We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice day trip or overnight hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pololu Valley Lookout

Pololu Valley Lookout
End of Hwy. 270, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Type: Valleys, Lookouts, Outdoors
Activities: Driving, Hiking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of many scenic valleys on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice day trip or overnight hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The lookout is pretty, but the view is much nicer if you walk down the path. It might be mildly tricky for novice hikers when the trail is wet, but otherwise it is not difficult. It is worth hiking all the way down to the beach, which has black sand and beautiful lava rocks of all colors. The surf is very strong here, so don't plan to swim here. Crashing waves on high rock walls makes for a gorgeous setting for a picnic lunch. There are also paths into the lush valley, and some people camp in the dunes just inland from the beach. It is a really beautiful setting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    70
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome...Spectacular...No Words to Describe what you Really See!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Magnificently beautiful artwork of God....nothing like it!! Saw it once..would go back to see it again and spend the day and do some hiking down into the valley. Photo enthusiasts will not believe the view...it is incredible!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ok make sure you get out of your car and take the hike down to the beach. And go further to get really great pictures of the coastline. We really enjoyed our time here and went twice and then explored the little town of hawi when we were done.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hawaii 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful view from the road. You should take the trail down to the black sand beach. I would recommend walking sticks. Thank goodness my friend shared hers! The trek back up is, of course, more challenging. But this is my perspective being that I am not in the best physical shape. Put it on your bucket list.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roberts Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
1,687 helpful votes 1,687 helpful votes
“Get Out Of Your Vehicle and Experience Hawaii's Spendor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great spot to stretch your legs and burn some of those ill-gotten calories that you've picked up over your stay... Firstly, this is not a grueling hike and most anyone, in reasonable health, will manage this just fine. Wear some reasonable shoes/walking sandals and take some water along with you and you're off! The trail going to the beach is a gentle descent with a few switchbacks and has lots of places to stop and marvel at the view as you get closer & closer to the beach and valley floor below. At the beach there are loads of places to relax and watch the whales offshore or go for a plunge in the surf to cool off (ONLY if it's not too rough as there are reported to be currents here - we felt none, but we stayed within 10-20 feet of the shore and the waves were less than 5 feet high when we were there...) There are easy trails just above the beach (in the woods) that take you the far end of the beach and you can follow another trail up to the wooded point at the far side for a different perspective of the area. Rainwater funnels down into this valley and fills the body of water just beyond the beach and there are a number of terrific spots to camp of set-up for a daycamp. Of course, there's the climb back but it's not all that difficult, just pace yourself, taking your time and, if needed, stop at the many shaded areas for a rest as you head back up. No one's timing you and you're out to have a good time and experience the view and majesty of this natural beauty so take it slow and enjoy! We've been visiting this beach for years (and we are of the age that has a "5" in front of it, working in an office enviroment and unless reading and gardening are considered exercise, we do not visit the gym...) and while it's taking longer these days, this time we made the return walk in a "steady" 20 minutes and we even stopped to take photos of people (and rest my legs! LOL) Don't just settle for a stop in the parking lot, and a photo - get out and do it, you'll be pleased with yourself. As a side note, you can always stop in at "Tropical Dreams" in Hawi on your return drive for a decadent pastry or ice cream (or both?) along with a cold drink or latte and feel good about your previous walk to the beach a Pololu Valley. Afterall, you earned it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pololu Valley Lookout also viewed

Island of Hawaii, HI
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 
Island of Hawaii, HI
 

Been to Pololu Valley Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pololu Valley Lookout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.