We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai to your Saves list
Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3970 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kaua`i, HI, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 30% Off
Ranked #61 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Kauai
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calumet City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We purchased "points" for a timeshare "trial offer" and opted to use the points for this Wyndham location and one in Puerto Rico. We stayed at this resort for 8 days, which was our honeymoon. The island is absolutely breath-taking! The resort is very nice, but hard to get to without a rental car (at first we didn't get a car because it was so expensive. We took a shuttle bus, which was $75 one way!) We arrived late on a Saturday night so it was dark and the area was dimly lit and was difficult to find our room. We actually had a one-bedroom lock-off, which was small, but cozy. On Sunday we realized there was NOTHING that you could do without a vehicle. We found out we could walk about 40 minutes to a small mall area where we shopped for food and there was small shops and restaurants. We ended up renting a car, which we researched on the internet and got a car for a deeply discounted price than what the other major rental car companies were charging- 50% less for a weekly rental! Hawaiirentalcars.net- truly THE BEST deal you will ever find! Our room was right in front of tennis courts, but we were unsure if we had to supply our own equipment or not because we didn't see any and we never saw anyone playing. There is no air conditioning and it was humid. We didn't want to keep the doors open because there were a lot of bugs- if they bothered us it would've been a problem, but it didn't. The bugs who occupied our room during our stay included small lizards, a giant beetle (or cockroach - there was a debate!), flies and moths. There was a toaster-oven in the room, refrigerator and microwave, dishes and silverware and condiments. There was a shower and whirlpool bathtub in the bathroom and movies you could rent for free from the concierge desk. There was a lot of activities on the hotel property but fees were associated with everything. Vending machines, which sometimes worked, was the only place to get anything to eat nearby. The facilities had a coin-operated laundry room, which had newer machines and worked good. The swimming pool had a small waterfall in the middle of it, and it was very nice. The amount we paid for the points made this an outstanding value for the 8 days we stayed in Hawaii, considering the prices of the local hotels. However, if we had to pay the per-day prices they normally charge, we would have opted to stay elsewhere. The view is positively amazing!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    65
    41
    29
    32
See reviews for
66
88
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

After some hesitations (because of the mixed reviews), we stayed in a 2-bedroom unit in July 2010. We definitely did not regret our decision! The place was huge, very well equipped, and spotless clean. Yes, you could see some of the 70's spirit in the layout, and some finishes (floors, counters) and appliances were used and not high-end. However everything was in perfect working order and very clean. Some curtains, carpets and sofas seemed new. There were plenty of towels, beach mats and beach towels. We cooked all our meals and found the kitchen to be very well equipped. There is a grocery store nearby, and the location is perfect for exploring North Kauai. The only annoyance was that we were awaken the first one or two mornings (can't remember) by phone calls asking us not to miss "the free orientation breakfast" (did not!), then it stopped. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed in 34C and loved our unit. It was sort of 1980's decor but we didn't mind. Our unit was very clean and had a great deck overlooking the golf course with a brief ocean view. The staff was friendly and the gounds were well maintained. I enjoyed laying out on the deck just taking in the fresh air and listening to all of the birds. Yes, there are roosters but they are all over Kauai. I didn't seem to mind them but was prepared with earplugs.
Best beach by far was Tunnel's for snorkeling. We were about a 10-15 minute drive by car. If you are looking to relax and less concerned about the nightlife then Kauai is your best bet.
Make sure to book a cruise with Captain Andy's snorkeling tour to Napali Coast. The Napali coast is beautiful and most likely unseen by other means. The staff on Capt. Andy's sailboat e.g. "The Rock" was super friendly as were all the staff ( in light that 2 persons were not sea worthy). Seeing the island by helicopter was incredible but make sure you ask to be seated in front to avoid breathing in fumes. However, all seats in the helio are detemined by weight not by request..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The Wyndham Ka'Eo Kai far exceeded my expectations. The staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. The spacious 2 bedroom unit we were in had everything we could possibly want or need. On the first few mornings, we were awoken several times by the roosters whose internal alarms don't seem to be in working order, however, you will find that anywhere on the island as they roam free. I find them rather charming, and you get used to them, just like anything else. The location is excellent; close to Hanalei, Tunnels, the wet and dry caves, Ke'e Beach and any other North Shore attractions. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We used RCI points to book our vacation. We were staying two weeks...so two different units. Staying in studios - week 1 36AE - building 36, 1st floor, efficiency. Week 2 31CE - building 31, 3rd floor, efficiency...what a difference a floor makes!!! So if booking a efficiency - you want the 3rd floor!

