6:30 and would recommend starting at twins falls. Out and back 4-4.5 hours. Multiple climbs, curves and awesome views. The road starts to get busy by 9-9:30 but by then you are heading back and they are most just oncoming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    193
    93
    54
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hana4less”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Jonathon creates an excellent tour. Having a private driver makes a world of difference. We sae incredible views and gigantic waterfall. Truly Heaven on Earth. Buy several of Aunties banana bread (I attended a top culinary school for pastry and hers is exceptional) and also the shaved ices with ice cream. Jonathon has the perfect personality for his job and I guarantee that his tour is exceptional and unforgettable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband I rented a car mainly for the purpose of traveling the Road to Hana. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. While there may be some beautiful sites along the way, neither one of us truly enjoyed it as we drove on windy, tiny roads full of people for sites we could see driving other roads in Maui. We both got sick, which is atypical for my husband. In addition, the main feature we were excited about was the natural pools you can typically swim in. They were closed due to high water. Some blame can be taken on our part for not checking online for this closure. I frequently check tripadvisor and didn't see anything about this and thought someone else may have posted about this. I guess it really depends of the trip you want. We love to relax on the beach, but also to enjoy a day of adventure (maybe snorkeling, which we have planned this week). This felt like a day of pointless driving and needless illness for the both of us. Safe travels!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
387 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Road to Maui = everyone must do this once - but only once please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Not much to do or see when you get to Hana but the drive on the Road to Hana ( Hana Hwy ) is a must. Make sure to have someone assisting you drive....this is the time you want a backseat driver up front and helping you navigate the corners and single lane bridges and there are more than a few 50+ and that just one way. Make sure you purchase a Road to Hana Audio CD so you can find out all the places to stop along the way to Hana and to the beyond.

If you should have any questions regarding Hana and or the Road to Hana please contact me thru Tripadvisor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
387 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“2-3 hours to Hana and then you need to drive back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you take the Hana Hwy to Hana you can expect it to take you from 2 to 3 hours. I would suggest you purchase a Road To Hana Audio CD to learn all the different stops you need to stop by. I would suggest that you stay the night in Hana in order to see everything you need to see on the drive to Hana and back. Please remember that there are things to do past Hana - make sure you visit the Falls at the park past Hana. This 400 ft falls is amazing and you can only see it by helicopter or taking the 2.7 mile hike to the falls. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me thru Tripadvisor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Highway also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Hana Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.