We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Many Better Choices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai to your Saves list
Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3970 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kaua`i, HI, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 30% Off
Ranked #62 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Kauai
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerset, WI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Too Many Better Choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This resort was okay, but we would stay elsewhere next time for the following reasons:

1. No air conditioning! If you are a woman reading this, you understand what it's like to try to do your hair when it won't dry! Plus, no A/C means the windows have to be open at night, and you hear the noise from the other people at the resort, as well as the roosters crowing at 4am. Plus, depending on the wind direction, at times our bedroom was uncomfortably warm.

2. No onsite bar/grill/snack bar or place to pick up a few essentials. The grocery store is nearby, but it's just more convenient when these things are available. I'd never stay here with kids for this reason - I don't go on vacation to cook and run to the store. :)

We were in a unit that hasn't been remodeled, and it was still clean and nice and large. We did see the newer units and they were beautiful.

We found out from another traveler on the last night we were there that there is a "lending closet" of things you can borrow like beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. as well as a pantry where departing guests leave their spices and condiments for others to use. Makes perfect sense - I just wish they would've told us this upon check-in or at orientation.

We sat through the time-share presentation and they aren't pushy (we didn't buy) so if you want the incentives, you don't have to be afraid.

The staff was very helpful and kind.

For us, we will stay on the southern end of the island next time, to be nearer to more things to do. And we'll be sure we have air conditioning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    65
    41
    29
    32
See reviews for
66
88
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plano
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We traded time share points to book this resort. It looked good from the online website, but when we got there, it was much better than we expected. It's located off the 12th tee on a golf course. You can sit by a beautiful swimming pool and watch drives towards the Pacific ocean. They have a great club house and they put on or sponsor many things to do, such as how to make jewelry,
pot luck night with local music, a talk by a marine biologist. They had free coffee, juice and snacks daily in the club house. The day after you get there, they have an orientation and then can help you book all the activities you want to experience. We did a zip line and helicopter flight, both for the first time in our lives. The concierge staff go out of the way to help you find exactly what you want to do and the best way to do it. The whole staff were very friendly and would stop and talk with you any time you wanted to ask about anything to do with the resort or the Princeville area or just where to eat.
We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath room, full kitchen, dinning room and large living room, with 3 large, flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi. We had a lanai that rapped around more than half of the exterior of our room. In the mornings we set outside on the recliners, drank coffee and watched the colourful birds play it the super manicured landscape. The pool has man-made waterfalls and is very well kept, very clean. It is a salt water pool so no smelly chlorine.
Princeville is a very small town, so you may have to drive some distance to see some sites, but the whole island can be driven in less than a day.
We were here for our 25th wedding anniversary and it turned out to be perfect.

Room Tip: The best rooms are near and just west of the pool. They have an awesome view of the Pacific ocean, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Ka E'o Kai is our very favorite timeshare (we own 3 weeks)! Rooms are large and well equipped. We have never had a problem with a dirty room and have always found the housekeeping staff to be excellent. There is a weekly cleaning and towel exchange and there is a vacuum cleaner in the guest room closet. We love getting up each morning and counting the waterfalls on Mount Waialiali! Office staff has always been pleasant and extremely helpful. Activities on site are fun and reflex the Hawaiian culture. Years ago the population of roosters was a wee bit loud, but, haven't seen any for several years now. Last year, my hubby had a medical crisis while we were there and Ka E'o Kai was so helpful and attentive in calling an ambulance and checking back with us to ask if there was anything they could do for us! We are looking forward to our 2014 trip! Mahalo to each and every member of the Ka Eo Kai staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We own a week timeshare here and it's a great place. Love that they have washer/dryer in rooms, do wish they had a/c, but the rooms are spacious, the staff is great! Going back to Kauai in 2015, but staying in a resort in Lihue this time! Seems when we went in 2004, everything we did was in Kapaa, Lihue or Poipu, so Princeville being up north gave us a bit of a drive, but it was a beautiful drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We own a timeshare at this resort and actually got to stay in two different units during our last vacation (as we needed an extra night or two). These were both 2BR units. One was on the ground floor, which is better for us elderly folks, and 2nd one was on the 2nd floor. Both of our units were very clean and we have never had the problem that others had. Perhaps it is just a particular building as there are quite a few there. I only tried the one pool that is near the golf course and the picture attached is from there. They allow you to borrow beach chairs from them, if available. This area, Princeville, and this resort are very picturesque and peaceful. There is a market close by (which you could walk to) if needed. As a timeshare owner, we do not get any new sheets, unless you pay extra for that. There is usually a mid-week change for towels, though. These units have complete kitchen facilities with full size refrigerators and a washer/dryer in the units. I really love this resort and, in fact, am selling my Marriott timeshare in Lihue in order to get one of these 2BR units in this area of Kauai. If you are looking for a calm and peaceful setting with a huge living area and all appliances to save some money, you will love it too.

