We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Onomea Bay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onomea Bay

Onomea Bay
Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Onomea Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

During the drive on highway 19 to Hilo we saw a sign saying "scenic drive" so we drove in. After a few miles we saw cars pulling off the small road ahead, so we did the same! And what we saw off the cliff of the Onomea Beach was breath taking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“the only scenic thing on a scenic route”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we've driven california's Hwy 1 and new zealand's south scenic route so driving through this one was a bit of a disappointment since you're driving through tall trees most of the time and there's no view. onomea bay is the only scenic thing here and you have to park on the side of the narrow road. the most scenic point will be a few steps down. if you try to walk to the shore on the 'other side', it's actually off limits as it is part of the botanical gardens so you can't go in there. not worth walking all the way down to shore then as it gets muddy and there's a guy in a golf cart who will remind you that you can't go in through the gates as those are part of the botanical gardens.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I found this place entirely by accident, when I took the "Scenic Drive" back to Hilo from Akaka Falls State Park. You basically park on the side of the road when you get to a small overlook, but it is definitely worth it! There is a nice, short walk down to the water with great views that passes behind the Botanical Gardens. It is a quick detour, but definitely worth seeing!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk and views to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have walked to Onomea Bay many times as my hubby and I have vacationed several times a year on the big island. This is an incredible walk with beautiful views of the pacific with crashing waves. You will walk past the botanical gardens turn right and walk down to the ocean...but go back to the main path and keep walking you will then cross over a stream there are some hidden small waterfalls then go uphill a bit and you are at the top of the cliff with to die for views...the ocean is so blue and so gorgeous. I love this walk and best of all its free. It would be a great place to bring a light picnic if you wanted as it is private and most people dont walk this far...and it isnt really a far walk.
Also the scenic onomea bay drive is fantastic I love this drive it feels like you are in a jungle...lots of one lane bridges, roadside waterfalls, beautiful foilage and flowers it is a must do dont miss it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“The road marker just says "scenic drive"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

And the marker is almost hard to miss. It's a narrow road that reminds me of parts of Malaysia. But then there's the blue blue ocean and a nice hike down to the waters edge which is pretty near the botanic gardens, which I gave a miss.

Up further on the drive, there's a place for smoothies. Pricey, but tastes good. The banana bread there is good, but skip the pineapple muffin.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onomea Bay also viewed

Honomu, Island of Hawaii
Island of Hawaii, HI
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Onomea Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onomea Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.