We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opaekaa Falls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opaekaa Falls

Opaekaa Falls
Kauai, HI
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$83*
and up
Ranked #61 of 129 Attractions in Kauai
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Maumelle, Arkansas, United States
1 review
“Opaekaa Falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

These falls were just one of many we saw on the beautiful island of Kauai. We pulled off the road at the senic point and took these pictures. It was easy to get to.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    68
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The lookout is right off the highway, so it was really easy to visit, the detour to see the falls only took about 30 minutes. It was worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Lovely Falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went up to Opaekaa Falls the last morning of our vacation. There was a raised observation area so could see over the plant life and take pictures of the falls in the distance. It was early morning so the light wasn’t fully hitting the falls yet and not ideal for taking pictures. The falls were lovely, but not spectacular. Driving up to the falls we had noticed the heavy traffic backed up at least a mile in the opposite direction, so instead of going back the same way we decided to continue on 580 and then take 581 to Kapaa. This detour was very scenic and made the trip to the falls worth the drive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just a waterfall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I wasn't blown away by the waterfall. You can't get very close to it either, so there's not much excitement. Just a waterfall!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The drive to get to the falls is nice. The waterfall itself was a little bit distant from where we were, but still breathtaking! We hung around a bit, took some photos and video and set out to find the next waterfall on our list!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opaekaa Falls also viewed

 

Been to Opaekaa Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opaekaa Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.