We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insanely Gorgeous View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalalau Lookout

Kalalau Lookout
Waimea Canyon Dr., Kauai, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 222 things to do in Kauai
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Insanely Gorgeous View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

someone gave this a terrible rating WOW, check for clear skies first DUH, this is one of the most beautiful views i have ever seen, simply breath taking beauty

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    25
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just wait for the clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived to the lookout right as a group of clouds rolled into the valley, blocking our view. We decided to hang around and see if the weather would change, and within 15 minutes the dense clouds blew away and we were treated to an awesome view of the valley! It's hard to truly appreciate how high up you are until you see one of the tiny catamarans in the water, or if you're lucky enough to spy a helicopter.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hike in the clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We took our time driving up and stopped for lunch. By the time we reached Kalalau Lookout, the clouds had rolled in and you couldn't see anything. We were literally in the clouds. We hiked a little and hung around for about 45 minutes, then the clouds opened up for a short while. We were able to see the view down in the valley and to the ocean. It was so exciting to get that peak.

The hiking was steep and slippery.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place was a bit of a drive from the place we were staying (Princeville in the north) but totally worth it! The view was in fact amazing given the sunny day with blue sky. When we were there we met a couple that had been to the lookout twice before and it was the first time they were able to see the view so I guess you also have to be lucky with the weather. Going early in the morning helps!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was amazed at the views. The cool thing is you kill two birds with one stone. you stop first at Waimea canyon and then once your finished there you head to Kalalau lookout. I am so glad that we did this on the first day. I couldn't have imagined missing this spectacular experience while in Kauai.As I stated with the review of Waimea canyon if you are prone to motion sickness take some non drowsy Dramamine before you go. The windy roads and the altitude can be a troublesome combo.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalalau Lookout also viewed

 

Been to Kalalau Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalalau Lookout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.