We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second favorite beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Kea Beach

Mauna Kea Beach
62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Island of Hawaii, HI HI 96743
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located behind the Mauna Kea Hotel.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Our second favorite beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This beach is almost as pretty as Hapuna and it is a lot less crowded. You need to arrive early (try to get there before 9 am) so you can get one of the limited parking spots. Parking is free. There is a short walk from the parking area to the beach. There are bathrooms. There is a bit more shade here than Hapuna. The only problem with sitting under the trees is that the ants and insects like hanging out there too. The water is nice. We had strong waves on the days we visited with sand getting kicked up into the water. A sea turtle swam by and bumped against us. Very cute. Although, staying at the Mauna Lani you get to see lots and lots of them sleeping on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    27
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We attended the Mauna Kea Luau on a Tuesday and fell in live with the view. We attempted to visit the beach on a Thursday morning but we were turned away at 9:45am as all of the parking spots were taken. We spent the day at Hapuna Beach instead. We tried again on Sunday, and packed a breakfast picnic, arriving at 8am-we were car #10. The beach is lovely, with shady spots, nice bathroom facilities and a short paved walk from the parking lot. The sand is soft, the waves good for boogie boarding, but we didn't see any turtles. A quiet beach for relaxing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Haiwaiin Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

You can't miss with this beach. Please go there now. Great food and drink at the Mauna Kea resort. It is pricey but you can't beat the views. We had 3 sea turtles swim right past our group multiple times.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We love this beach! Beautiful white sand beach, great waves for fun boogie boarding, nice hiking on shoreline trail along gorgeous homes. Lovely spot!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Compared to beaches in the Caribbean, Thailand, Lombok, and Boracay; Hawaii's beaches are really only B+ beaches. If you don't get one of the first 30 spaces the hotel will valet your car for free. Then you need to eat something and get the ticket validated. You can eat something sort of reasonable and hangout at the beach all day. Walking north and south is a nice break. There are trees with shade.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauna Kea Beach also viewed

Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mauna Kea Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Kea Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.