We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed. There are many other beautiful sights to see.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Grotto

Fern Grotto
Wailua Marina, At the mouth of the Wailua River; turn off Kuhio Hwy. (Hwy. 56) into Wailua Marine State Park, Kauai, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Fern Grotto like an insider
Top Rated
$359*
and up
Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from...
Ranked #149 of 222 things to do in Kauai
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fern-capped cave is a favorite wedding site.
Texas
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Disappointed. There are many other beautiful sights to see.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

If you don't want to expend a lot of energy, then do the fern grotto. The barge ride is smooth. Traveling along the river is pretty. Once we landed, a short walk will take you to a deck where you can look up the cliff to the ferns growing upside down. The grotto used to be open, but no longer. A short walk takes you back to the boat and a cheesy hula, music performance on the way back. Would not do this again. There are many other activities/sites I would recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    52
    71
    39
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“enjoyable trip on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a neat idea! We walked the grounds until it was tome to board the river boat. It was about a 20 minute ride to the grotto. I understand that a hurricane wiped out a lot of the ferns but it was still pretty. On the way back there were hula dancers and Hawaiian singing and even a hula lesson! It was a great way to spend 1 1/2 hours. Touring the gardens would have been good to do while there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little disappointed at the Grotto”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had toured this attraction 8 years ago and you could walk up to the mouth of the cave. Now you can only go to a platform 40-50 ft away so it wasn't as neat to see. For the money we paid as a family, I would say it isn't worth it. The Captain was knowledgeable but not very enthusiastic. There was a small hula demonstration on the way back that the kids enjoyed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed we could not enter the cave like before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We took the Smith's boat trip to the grotto. The boat, the crew and entertainers were wonderful but were surprised that when we arrived at the grotto we did not enter the cave, as we had during a previous visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you like a boat ride its ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We did this with our 2 year old and she was bored especially on the way back.she did enjoy the singing and dancing and learning the hula on the way over. Way back it was difficult to hear the speaker and what he was saying and the kids on our boat were restless but did well. Prices were different than website and we had to pay $10 for our two year old when the website said 3+ so that was off putting when adult prices felt very inflated especially after experiencing the tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fern Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Fern Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.