We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic white sandy beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Kea Beach

Mauna Kea Beach
62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Island of Hawaii, HI HI 96743
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located behind the Mauna Kea Hotel.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Classic white sandy beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is the classic white sandy beach. Not going to say it is the "best" beach on the big island because each offers something unique. But, this is a beautiful beach that is worthy of it's world class status. More geared to relaxation than activity.

Very limited public access means less crowds. However, you need to arrive early. We arrived at 8:45AM and was #22 of 30. Hotel has a very organized structure in place to limit access to the public to only 30 parking stalls. Once these are gone, you are pretty much out of luck. Shear luck to arrive in afternoon to coincide with the departure of one of the 30 public guests.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived to an available parking spot at about 12pm. We had just checked out of our hotel for the week, but the crew was really nice and allowed us to make use of their chairs, towels, etc... This allowed us to enjoy ourselves for the afternoon while we waited for our flight.

Beach does get windy... so beware ahead of time - and bring shade. There isn't much to be had, at what is available is taken right away.

Water is pristine, but nothing for wave-catching during the summer, and not the best spot for snorkeling. However, if you want a nice, white-sand beach with super blue water... this is it!

However, we enjoyed Kua Beach, and Captain Cook's Beach just as much or more.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best beach on the Big Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been to the Big Island twice now, having just returned Sunday from our second trip to paradise! By no means am I an expert with only two weeks spent there, but from our experiences of going to numerous beaches, Mauna Kea Beach is BY FAR the best beach on the island!! As many have mentioned - and our thanks to those who did before our latest trip - you MUST get there early as there are only 40 spots for non-resort guests. We visited this beach 3 times last week - got there just after 8 the first two times and after 9 the last day - on that last day we were the last ones to get a pass. The beach area is simply phenomenal, and due to the limited amount of cars they allow in you feel like you have the beach all to yourself, as the resort guests most all stay over closer to the hotel. We saw some snorkeling, and were told there was plenty to see, though we didn't do that ourselves. There are nice clean bathrooms, and also some shaded areas, and just believe me when I tell you that this will be a beach you will love!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I went to this beach to snorkel (after reading about it in Sunset Magazine) and were very pleasantly surprised. You have to go through the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel gate but the staff is very welcoming and very helpful (all beaches in HI are public). We had no trouble finding a parking spot both times we went (once in the morning, once in the afternoon), there are bathroom and showering facilities and the beach was never crowded. It is a beautiful beach with white sand and the snorkeling on the days we went was surprisingly good although we didn't get to see any sea turtles there. Nicest beach in the area and much nicer than Anaeho'omalu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a fantastic beach: soft white sand, usually calm waters, great swimming, although only ok snorkeling. You do have to get there early to get one of the 40 public parking spots, but this ensures the beach doesn't get too crowded, unlike nearby Hapuna which has unlimited public access. If you get hungry, you can eat at the hotel's beach cafe, but be prepared to shell out big $$$. Otherwise, you can do what we do and pack a picnic. Bathrooms and shower available, which is very nice to clean up before going home. This definitely one of my favorite beaches on the island.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauna Kea Beach also viewed

Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mauna Kea Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Kea Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mauna Kea Beach to your Saves list