We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as I had hoped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Augusta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Augusta to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Augusta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2651 Perimeter Parkway, Augusta, GA 30909   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Dreams + Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not as nice as I had hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here while on business based mostly on these reviews and the recommendation of a friend who lives in the area. What you first need to know is that this is an older hotel that used to be a Sheraton. The lobby area is pretty & nicely decorated but the rooms are in serious need of repair and update. Also, I would not say the rooms are super clean by any stretch. The first room I was given had a huge hair ball on the bathroom floor and hair in the shower. There was the cover of a disposable razor also on the bathroom floor. There were crumbs and small black balls of lint all over the carpet which seemed to roll off of a non-functioning vacuum. The second room I was shown (on the same floor) had the same crumbs/balls of lint and a long plastic baggage tag on the floor off the side of the bed (not mine). There was a ring in the toilet and the catch on the doorlock was falling off. Carpets in the room were frayed. The third room, on the 5th floor was adequately clean however in the morning, the water in the shower would not go down and backed up well above the ankles. I was told that there was a microwave on the 6th floor that I could use to reheat some leftovers. I'm not really sure what this area on the 6th floor used to be, but it is truly disgusting. It might have been a conceirge lounge at one time, but it now should be completely gutted & re-purposed. It is evident that this is the lounge that time forgot - there is a fridge and a microwave which should be labeled, "use at your own risk". The tv in the gym was "out of order" the entire time I was there however the equipment was in fairly good shape and the pool & whirlpool looked inviting and clean.
Haley and Sheeyna are true assets at this property as they were quick to assist, were more than apologetic and did everything they could to rectify my stay. The staff here are excellent and are the only reason I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Doubletree by Hilton Augusta, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms and common areas. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    111
    73
    42
    13
See reviews for
82
47
15
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel it self was beautiful. The accommodates were great. The thoroughly enjoyed the cookie. It was warm and delicious. Getting something free is always a delightful surprise. I was very impressed that all the electronic equipment worked as I wanted it to. I also appreciate the free wireless internet service and the fact that no mishaps happen during my presentation. I highly recommend this hotel for any business and family trip.

Room Tip: I ask for a room by the elevator which was a great choice because I was closer to the entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Doubletree by Hilton Augusta, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We're pleased to hear that our hotel and staff were able to help in making sure that your meeting ran as smoothly as you had hoped. We look forward to seeing you again and stop by for a cookie anytime even if you're just passing through :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel's staff is very attentive and friendly. The real test is how they handle problems, if all other standards are met. I had a black out box in my tv screen which covered almost all of the screen. I was attending a conference and out of the room most of the time; but prefer to enjoy a little tv to wind down. I reported the problem early the next morning since it didn't correct itself and was offered complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience. I appreciated the offer and the breakfast. I would book again, and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Doubletree by Hilton Augusta, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We're glad that our staff was able to fix your television and offer you something to make up for the time it was not working properly. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

the hotel was great, the room service was great, the bar was great...i have no complaints for this hotel ....I had a great experience. My company placed us in the hotel and it was the best thing that could have been done

Room Tip: all the rooms I saw were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Doubletree by Hilton Augusta, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We're glad that your company chose to put you in our hotel. We're pleased that everything was up to par for you and your colleagues and we hope you'll stay with us next time you're in Augusta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We enjoy staying at the Doubletree and Augusta did not let us down. The decor was stunning and the check in was quick. We went to the bar for a quick bite and enjoyed the prompt service and menu choices. We plan to make a return visit and stay longer.

Room Tip: It is located a ways off the Highway but is well worth the drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Doubletree by Hilton Augusta, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We strive to please our guests and we're glad that everything at our hotel was to your liking. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night... Hotel was very nice. The room was clean and spacious. We didn't use any of the amenities, but the next time we come to the area we would definitely stay here again and use the indoor pool.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Doubletree by Hilton Augusta, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know what you thought about our property. We look forward to seeing you again during your next stay and we hope you'll take the time to thoroughly enjoy our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun Falls, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Friday night Seafood Buffet was wonderful as was the Breakfast Buffet. Very friendly staff throughout the hotel. We had the Valentine's Day Special and it was a very special and memorable weekend. We hope to make this a monthly experience and will definitely want to be back next Valentine's Day.
We would have preferred a smoking room but that was not an option and the room did not have a refrigerator, which I thought all hotels have had for years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Doubletree by Hilton Augusta, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We apologize that we do not have smoking room, next time you come just let the front desk know ahead of time that you would like a room near an exit. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Augusta

Address: 2651 Perimeter Parkway, Augusta, GA 30909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Augusta
#18 Business Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Augusta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Augusta is conveniently located near the Augusta Mall and Augusta National Golf Club. Stay at our modern property and enjoy complimentary shuttle service to and from the Augusta Regional Airport. Upon check-in receive a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Augusta Hotel Augusta
Doubletree Augusta
Augusta Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Augusta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.