We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach and Turtles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punalu'u Black Sand Beach Park

Punalu'u Black Sand Beach Park
Highway 11, Island of Hawaii, HI 96777
(800) 464-2924
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$416*
and up
Big Island in 3 Days: Snorkeling, Hiking, Camping...
Type: Beaches, Parks, State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in an area with coconut trees and a black sand beach, this park is one of the best in Hawaii.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach and Turtles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The fine black sand beach was beautiful and shimmered in the sun. It is not a large beach and very easy to walk from parking lot, so perfect for all ages. We saw multiple turtles, some on the rocks and some in the ocean. A beautiful way to connect with nature. I highly recommend this short excursion to all.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    130
    37
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saskatchewan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

A nice stop on your way to or from the volcanos. This is a beautiful black sand beach - so differant, I thought the sand would stick to you like dirt but it brushes off easily. It is so nice to sit and watch the turtles basking in the sun in their own habitat. It really is a must see beach on the big island.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrton, Kansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. With that being said, it is really not a great swimming type beach. This is a great stop either to or from Volcano NP from Kona. Decent facilities and nice picnic area. Sea turtles like to frequent this beach as it is nice and warm basking on the black sand. The bright blues of the ocean and dark greens of the palm trees contrast beautifully with the dark sand. If you do venture out in the water, I would reccomend footware. The volcanic rock is very sharp, and you don't want a nasty gash on your feet.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A must see while on the Big Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Gorgeous beach. We hit black-sand beach for a few hours on our drive from Kona down to Volcano. It was a gorgeous sunny day, so we had a picnic on the beach under the palm trees. Saw a big sea turtle sunbathing on the black sand. Another resting on the rocks on the water's edge. How awesome to see sea turtles in their element -- not staged! (And you never know what you are going to see, so fun surprises while searching for these beautiful creatures.) The kids loved the sea turtles, and also playing in the tide pools, trying to catch little fish. The sand is fine (compared to the rocky black-sand beach in Maui). It does get hot, so keep your water shoes or rubber slippers on. Easy parking access. Restrooms and picnic tables available.
**this beach is on the Big Island, not Oahu

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Majestic spot on the Big Island's East Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Although we didn't plan to stop here, I can't imagine our trip without these unforgettable images now! If you are doing going to be doing any driving on the Big Island, I would strongly recommend taking even a few minutes to walk along the black sand and take in the ocean and little cliffs that surround it.

As you can see from the pictures, the black sand itself is something to see, and there is a good chance of seeing Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles as well. There was one who crawled up and took a nap while we were there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punalu'u Black Sand Beach Park also viewed

 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Ocean View, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Punalu'u Black Sand Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punalu'u Black Sand Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.