We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but Secluded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Kauai Lagoons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 Holokawelu Way, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 hotels in Kauai
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice but Secluded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom villa with a great view of the Lagoons Golf Course and Kalapaki Bay. As a previous reviewer mentioned, this is the old Kalanipu'u Resort. Because this was a Grand Residence it is more for residential living with its own work-out facility, activity room, parking lot and small pool. While there is no beach, restaurant or bar, we could eat at the Kauai Beach Club and sit at the beach there. Using the free shuttle service between resorts is easy but not as convenient as staying on the beach. Loved the kitchen, dinning area and large laundry room. The staff were very nice and helpful. We usually stay at the Kauai Beach Club but will consider using this resort again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    50
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
77
49
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just got back from a week's stay at the Kauai Lagoons. Stayed in a 3 bedroom villa with family. The room was outstanding. 3 bedrooms with amazing beds, a full kitchen that was pretty well equipped and 3 baths. The cleaning service was excellent with clean beach towels daily, dishes done and everything in order. The Nicklaus golf course was really great right on the property with 3 holes along the cliffs on the coast that are the prettiest you will play. They could improve the resort with a bar, better and more affordable wine and sundries it their store and a more consistent meet and greet night that was fairly cheesy. All of the employees were very helpful, knowledgable and seemed to really care. Tip, do not rent snorkel or boards next to Dukes. Walk 50 yards to the the rental place on the highway and you will pay 25% less. Or go to one of the Snorkel Bobs locations.

Room Tip: Don't pay for an Ocean View. You will not be on the room enough to warrant the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF BayArea
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

To start with, realize that there are three entities which Marriott runs in this general location. This one is known as the Marriott Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u and also referred to as the Marriott Kauai Lagoon Vacation Club which it really is. Just like most Marriott Vacation Club properties, they sell nightly stays. The signs around the place use the name Kalanipu'u, not Lagoons so it can be confusing.
The Golf club which surrounds the apartments is also known as the Kawaii Lagoons - Kalanipu'u golf club but the clubhouse is not close to the apartments. To further confuse the issue, there is another vacation club which is the Marriott Kauai Beach Club which shares the resort site with the Marriott Kauai Resort which is the hotel side of which they have one truely hotel building but also sells nightly rooms to the vacation club villas. The only sharing done by the two sites (Lagoon & Beach Club/Resort) is that they use the same shuttle services. Outside of this, they are seperate places so if you book into the Lagoons, you don't have any access to the Beach Club/Resort. So keep this in mind as the Beach Club/Resort is right on the bay and has one of the nicest pools you can find in Hawaii.

We are timeshare owners for the Marriott Beach Club and needed one more night so on our 9th night, we took a 3 bedroom villa here at the Lagoons. It is a very spacious apartment and has a full size kitchen along with laundry (washer and dryer) inside the apartment. This is a true time share setup. This is not a hotel so don't expect some normal hotel features like a bell service. You handle all your own luggage unless a maintenance or room service person can be freed up to help move your luggage. Parking is close and free so if you are driving, it's just a minimal problem. But if you come by shuttle with lots to move, be aware that you will be wheeling luggage around to your room.

The location of this site is not very convenient as it's set into the golf course area and takes about 10 minutes of driving from the main entrances to reach. It is isolated as there is nothing around to walk to unlike at the Beach/Resort. However, the view is very nice and especially if you like to see the planes landing at the airport next door. Unfortunately the tourist helicopters also do fly bys close so you will constantly hear them, especially relaxing at the pool. The pool is not very large but when we were there comfortable for our group of 5 adults and two grandkids ages 2 and 5 as there were not very many users. There is an activity center which has little people events like fishing in the lagoon which the 5 year old loved as it was easy to catch little fishes for catch and release. The exercise room was nice and you can't beat treadmilling while looking out over the ocean. The activity center and the exercise room is close to building A while the pool is on the other end of the property close to C. We didn't do the walk down, but there is an isolated small beach down a narrow pathway across the golf green.

All and in all this is a great place to just relax but you'll need a car to get around or have to rely on the shuttle to get you down to the Beach/Resort where you can walk around, but can't use the pool and beach chairs. The beach is public so you can swim and have fun on the beach as well as enjoy the restaurants at the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views. Building A(left side) closer to Activity Center and fitness. Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo last week with our two adult children and loved it! The living space is fantastic. Super clean & spacious and we had the doorwall open to the gigantic lanai for the entire week. Beautiful pool and never too crowded. The staff was extremely nice and always helpful. As far as location on the island, it doesn't get much better. Being more central made it very easy & fairly quick for us to go north, south, east or west. A few negatives (most of which are easily remedied if you have a rental car, which we did): no restaurants, pool service or beach on sight and if noise from planes and/or helicopters bothers you, keep your doorwall shut or stay somewhere else...it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great staff, great price, great food, great views, it was by far one of the best hotels that I've ever stayed at. We had an ocean view with a balcony and I must say that I recommend this room for anyone who stays here at this establishment.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just got back from Hawaii and stayed at the Marriott Kauai Lagoons. We stayed on the 3rd Floor of Bldg A with an Ocean View. We were there from 9/19-24. The unit we had was a 2 bdrm, 2 bath. This is probably the nicest timeshare I have ever stayed in. The unit is large at approx 1300 sq feet I was told. It's updated with newer tile, granite. The pool area has an updated pool. This place has a huge fitness center with nice equipment that is well maintained. My only negative on the place was they wouldn't let us check in till 4pm and they want you out by 10am. I felt that was not fair when you are paying for a full night. The service from front desk to housekeeping was excellent. Will I come back again, YES!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a great stay at the Kauai Lagoons. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The lanais were big and provided a great place to relax day or night. The lanai doors open up the entire span of the doorway and this made it feel more like an open-air room rather than a clostrophobic balcony in other places we have stayed.

The rooms had all you could ask for from a walk-in closet in the master bedroom to the "soft" close drawers and cabinets. Everything was up-to-date and show no sign of wear & tear. There was plenty of places to store things - so much storage I actually did not see my luggage from the moment we unpacked.

The pool was nice for us and our toddler to enjoy but we decided to venture out to the many beaches on the island. There are shallow sections for the young ones to play in and a small slide. There is a 3 mile walk/run path on the property for those who fancy a jog, run, or walk.

The only recommendation we made to the staff was for them to look into adding a playground for the children onsite. This would help keep them busy outside of the pool.

Proximity to the airport was not a bother for us and at times you forget that you are close to it.

Positives - Many. The staff were ultra friendly. The location and grounds were nice. The bed was very comfortable and I found the whole place quite relaxing.

Negatives - Leaving....I did not want to leave this place and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Although it was not too bad ....if you want to avoid noise from the pool I would recommend staying i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Address: 3325 Holokawelu Way, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 hotels in Kauai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kauai Lagoons 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Kauai Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kauai Lagoons Hotel Kauai
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.