We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipi'o Valley

Waipi'o Valley
Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Visit Waipi'o Valley like an insider
Top Rated
$186*
and up
Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic area of waterfalls and thousand foot cliffs.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Amazing day trip and hike. well worth the hike or drive down with 4 wheel drive only. This is one trip you can do over and over and the experience is never the same.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    121
    20
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The view was breathtaking from the lookout point and I will return someday! We sort of ran out of time here on Big Island, we spent 5 nights and it just wasn't enough time. If you have a 4WD...go down to the valley (even though I don't think the rental car agreement allows you to), perhaps go down there with a tour guide or shuttle to be on the safe side (I heard most of the land down there are private property).

I regret not doing the Waipi'o Valley ATV tour but I will come back! From my initial research...I believe it's about $200+ per person so we picked Zip lining over this adventure (appx $175 a person).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Dress to get wet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I did not take seriously the advice of other reviewers -- dress to get wet. Wear water shoes. It rained on and off the entire afternoon we were there. The roads were muddy. In many places, you could not avoid walking through puddles and streams. It is very beautiful -- go, but be prepared.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“go horseback riding in the canyon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stopped one day and did the lookout beautiful. We then went back on friday and did the horseback ride in the canyon so worth it. If you don't go into the canyon I feel you are missing out. We hit it after an evening of rain so we had a ton of waterfalls to see. Really made the experience that much better. Oh and my husband got pictures of wild horses.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is an amazing experience! Think Jurassic park.
Lush, green, tropical birds, 2 beautiful waterfalls. You need a 4 wheel drive to drive the 25% grade road down to the beach. We had a jeep wrangler, kept it in 4 low all the way down.
Enjoyed the black sand beach and watching the hand full of surfers catching big waves.
Is beautiful, peaceful and worth it.
Make it a day trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waipi'o Valley also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waipi'o Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipi'o Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.