Partial kitchen - small refrigerator w/ice cube maker but no freezer, toaster oven, coffee pot, microwave, set of knives, plates, bowls, flatware, cups, glasses - for 2 (of course!) They supply - coffee, crystal lite, salt, pepper, sugar packets, cutting board, placemats.

Laundry - laundry room w/2 washers, 2 dryers....no charge AND they have laundry detergent!!! How nice!!!

Studios are small, they are supposed to be! But the 1st floor efficiency was not as big as a 2nd bedroom in many homes, barely room to walk around 2 sides of the bed. Only 2 drawers, tiny closet (not as large as a hot water heater to give you an idea of size). And no place for luggage - we were able to put ours under the bed. The bathroom w/jacuzzi tub and shower - HUGE! Just a regular door at the back porch. But - again, the room is just to sleep in and the bed was a dream!!! Very comfy!

The 3rd floor efficiency - more like a true studio/efficiency unit! Room to walk around the bed. Same bathroom, but a bit more area to store luggage, in an area behind the tv - sort of like a mini - hallway. Sliding glass door to the balcony. Storage on the headboard for books and stuff.

I find it funny to read other reviews about no AC...I slept with windows open and under a blanket! The highs during the day mid-80s, the evenings and nights closer to 70! And ALWAYS a beautiful breeze through the units. Some days had to close the sliding glass door. (TIme - last 2 weeks of June)

Noise - on the 1st floor - if someone was in there kitchen in the neighboring units you could hear every word spoken. Or if someone was on the phone on their balcony, again you could hear everything. On the 3rd floor - seldom heard anything! In the bathroom could hear children in the neighboring bathroom - no big deal!

Gas grill by pool - wonderful and large enough to share, if you were cooking the same time others were. Grilling tools hanging on the grill - and so far everyone seems to clean them and return them looking like new! But generally, no one was using it.

Pool - beautiful - large enough to swim laps.

WIFI - free of charge

Yes, this is an older complex. BUT there are some nice touches - the grill, the laundry, the WIFI and the location!

Get out of the condo - walk on the cart path of the golf course to the cliffs and look at the ocean! It is beautiful!!!! And if the time of the year is right, look for the Lansyan Albatross that nest on the course!

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

My husband and I and another couple just got back from a week here. We enjoyed it very much. the condo was very spacious with windows all round and ceiling fans everywhere which worked very well. There was a washer and dryer and plenty of towels and sheets and towels were replaced mid-stay. The staff were extremely helpful and there were several coffee pots in the reception area available all day as well as three computers to use without cost at any time. We went to the breakfast and booked a cruise down the Na Pali coast and a fixed wing flight over the island at a great rate if we went to the timeshare presentation. We were there using our timeshare exchange but didn't buy and there was no pressure. We stayed in the south last time but enjoyed the north better and loved Tunnels Beach and also in Hanalei Bay we saw lots of dolphins minutes after we boarded the boat. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I am writing this on the last day of my stay and I want to set the record straight because the reviews will lead you astray. We are staying in building 32 and from the lanai you have a wonderful view to the north over the golf course to the ocean as well a semi partial view of the pool. The sunsets have been great. The resort is older but not in any way disappointing. Check in was smooth but do not expect access to your room until after 4:00p. The Activity Center is where you will get your parking pass and yes they will schedule you into a 90 minute timeshare presentation (breakfast) at the Bali Hai -- if you let them. They will also offer you a breakfast at the Clubhouse. The purpose of this meeting is to learn what activities are offered on the islands (vendor presentations). I have been too many timeshare presentations and yes they can be pushy but it is what they do and generally it is worth going if you have the time. Just say no, pick up your free gift and enjoy the rest of your vacation.

So, what to do? Swim at the pool; go to Ke'e beach or Tunnels if you can find it (great snorkeling). Have a pulled pork sandwich (cooked in an imu) at Ko'kee State Park at the top of Waimea Canyon. Learn about hula and the hawaiian culture from Aunty Louise. Buy fish (Ono) from the market behind the Black Pearl in Hanalei and grill it on the Jenn-Air in your unit. Visit the Farmer's Markets and enjoy produce at its finest -- c'mon don't worry about the price. Paradise is not cheap but it is well worth it. I was here in 2005 and we did a dinner cruise on the Napali out of Port Allen -- worth every penny. We also attended a luau at the Kilohana Plantation. It was fun and the food was good.

My advice, go to the breakfast at the Clubhouse and learn about the things you can do. If you have never been to Kauai it will be time well spent. Be respectful and enjoy the spirit of Aloha , find the lokahi (harmony) the island has to offer and have fun.

We will be back. Aloha and mahalo to all the staff, fellow vacationers and the people we met while we were on vacation throughout our stops.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai

Address: 3970 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kaua`i, HI, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Kauai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai Hotel Kauai
Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai Kauai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.