We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Motel, Beware, V.A. Vets and all other people .” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Downtown to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   1103 15th Street, Augusta, GA 30901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
“The Worst Motel, Beware, V.A. Vets and all other people .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Never will we ever stay here again, this was the worst nite we had in years ...It started when my husband asked me to let the covers back, then a spider, jumped out, wow, the toilets and room was so worn down, I was so scared at that point we ask for our money back, but we was told we had to wait til in the morning to talk to manger, We told her we was looking for Hoilday Inn and she told us this was it, so when my husband went to complain, she said she could change our room but that was just as worst ...yes, cheap is 57.89 for the nite but i could of got alot better for the price ...the manger said we done spent the nite so nothing can be done, so i would advise anyone that is the worst motel i ever stayed in .Very noisy, all nite long .....May god be with yall ...

Room Tip: Dont use this motel at all, go to a better place ...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey about our property on tripadvisor. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your experience. We are currently under new management and our team is working very hard to make Econo Lodge a wonderful property. We will use your review to see where our problem areas are and fix them promptly. I hope that in the future you will give us another chance to satisfy you. We hope to see you again! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    7
    8
    19
See reviews for
15
6
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

On Sept. 26, 2012, we found this Econo Lodge particularly convenient to the VA Hospital (which was the purpose of our stay in Augusta), competitively priced, and better appointed and staffed than other motels in the area we'd previously stayed in. Laveda was particularly helpful, checking us in when we were exhausted, making helpful dining suggestions, and also checking up on us later. More than we'd expected. Yes, I wish the complimentary breakfast had fruit. And the bathroom is beginnning to show its age. But overall, mostly because everything was clean, convenient (Wifi worked flawlessly) and especially courteous, I rate it 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room, and if you can't figure out how the showers work, call the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bholay, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We're pleased to hear that our staff made your stay as good as you had expected! We hope you'll come back again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Don't stay here, period. It is located in a dumpy section of town, is itself rundown, has small, ugly rooms, flatly refuses any pets, and is so noisy you will be wakened hourly as new guests arrive. I have stayed in hotels of every level all over the world, and I would rate this as one of the worst. It doesn't even have interesting character to counteract its shabbiness.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bholay, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We would like to sincerely apologize that you were not pleased with your recent stay. We try to place guests further away from the road side when requested but sometimes it is just impossible during our busy season. Rooms are renovated now. We hope you'll stay with us again and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilson, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were here for a family member whom was in hospital. From the very first day, all of the staff were friendly and considerate of our needs and emotions. Although we had no issues with our room, I witnessed the staff handle any questions or concerns with the upmost respect and in a very timely manner. I recommend this Econo Lodge to any person coming to or staying in the Augusta area, with very reasonable rates and an outgoing and caring staff it is hard to beat the personal service they provide.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bholay, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Augusta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed over for a few nights because my grandfather was having surgery at MCG. The front desk was incredably helpful and welcoming and the rooms where very clean and comfortable. I will definatly be staying here again if the situation ever calls for it!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bholay, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
You are truly appreciated for this fabulous review. It is comments like this that give our team the desire and incentive to make every guest's visit extra special. Thank you for sharing your opinion with TripAdvisor and please return again soon and often.

Nand Verma
nandverma123@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at an Econo lodge ever, and it started out bad , with my flight getting in late, and when I found the hotel, I was so tired all I wanted was my key , well the night person gave me a smoking room (OMG) it was the worst even though it was clean, and the night person was nice, but on a personal call that she could not stop, and didn't ask me if I wanted a smoking room, I had a bad night, but had been on the road and in the air for ten hours so I had to wait till morning to deal with the problem. In the morning I went to the desk and found the most pleasant personal that was focused and concerned about my need and stay. Problem fixed ASAP with a super clean room, and Rachel focused on my care, and before I could get moved to another room, another concerned staff names sheila asked if there was anything she could do to help without knowing the Problem. I fell cared for and respected as a visitor and will keep my week stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bholay, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for posting feedback on your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. We hope to have you visit our property in the near future.

Nand Verma
nandverma123@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I must say after reading all of the negative reviews. I was a little afraid to stop. Front desk provided excellent customer service . The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful. I explained to her my expectations of a clean room. I asked to see a room before making my final decision. After viewing the room I was impressed with the way the room looked compared to the reviews. I was sold on just this room alone. So therefore, I decided to stay three nights. I reread the reviews and noticed that the reviews were during Masters Week and they could have only complained about the price because room cleanliness was not something to complain about. The property was nice and I will return when in the area again. Affordable, great service and friendly staff is a reason to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bholay, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to let us know about your stay. We are so pleased that we were able to make your recent stay at our hotel enjoyable and easy. We do value all of our guests and we try our very best to show it. We hope that next time you are in town whether it be for business or for leisure travel, you will choose to stay with us again.

Nand Verma
nandverma123@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augusta hotels
1.4 mi away
Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center
3.9 mi away
West Bank Inn
West Bank Inn
#7 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Partridge Inn
The Partridge Inn
#29 of 82 in Augusta
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Augusta
4.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#4 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 1103 15th Street, Augusta, GA 30901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Medical District located conveniently in downtown Augusta, minutes from shopping and local attractions. This Augusta, GA hotel is minutes from Paine College, Georgia Regents University-the state's first medical school(Formerly the Medical College of GA), and golf fans will love being minutes from the Augusta National Golf Course, built by Bobby Jones. Additional nearby points of interest include: Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center, William B. Bell Auditorium, Augusta Museum of History, Imperial Theater,President Woodrow Wilsons fully restored home and the Morris Museum of Art. Established in 1736 by General James Edward Oglethorpe and nestled along the banks of the Savannah River, Augusta is the second largest and oldest city in Georgia. The city's nickname-"The Garden City"- was chosen because of the city's many large private gardens. Augusta is 150 miles east of Atlanta, approximately two hours from the beach and mountains. Take time to discover the historic charm of the city with its tree-lined streets and antebellum mansions. Visitors will enjoy recreational activities like golfing, tennis, fishing, boating and more. Take a stroll on the Augusta Riverwalk, offering beautiful views of the Savannah River. Dozens of shops, restaurants and historic attractions are located in the area. Hotel amenities and features include: Complementary wireless high-speed internet access in all rooms, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary local calls as well as copies of the Augusta Chronicle-the South's oldest newspaper and coffee all day. This Augusta, GA hotel also offers access to copy and fax services. All guest rooms have refrigerators, microwaves,cable television, HBO and smoking rooms are available upon request. Whether traveling to Georgia for business or pleasure, make the Econo Lodge Downtown your home away from home when visiting the Augusta area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Augusta
Econo Lodge Augusta
Augusta Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.