We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you want a condo and privacy instead of a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Kauai Lagoons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 Holokawelu Way, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 hotels in Kauai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you want a condo and privacy instead of a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great place to stay if you want a quiet place to stay, away from the crowds, privacy, a full kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, a huge lanai [balcony] and great views of Nawiliwili Bay and the surrounding mountains. Not so great if you want a big pool, beach front, and closeness to restaurants, which are all available at the neighboring Kauai Marriott/Beach Club. There is free shuttle service between Kauai Lagoons and Kauai Marriott/Beach Club and free shuttle service to/from the airport, 24 hours per day. Just call the front desk and the shuttles always arrive in a short time. For those who want to cook some of the time and dine out other times, this place is perfect. One major shortcoming is the small kiddie-sized pool with very shallow steps and there is no usage right to the much bigger pool at Kauai Marriott/Beach Club. Parking at Kauai Lagoons is much more convenient though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    50
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
77
49
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you come to Kauai for a beach or want a nice pool, this is not the place. They tease you with the option of using the Marriott Kauai Beach Club which is also on site. But after booking, if you read the fine print, it will say it is forbidden. My family was asked to leave when we sat in chairs by the beach. The attendant said "they are for hotel guest only" I wanted to strangle him knowing I was paying $350 a night and was being 86ed like a vagrant. The man said he has to do this all the time. Be advised, there is no beach at the Marriot Kauai Lagoons and Vacation Club and the pool is designed for small children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The property is nice. The condos are large with very nice finishes. The overall grounds are not overly impressive and if you want a beech, do not stay here. Beech is not usable and the path to get there via the golf course is not good either. The one depressing view is the unfinished, abandon foundations of phase II of this property, but other than that, beautiful Mountain and Ocean views.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are Marriott vacation club owners and the villas here are great! Clean, new rooms are spacious and all have great views. The only reason this doesn't receive the highest rating is the small pool on the property. We played golf and explored the island, so swimming was not a priority. Still this place is better suited for couples and adults without children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our family of six stayed for a week in Building B (1411). We had a great view of ocean and the garden area. The lanai really added to our living space everyday. The kitchen had all of the implements we needed for meals, we used the washer &/or dryer everyday and the beds we super comfortable. The grounds were immaculately kept ( including the grills). We loved the location in Lihue as we could easily access East or West Kauai. The choppers flew over ever day around 0800 but that was all. We absolutely loved this property and would come back!!!

Room Tip: Building B with room on top floor was great !! Close to pools without being immediately in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Amazing is what my family is saying, this is our second time here, this time we did a three room villa. holy moly it was great, the view, the lanai, the kitchen and though we didnt golf a nice golf course that ran the whole resort. We had a amazing time on Kauai. We saw almost everything the island had to offer, as well as the resort. Wonderful staff, they were so kind. One night someone pulled the fire alarm, so we had to evacuate, my niece taped it, when we got back to the room we had a big laugh, but thats the kind of family we are, easy going. Though it shocked us at first. Very close to the airport as well. Only bad thing was probably the abandon looking building next to the health club. If fixed up would make a wonderful restaurant, they should think about it. besides that, we cant see ourselves staying any place else.

Room Tip: We haven't had a bad room yet, so I cant really help you. We have done a two and a three bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Here I am sitting on the lanai which accommodates two lounges and table and four chairs. Looking out at the turquoise water and the bluffs and green mountains as well as a very unique pool and a golf course. Washer dryer in the unit...huge refrigerator. Big kitchen with stove top and microwave built in...only two bedrooms. And a sleeper couch. King size beds. Stall showers and a bathtub. Birds chirping. On their website you can see the photos. I could live here...No bell staff or concierge little shop for essentials...no restaurant here but there are many to choose from. Parking is easy and the elevator is there at the push of a button....I do not want to leave

Room Tip: I would come back in a heart beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Address: 3325 Holokawelu Way, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 hotels in Kauai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kauai Lagoons 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Kauai Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kauai Lagoons Hotel Kauai
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.