We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barking Sands Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kauai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barking Sands Beach Cottages
Save
You added Barking Sands Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Pacific Missle Range Facility (PMRF), Waieli, Kauai, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kauai
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Dreamy Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently stayed here for 8 dreamy nights! The cottage is in rough shape, more like a roomy shack, but who cares since it is a BEACH shack and very affordable! I would be happy to move in here forever, and there was a strong urge not to go anywhere. We just wanted to hang out here and read. The isolated beach location is the key selling point to this place, and the cottage has all the basics. The cottage was very clean except for the annoying ants that hung out in the sink drains. Apparently they can't spray them due to some Hazmat policy, but I was able to buy some spray at the NEX and it helped a little.The only other negative to this place was some loud annoying beach birds that have taken up nesting under the cottages and make eerie wooing and baby crying like sounds intermittently throughout the night. Ear plugs definitely came in handy. We rented beach chairs, snorkel equipment, and a boogie board from the MWR office for the week. There is also a grill outside the cottage we cooked our fresh fish on. The sunsets are phenomenal!
I will definitely return, that is if I am lucky enough to get a reservation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is on a military base so either you need a military ID, or someone with one to babysit you at all times. About two dozen great little two bedroom, one bath cottages located tucked in the trees about a 30-second sprint away from the ocean. Private beach well patrolled by security. Swimming not recommended. Fishing IS recommended. Complete with kitchen, washer and dryer, ultra hot solar shower (endless hot water), cable TV, deck, outside shower, outside BBQ, and parking for two. BX and a great Morale, Welfare, and Recreation (MWR) facility a short drive away. Secluded and dry side of island. Close to Kekaha, Polihale State Park, and Waimea Canyon Drive.

Room Tip: Cabins on the opposite side of the road from the beach on south end of the road are newest. And they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st robert mo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We come here several times a year. I would definitely move if I could. The cottages are totally ready to move into. Full kitchen. Washer and Dryer. Front porch with a view of the ocean. Literally next to the ocean! What more would you want. It is at the far end of the island but it is totally worth it. Peace. Quiet. No crowds on the beach (even with large numbers of people and children on the beach....there is more than enough room for all).

Room Tip: All the cottages have a view of the ocean. We have stayed in both front and back rows. We have als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed in both the old and the new cottages. They're both comfortable. When we were there in January and you could see whales! No swimming in the beach, although you almost could a few days. Its totally worth it! We stayed both times for a week and really appreciated having a washer and dryer, fridge, stove top and oven, microwave, & kitchen. Go to Polihale Beach since you're so close! It was swimmable in January because the large reef creates a nice pool. The Navy Exchange is nice and has most things you need. No golf though. I had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a week in June. Stayed in a three bedroom cottage - ocean front. Ended up getting a handicap accessible unit. Great amenities for our family vacation.

We spend much of our time out and around. Was a bit of a drive to the north shore 1-1 1/2 hours but no biggie.

The beach can be a bit rough if you want to swim in the ocean, especially with kids.

No maid service during your stay - not even replacement of towels and soap. Our unit had a full size washer and dryer so we just did laundry. No biggie but had to by detergent.

The exchange had the minimal basics - we ended up going into Waimea (the first town up the road) to the local grocery store (Big Save). Prices were good for Hawaii and got some good produce, steaks, ice cream, etc. great prices!

**If you are going to be staying for any length of time - hit the Costco right by the airport. Get milk, meat, breakfast stuff, and BBQ supplies (briquettes). Also - if I were coming again I would bring basic spices - grill mates for grilling steaks, salt, pepper. Also bring shampoo/conditioner for the kids.

If you plan on doing any hikes and driving around the island, you can rent backpacks, boggie boards, small cooler for the car - all at the MWR center on base.

Bring hiking shoes have a blast!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at one of the newer, beachfront cottages this past week. I seriously have never seen a more beautiful stretch of beach! You practically have it to yourself during the day. The cottage had everything we needed...microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, fridge, stove, dishes, utensils, wireless internet, tv, dvd player. It had AC, but we preferred to have all the windows open to hear the waves crashing. Beautiful! I love this place! Only drawback for some may be that it's far away from things. We didn't care about that though. About 15 minutes away is Waimea which has a grocery store, and there is a NEX mini-mart on base. Worked perfectly for us!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

DaKine! Love this place!!! Can't wait to come back. We had a beach front cabin. Sitting on a nice porch sipping on Kauai coffee, eating fresh mango, pineapple, & papaya in the morning. BBQ was great for steaks and fresh fish. Ya cabin needs remodeled but it worked great and was clean. Views were spectacular. Turtles, spinner dolphins, marlin & even a couple of whales. Exchange had basics. Ya its our a bit but who cares...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kauai hotels
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barking Sands Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barking Sands Beach Cottages

Address: Pacific Missle Range Facility (PMRF), Waieli, Kauai, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kauai
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Barking Sands Beach Cottages Hotel Kauai
Barking Sands Beach Cottages Kauai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barking Sands Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.