We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CanoeHouse

CanoeHouse
68-1400 Mauna Lani Dr, Kohala Coast, Mauna Lani Resort, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
808 885 6622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 758 restaurants in Island of Hawaii
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We did not have reservations but went early and had a table looking out over the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The torches were lit at sunset. Our server was there if anything was needed or before we knew we needed it. The food was outstanding. We had mentioned it was our 30th anniversary and an amazing chocolate Happy Anniversary creation was brought at the end. We took pictures on the bridge and walked back to the condo very content. This was a memorable meal!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    167
    86
    50
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The food is as great as the scenery and the staff was fantastic. Our server's suggestions made the experience even better.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Loses my vote for service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had dined here several times in the past, and was looking forward to dining here on my birthday. The hotel made and confirmed my reservation with reserved seating at the edge of the dining room so that I could see the sunset. I showed up and the restaurant didn't have a reserved table for me. Bit of a bummer on one's birthday. In short, poor service because of this error.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The fabulous Canoe House strikes again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Boasting one of the most romantic settings on the Kohala coast, the Canoe House at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel maintains its place in the top 5 places to eat on the Big Island. Wonderful ambience and wait staff right on the water so you hear the waves while you dine. All items are good and the wine list excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Can't beat the setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've had dinner here three or four times over the last several years, most recently this week. This meal was probably the best of the bunch: the appetizers -- Kona lobster cake and shrimp cocktail (just two shrimp!) with red curry sauce -- were the highlights. If I were to return soon, I'd get the huge lobster cake and a salad and call it a day. Our entrees were the locally raised steak and the Kona seafood bowl. These were not quite as good as the apps. Lobster tail in the seafood bowl was a bit tough; other seafood in the bowl was fine but not amazing. Service was very good, and of course you cannot beat the Canoe House view -- especially if you're not staying in a nearby place that has the same awesome sunset view. The restaurant added a lounge area since we last visited. Next time we might just stop by for drinks and appetizers...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CanoeHouse also viewed

Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Puako, Kohala Coast
 

Been to CanoeHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CanoeHouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.