We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quick stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opaekaa Falls

Opaekaa Falls
Kauai, HI
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$83*
and up
Ranked #61 of 129 Attractions in Kauai
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice quick stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice quick stop. Lovely falls and across the road is the view of the river and Hawaiian Village, which is also a nice place to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    68
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“Beautiful Falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've seen other reviews saying that these aren't as impressive as others, may depend on when you visit. We visited Kauai right after they had 3" of rain falling per hour and saw many waterfalls that just emerged and were cascading down the sides of mountains. I think when we visited the falls were going pretty good with run off. It is in a good location, close to some other attractions and well worth the visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not as good as Wailua Falls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice waterfalls.
In comparison to Wailua Falls, some pros and cons:

CON: the view is from much further away, at least 5 times farther away. Additionally the view is a direct eye level view which is nice but not as unique as seeing it from above and the left
PRO: there are restrooms and a larger parking lot
CON: more people and therefore more crowded
PRO: there is an additional viewing area of the the river on the other side which is nice (a two for one)

If you only have time for one, I'd pick Wailua Falls.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
753 helpful votes 753 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, very busy parking lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

You can view these falls from a lookout point (nice drive too) It is beautiful and a great pitstop - worth doing once, doubt i will go back. Parking was limited, but we didn't have a problem because we left just before a whole bunch of cars/coaches came by (went in the morning around 11am). If you go here then also go to Wailua Falls.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Atlanta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Accidental Attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ended up viewing these falls because my phone told me to follow this road to the Wailua Falls (which are up a totally different road)! Very pretty water fall, easily viewed from the parking area. Across the road is a sweeping view of the Wailua River, valley and Hawaiian village down below (which I believe you can visit - but we did not make it down there). Definitely a worthwhile detour!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opaekaa Falls also viewed

 

Been to Opaekaa Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opaekaa Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.