We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Jeep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Lanai Ecocenter

Adventure Lanai Ecocenter
Lanai, HI
(808) 565-7373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 14 Activities in Lanai
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Richmond, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved our Jeep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We rented a 2-door jeep from Adventure Lanai during our stay on Lanai in January. Michelle was very easy to deal with by phone and email. Absolutely no problems. The jeep arrived at our rental on time. We had so much fun exploring Lanai and we ended up keeping the jeep for an extra day and it was well worth it - actually the gas on Lanai is still slightly cheaper than here in Vancouver! The jeep ran well and had brand new tires. Would definitely recommend this company. We also rented Apo's House which is advertised through the Adventure Lani website. We were also pleased with this accommodation just one block off Dole Park and an very short walk to the two local grocery stores, Hotel Lanai and the small restaurants. This original plantation house has three bedrooms, two bathrooms, big kitchen with everything you could need and a washer/dryer.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    3
    2
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great day spent on Lanai !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Maui for a week long Valentine's getaway. We decided to spend a day on Lanai, specifically so that my husband could shoot the sporting clay course at the Four Seasons of Keole. We took the 6:45am ferry out of Lahaina and returned to Lahaina on the 6:45pm return ferry. The ferry "gets the job done-no frills" and the commute is approximately 45 minutes.

We decided to rent a Jeep for the day and explore the island. Through research, it was my understanding that there were 2 rental companies on Lanai (Dollar and Adventure Lanai). The reviews were about the same, so we decided on Adventure Lanai because it was cheaper and the Jeep pick up and drop off was at the ferry location - SUPER CONVENIENT. No need for the $12 shuttle to get into town to pick up a Jeep from Dollar.

Michelle was waiting on us at the ferry ramp when we arrived. She provided us with a great 4 door Jeep (less than 30,000 miles - super clean) and a detailed map of the island. She was also great about answering our questions and giving us some suggestions of best routes, places to eat, etc.

We headed off and visited the Pine Sporting Clay facility first. My husband was in paradise ! After this, we at lunch in Lanai City at a greasy spoon place where my cheeseburger was $2.68. It was the best cheeseburger I've ever eaten !! Lanai is very natural and non-touristy so we ended up dining with locals. Great culture. After lunch we drove out to Shipwreck beach (very neat) then Garden of the Gods, followed by Polihua Beach. We had Polihua beach all to ourselves and enjoyed a nice walk, a relaxing nap and some whale watching. The road is rough to this beach, but so worth the drive !!

We headed back to Manele Bay to spend the rest of our time laying on the beach and snorkeling. We brought our snorkel gear with us and enjoyed some of the best snorkeling of our entire trip right off the beach at The Four Seasons of Manele. I think we saw about 20 different species of tropical fish. It was AMAZING. This beach park has showers, restrooms and picnic tables - which makes getting ready to leave very convenient.

At the end of the day, we checked out some of the beautiful golf courses and views then headed to the ferry where we left the Jeep in the parking lot. We did of course have to refill the gas tank - but only replenish what we had used.

Overall - GREAT day. And the Jeep rental helped make the day so great. I wouldn't hesitate to use this company. We had zero problems. Michelle was wonderful. Some of the previous reviews must have caught her on a bad day.....or the company has upgraded their equipment and customer service, because we found everything top notch. And we would know, we own a Jeep !

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Convenient - waiting at aiport, drop off at harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I visited Lana'i Feb. 9-11. We booked a 4wd jeep rental with Adventure Lanai Ecocentre for the two days we were there. We found the price of the jeep to be cheaper than others we had looked into, We were flying over from Molokai, so we needed to pick up the jeep at the Lanai airport - but we were taking the ferry back to Maui from the Manele Harbor. The company allowed us to do both without an extra drop off charge.
Prior to us leaving for Hawaii, I had received an email with directions on where to find the vehicle at the airport. When we arrived at the airport, the vehicle was exactly where it said it would be. We found the keys with a handwritten note with a map on where to go so we could meet up with them and sign the contract - it was like a treasure map and was so cool I couldn't resist taking a picture of it and sending it back home for our boys to see! We met with the woman who gave us a map of the island and pointed out sights to see and answered any questions we had. We were told when finished, we could simply park the car at the harbor before we left on the ferry.
The jeep was clean and ran well. There were some small dents in the body and a dent in the bumper; and the passenger side seatbelt occasionally stuck, making it difficult to pull out; but for the most part it was acceptable.
After returning home, we received an email saying the jeep was returned in great condition and they hoped we could use them again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed we couldn't take the top down and properly use the jeep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nothing wrong with the jeeps except that they are TOO nice and they won't let you take the top down and generally use them for what they are made for. If this is o.k. with you I would recommend going with this company, but if you want to drive a beater jeep, take the top down and soak in the sun your best bet is to rent an older car from dollar. It was great however having them pick us up at the ferry however and saved us the $35 shuttle fee.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Jeep and Friendly Owner/Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We rented a Jeep from Adventure Lanai for our recent trip and it could not have worked out better. We had no problems contacting Michelle at any point - either by e-mail, or by telephone - and she was very helpful in telling us where to drive and what to go see.

We had been set to receive the Jeep on a Friday morning (we flew into Lanai on Thursday evening) but Michelle called us Thursday afternoon and asked if she could drop it off early - that evening - because of a last-minute schedule change that day. Why not? It allowed us to get an earlier start on Friday morning!

The rental process was painless and she gave us an adequate map - it's pretty tough to get lost here, as there aren't many roads - plus my Garmin GPS unit had all of the roads already, even the 4WD ones! Her recommendations for places to visit were spot on, and she was very helpful.

We started with a gorgeous sunrise over Maui from a secluded viewpoint at Pu'upehe cove, then went to Polihua Beach where we had the entire beach to ourselves for the morning. After stopping at Garden of the Gods, we had time to go to Shipwreck Beach and walk around watching sea turtles. After trying to visit Kaunolu Village (which is overgrown and not worth it), we ended up at Kaumalapau Harbor for a beautiful sunset. It was a great day!

We left the Jeep at the Four Seasons Koele where we were staying, and the next day Michelle sent us an e-mail thanking us for returning the Jeep in good condition. It was a great way to spend a day on Lanai.

I will agree with the other posters who say that when compared to Dollar's Jeeps, Adventure Lanai's Jeeps are bigger and look better-equipped for off-roading. Big tires, powerful engines, and very rugged. We had no mechanical issues or any other problem with our rental, and we'd use them again no question.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Lanai Ecocenter also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Lanai Ecocenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Lanai Ecocenter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.