Room Tip: Our units were closer to the office (one was before you reached it and the other was after near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Princeville. Known to be the "rich" side of the island with its grand hotels and properties, I was excited to finally stay here and cross this off my bucket list. I read many of the reviews on here just to see what the experiences were of others prior to booking. It didn't deter me.

First off, this property is easy to find. What I had a hard time finding was some kind of signage stating where to go to check in. Normally, you'd see obvious signs that point you to in some kind of direction. The clubhouse driveway was completely packed with parked cars and it was pouring rain. I ended up calling the help desk for a sense of direction and they pointed us to the clubhouse. Please consider adding this instruction in your confirmation letters to your guests.

Upon entry to the clubhouse there were two other families waiting to check in. One girl at the counter. Finally my turn, check in was easy and I was able to borrow some board games and movies while waiting. Then, I head over to the concierge where she gave me my parking pass and a map with some info on where to shop for groceries and what not.

I walk over to the room (Unit 36A) where the family was unloading and I want to commend Uncle Tui for helping us with our things. We packed a cooler with food so we wouldn't have to shop too much there. (We're only coming from Oahu). It was pouring rain. Tui saw the family unloading with baby and helped cart all our heavy things directly to our room which was on the bottom floor. I requested a bottom floor because of the heavy items and we had our two year old with us. This property has no elevators. Thanks Tui!!

On our front door was a "reminder" to attend some meeting. Why do timeshare properties do that? We already own three timeshares. None of which are at that property or even a Wyndham for that matter. Why can't we ever just take a nice break without those invites? So if you're a timeshare owner, be aware that you may have that same notice welcoming you at the door.

We get into the room and the first thing I noticed was how dated the furniture was. Rattan. Aside from the furniture and the color schemes (for us locals the bright floraly print stuff is just so tacky), the room itself was nice. Very spacious. The lanai wraps around the entire unit. If only people didn't use it as a sidewalk or walkway. What I loved about the room was the view. We were right on the golf course and had a great view of the ocean. Literal deep blue ocean water.

There is a pull out bed in the living room which was sufficient for my teen daughter. It was nice to have it there directly in front of the tv so we could lay down with my two year old as well. The TV in the living room is small and so is the one in the bedroom. But it sufficed. The best part of the room, was the kitchen. It was fully equipped. Complete with a rice cooker! For us, that's a huge deal. The kitchen is completely furnished with everything you would need to cook, bake, grill, blend, toast, and microwave. There is also an ice maker in the freezer. I always pack my thirty one thermal bags, so I’m always ready to go. The crystal light packet, one bag of microwave popcorn, and Kauai coffee was a nice touch.

On the counter was a notice stating that this room was scheduled for renovation in January 2015. Thanks for letting us know that the room has not been updated in 20 years. The property itself has a lot of potential once renovated and I'd be curious to see how it turns out.

We had lots of towels for swimming. The bathroom was nice. We really enjoyed having the whirlpool tub in the room. We didn't need to get out to take a dip and I could bathe my 2 year old without worry. She loves to swim and with all the rain, I didn't want her to catch a cold.

There was no AC in our unit but there was a vornado fan to use and that helped. It wasn't too bad when you had all the windows open. The breeze was perfect during our stay. It was tradewind-less and humid earlier in the week and thank goodness the winds came during our trip.

The main pool was nice, even during the rains. We swam in the pool one afternoon and the water was so refreshing. The jacuzzi wasn't working, but the warm water was nice as well.

The staff was great.

My only complaint about the room was the noise. The people above us were utterly inconsiderate. Either the floors are in dire need of fixing or they each weighed 300+ pounds. All hours of the day the feet pounding as they walked. And the last night we were there it seemed they invited the entire property to have a house party at their place. The noise!!! The dragging of the patio chairs along the balcony, it was unbearable. The loud talking, laughing, and swearing. No, we did not complain about them or even go up there to tell them to be more considerate. We were leaving the next morning. Who cares? But having to listen to the pounding of elephant feet above us for four days drove us crazy. Maybe its just us, but how do you not consider the other people around you? I don’t know if this would even work or may make it worse, but if they don’t figure out a way to help keep the floors from banging straight through to the unit below, perhaps they could include a little note to the tenants on the upper floors to try not to pound their feet when they walk? Sounds stupid right? Common sense, you’d think? But I can’t think of another way. It’s uncool to have to make the guests have to tell their ‘neighbors’ to take it easy on the floors.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. If you have no problem climbing stairs with a full load or heavy bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Room was dirty when we first arrived, I found previous persons hair clip in the bed and some nail gems in the bottom of the bed so guessing toe nail gems, there was zero housekeeping and we stayed eight nights. We had to wash our own linens and ask to borrow vacuum because the floor was so nasty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai

Address: 3970 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kaua`i, HI, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Kauai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai Hotel Kauai
Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai Kauai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Ka `Eo Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.