We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hike & lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koele Golf Course

Koele Golf Course
1 Keomoku Hwy, Four Seasons, Lodge at Koele, Lanai, HI 96763
808 565 4000
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 Outdoor Activities in Lanai
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This championship course offers stunning views of mountains and lush greens, with the ocean in the distance. A dramatic contrast to The Challenge at Manele, The Experience at Koele boasts a cooler climate, wooded slopes, manicured bunkers and terraced water hazards.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“great hike & lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

would highly recommend a hike pre lunch! food was quick and fresh - had the mahi BLT - delish!
would like to see a few more things on menu however - eg Asian chicken salad has now disappeared

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
BURLINGTON
Level Contributor
147 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“THe Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Experience at Koele was a nice golf course, in the hills and mountains of Lanai, an island just off Maui. You need to take the Expeditions 45 minute ferry ride from Lahaina harbour to Lanai, then take a 20 minute shuttle bus to the course.

The course starts out in a parkland style, with interesting trees and landscapes, and was very picturesque. The hooles along the front nine were very pretty, with nice waterfalls and lakes.

The back nine was a bit longer, but still nice, with the pinnacle being the 17th hole, a gorgeous downhill Par 4 which played about 400 yards from our tee. Spectacular views from up top, only downer was the ponds on 17 and 18 were dry s they were relining the ponds with new liners, hece the look was a bit off.

Otherwise a truy great golf experience and highly reccomended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Love this course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were worried with the bad reviews here.

Maybe with the new owner they are working harder but we loved playing the course. My wife and I played it three times and enjoyed it more each time we played it. My wife liked it not having the forced carries that some holes had at Manale.

As has been mentioned before greens are bent grass and rolled nice. Fairways were green and there were some tough spots here and there but not enough to not play it.

Pace of play was quick and we were able to play 36 on one day with ease. Both rounds well under 3 hours and many times we felt like the only ones playing (we were Sunday afternoon)

Believe they have dropped the price too. Believe it was 135 to play with cart and range balls.

Resort guest can replay at no addition cost. A very nice feature for sure and we took advantage of it!

Loved the par 5's on the back and 17 is a unique hole. Fun to watch the ball float down if you hit a good one.

Staff was helpful but their clubhouse bar and restaurant are now closed. They have a cart person but we did not see her often.

It is so different than Manele I think you are making a mistake if you miss it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Feel free to skip the Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Play 2 rounds at the Challenge if you are looking to play 36. The Experience is in poor condition right now. The Greens were good but the course is in need of some TLC. Go play the Challenge and don't waste your time on the bus ride up the hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A neglected beauty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very sorry to say, stay away. Only the tee boxes and greens are being maintained properly. The fairways are mostly brown, bare of grass in many places, and covered with wild turkey and deer droppings. Gross. The rough is covered with fallen branches and debris from the trees. Not at all worth the $ 260 price for 2 resort guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koele Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Koele Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koele Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.