We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable ride for a couple of rookies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stables at Koele

The Stables at Koele
1 Keomoku Highway, Lanai, HI
808-563-9385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Outdoor Activities in Lanai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the timeless landscapes of Lana'i on horseback. Explore wooded upland trails and hidden valleys – home to axis deer, pheasant, Mouflon sheep and turkey – and come upon magnificent vistas of neighboring islands. The Stables at Koele also offers enchanting horse-drawn carriage rides through Lana'i's picturesque upcountry.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“enjoyable ride for a couple of rookies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Cowboy Shawn took us for the 1 1/2 hour ride up and down the trail.

Our horses, Gibb and Hopscotch were easy and fun to ride. They are well trained.

Shawn answered all our questions about the area and he was very good at spotting the many deer we saw on the trip. We enjoyed asking him many questions about Lanai and he was quick with the answers

Enjoyable and worthwild experience even for novices.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snoqualmie Pass, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YeeHaw on Lanai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A friend and I took the ferry from Lahaina to Lanai for a day trip, with horseback riding at Koele Stables as our number one plan for the day. Had a fun and very interesting time getting a taste of the island, and riding. The stables are picturesque, friendly staff, free and easy shuttle service when you step off the ferry. The horses were excellent! Well trained, well maintained, way above par for trail riding horses. We chose the 90 minute group ride, there were 4 total on the ride. A warm and cloudy day, so the views of ocean and surrounding islands from vistas were masked by clouds. There was red dust as we made our way on the trail, nice dusted layer on us when we got back, glad I wasnt wearing white :-). We brought a change of clothes and bathing suits. Put on shorts after our ride, caught the shuttle to Lanai City for lunch at Blue Ginger (very much a local island cafe with good food and a bakery) then shuttle back to Manele Bay to enjoy the beach until our 4:30 ferry back. A fun day, and really got a good taste of Lanai.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a must do. Guides are very knowledgable and funny. Horses are great. Enjoy a wonderful morning riding and seeing the beautiful views of Lana'i, Hawaii. Axis deer abound and plenty of wildlife to see. Would Definately do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Thanks Hopscotch and Gibb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We took a horseback ride in the morning with our guide Molly. Our horses Hopscotch and Gibb were both so calm and fun to ride. The trail we took was very scenic and we got some great photos.

We stayed at the Lodge, so it was 5 minutes away from the stables. It's a great activity, regardless of your experience level with horses (we are beginners). The horses are all very well behaved and very happy and well taken care of. A new foal was born just last month and it's fun to watch him and his mom grazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having visited Hawaii several times, we'd never been to Lanai. So, looking for a new adventure, we took the fairy from Lahaina, Maui to Lanai. Rather than simply turning around and going right back, we had arranged for a horseback ride from the Stables at Koele. The shuttle from the ferry took us up to the Four Seasons at Koele, and from there we made our way over to the Stables. Our guide, Shawn -- a cowboy transplant from Utah -- was terrific, leading us on a quiet tour of the island for about 90 minutes. He kept us informed about the gorgeous scenery, and encouraged us along as novices on horseback. Our horses, Gib and Hopscotch, were gentle and well-trained, and very beautiful. After our ride, we had a leisurely lunch at the Four Seasons before returning to the ferry and our return to Lahaina. It was a fabulous day all around!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables at Koele also viewed

 

Been to The Stables at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stables at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.