We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Like Staying at the Airport you Will Love It!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Kauai Lagoons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 Holokawelu Way, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 35%
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Kauai
Huntington Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If You Like Staying at the Airport you Will Love It!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The rooms are nicely appointed and lots of room. Views can be beautiful depending on your room location. Ours was a partial ocean/bay/unfinished vacant lot. The hotel is located right next to the airport. Check a satelite view of the property. I thought how bad could it be? If you like planes taking off and landing you will love it. My wife and I checked out after one night and went to the Marriot next door. I should have known better to book this location being a Marriott Platinum. I thought how bad could it be? No wonder Ritz Carlton dumped it. The pool area is nothing short of disapointing and no direct beach access. My first trip to Kauai and it is a wonderful island with lots of great beaches and properties (after driving around and seeing other properties on the north and south sides). This hotel and beach isn't one of them. Ten other trips to Hawaii to compare it to. The staff was very friendly however. I was on points and was limited on the Marriott choices for the time period I had to go on vacation. I love Marriott properties (190 nights this year so far) so this was a hard review for me to write. Disapointed in the location is the bottom line for us. Others like it but we won't go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view as far away from the airport as possible and on a high floor if you can get it. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    52
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
81
55
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Uncrowded, luxury 2-bedroom with lanai doors that open completely wall-to-wall. Fans in every room, with air conditioning as well. Our ground floor had patio privacy because of the huge foliage, so you may wish to ask. Our unit was 1114. The golf course is incredibly beautiful and affordable. 3 nine hole courses uncrowded and unforgiving! Suggest rental car to enjoy the island...and get groceries from Costco or Walmart or Papayas Market in Kapaa or local fruit stands. We took the shuttle which is on demand to the Marriott below to enjoy Duke's Restaurant for lunch and dinner. Open air dining with terrific fresh catch and sashimi! Reserve the ocean front tables in advance if that's your wish. There are other restaurants and shops to walk to as well. Suggest buying beach chairs at Costco or Walmart to enjoy the beach there or elsewhere, as the Marriott Beach Club Hotel chairs are reserved for their guests and I believe the charge is $50 per person a day to enjoy their pool and beach chairs. Beach towels are in each of the Lagoons rooms. The pool at the Lagoons is fabulous, with sun and shade available! They have barbecue grills that are meticulously cleaned every morning with picnic tables and umbrellas overlooking the bay. Forgot to mention amazing bed linens and soaking tub in the master! I'll include some photos, and just a note. The construction seen in the photo is a Ritz property that was started in 2008 and is dormant since the economy tanked. It's going to be taken down due to deterioration...sad...a bit of an eyesore, yet hard to complain when everything else is so beautiful!

Room Tip: Glass balcony protection provides unabstucted views at all 4 levels. We loved the ground floor, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Marriott's Kauai Lagoons Kalanipu'u Villas are the top of the line for Marriott time-share villas. Originally constructed as Ritz-Carlton Residences, the spacious villas are outfitted with world class appliances [Zero King refrig/freezer, Fisher Paykel d/w, etc.], and the views from our ocean front unit were to-die-for. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The recently opened Activity Center includes a large, well outfitted fitness center. The only drawback–no on-property dining.

Room Tip: Dig into your pockets and pay up for an Ocean View. Incredibly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

10 OUT OF 10!

Really luxurious. Emaculately clean.

I stayed with a group of friends in a 3 bedroom ground floor apartment and was not disapointed.

Everything about the apartment was perfect. Beds and sheets comfortable. Kitchen High Spec. I highly recommend asking for a ground floor. Doors opened right onto a grass area. Ocean views and palm trees.

Slightly out of the way of the resort however the shuttle was prompt and helpful.

Beach is lovely and close by! Nice to have some local shops, bars and restaurants near by. Some resorts in Hawaii are secluded but this one was great!

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We are Marriott timeshare owners of Kauai Beach Club and decided to trade a few days into the new property that is just up the hill from ours. Marriott has completed a beautiful setting at the end of the Kalapaki Bay area near mouth of the harbor overlooking the ocean. The units are all two and three bedrooms. They are very large and all done in exceptional decor. There are three sections of the units. One being closest to the pool, the second looking into gardens and peek at the ocean the the third with full ocean views. Any of the buildings is a great stay. It is very very quiet and no restaurants etc. However, they will shuttle you down to the Kauai Beach Club where there are restaurants etc in which to enjoy. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. My only complaint would be that units balconies are very close to each other so you don't have much privacy when sitting out on the balcony, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandOregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are owners at the Kauai Beach Club and have been staying there since 2000. This year we wanted to bring our adult kids and their spouses for their first trip ever to Hawaii and we felt that the Lagoons offered more space and comfort in the 3 bedroom villa than what we would have at the Beach Club. The Lagoons is a lovely spot with beautiful grounds and lovely rooms. The pool (as noted by many others) is quite small especially for us being use to the huge one at the Beach Club. We were there in August so there were lots of families with young kids and the pool was very busy (and quite loud) in the afternoons. This wasn't too bad for us as we found so many fun things to do on the island. We had perfect weather and everyone pouted on the last day because we had to leave. The staff was friendly. My daughter and I used the fitness room almost every morning and found it to be very nice. For this vacation, the Lagoons exceeded expectations and pleased everyone but for our next trip to Kauai, we will be back at the Beach Club - it's our favorite.

Room Tip: Ocean front, Ocean view rooms are a little farther away from the pool so they tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Marriott is renovating and restoring this venue to it's previous (and planned) grandeur as a Grand Residence property. The villas are exceptional, with furnishings so lovely we wanted to stay forever, or transplant the suite of rooms back to Tacoma en toto! The grounds are beautiful, with great access to golf and a modest pool and hot tub. Beach access is located at the Kauai Marriott less than a mile away (there is a complimentary shuttle that travels frequently between locations and to the Lihue airport). No restaurants on property, but at Kauai Marriott or adjacent to Kalapaki beach. Great get-away for couples, may be too sedate for young children or teens to enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean/golf course views. Center tower is closer to the pool, furthest tower is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Address: 3325 Holokawelu Way, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Kauai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kauai Lagoons 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Kauai Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kauai Lagoons Hotel Kauai
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.