We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barking Sands Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kauai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barking Sands Beach Cottages
Save
You added Barking Sands Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Pacific Missle Range Facility (PMRF), Waieli, Kauai, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kauai
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a week in June. Stayed in a three bedroom cottage - ocean front. Ended up getting a handicap accessible unit. Great amenities for our family vacation.

We spend much of our time out and around. Was a bit of a drive to the north shore 1-1 1/2 hours but no biggie.

The beach can be a bit rough if you want to swim in the ocean, especially with kids.

No maid service during your stay - not even replacement of towels and soap. Our unit had a full size washer and dryer so we just did laundry. No biggie but had to by detergent.

The exchange had the minimal basics - we ended up going into Waimea (the first town up the road) to the local grocery store (Big Save). Prices were good for Hawaii and got some good produce, steaks, ice cream, etc. great prices!

**If you are going to be staying for any length of time - hit the Costco right by the airport. Get milk, meat, breakfast stuff, and BBQ supplies (briquettes). Also - if I were coming again I would bring basic spices - grill mates for grilling steaks, salt, pepper. Also bring shampoo/conditioner for the kids.

If you plan on doing any hikes and driving around the island, you can rent backpacks, boggie boards, small cooler for the car - all at the MWR center on base.

Bring hiking shoes have a blast!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at one of the newer, beachfront cottages this past week. I seriously have never seen a more beautiful stretch of beach! You practically have it to yourself during the day. The cottage had everything we needed...microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, fridge, stove, dishes, utensils, wireless internet, tv, dvd player. It had AC, but we preferred to have all the windows open to hear the waves crashing. Beautiful! I love this place! Only drawback for some may be that it's far away from things. We didn't care about that though. About 15 minutes away is Waimea which has a grocery store, and there is a NEX mini-mart on base. Worked perfectly for us!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

DaKine! Love this place!!! Can't wait to come back. We had a beach front cabin. Sitting on a nice porch sipping on Kauai coffee, eating fresh mango, pineapple, & papaya in the morning. BBQ was great for steaks and fresh fish. Ya cabin needs remodeled but it worked great and was clean. Views were spectacular. Turtles, spinner dolphins, marlin & even a couple of whales. Exchange had basics. Ya its our a bit but who cares...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The beach cottages are roomy, clean, and the older ones have updated appliances. We just came back from Kauai, and could not have had a better time. The waves crashing on the shore, the moon glow over the water...just perfect. We checked in right at 2:00 p.m. which is earlier than most hotels let you in. We shopped the NEX for whatever we thought we'd need, and went to our little piece of paradise. Yes, it is strict, but I love the security of being on base where the USN Police were always evident, especially driving the beach after 10:00 p.m. to make sure there were no trespassers. Barking Sands afforded great access to Wiamea Canyon, so we were up there right after breakfast at the galley (Where else can you get a full breakfast for $2.50, prepared to order, prepared by the Navy?). We did not find the "distance" from the base to anywhere else an issue. I did not mind stripping the beds the morning we left, or cleaning for the next occupant. We found the folks at ITT very helpful, and no question went unanswered. We rented "Tommy Bahama" beach chairs for $1.00/day...where else can you do that???? If you are military, this little gem is the perfect answer for a getaway. We are already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: I liked our beachfront cottage. You can open the slider and hear the waves crash on the shore all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Ok so it is the dry side of Kauai and at the end of the road, but a mile of beach almost to yourself on Kauai? Definitely worth it. Great value, great facility, great sunsets! For the mandatory shave ice, you definitely want the JoJo's behind the Captain Cook statue in Waimea (there's two). We bought the food that wouldn't melt from Safeway in Kapaa, but you can get almost anything you need at the little exchange. Great jumping off point for Koke'e state park/the canyon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I'm a little biased because I was part of the batallion that built the new cottages on PMRF. The older ones sit right on the beach and the new ones are simply across the street. My next visit to Hawaii is going to include three nights at least in these. It's the dry side of the island but while I was there it's great to get a kayak and paddle with the whales. Its very close to the grand canyon of the pacific. The locals are great people and welcomed us everywhere we went. You can get to the beach at Na Pali by driving through the cane fields.. Watch the surf there though as it can be wild at times. Very nice quiet and private part of the base. There is a small nex on site with staples. Go stay there, you'll be glad you gave it a try

Room Tip: If you want new stay across the street from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

But seriously, for $85 a night it is well worth the drive out to the west end of Kauai. This is our 4th stay in the cottages and we love it. The older cabins need some upgrading, but then we stayed at a somewhat high end hotel in Ka'Anapali 2 years ago, without even a kitchenette, for over twice the price. You can't beat it for the price, security and lack of crowds. Did I forget to mention that you might share the beach with 10 other people? While the beach is not good for small children to swim, you can boogie board here and the Salt Pond beach is about 25 minutes away. We love the fact that we can sit on an uncrowded beach and we don't have to deal with loud obnoxious partying late into the evening. This place is a gem and we will definitely come back, as long as it is available.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kauai hotels
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#2 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barking Sands Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barking Sands Beach Cottages

Address: Pacific Missle Range Facility (PMRF), Waieli, Kauai, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kauai
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Barking Sands Beach Cottages Hotel Kauai
Barking Sands Beach Cottages Kauai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barking Sands Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.