We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 10th Street, Augusta, GA 30901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, TN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding and our family had two rooms. One in the main tower and one in the suite building. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable and met the standard we would expect from a Marriott hotel.

The lobby in the main tower is lovely. We had a very large group and on several occasions we enjoyed gathering in the lobby and adjoining bar.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet with made-to-order omelettes and waffles and a very nice selection of fresh fruits.

Last but not least they took very good care of a rather expensive item I accidentally left in the room when we checked out. As soon as I realized my mistake I called the hotel and gave my information. This was relayed to their security department who called me back a few hours later to let me know they had it and would send it to me. Two days later, I have it in my possession and I am very grateful to all parties for its safe return.

We would definitely stay here again if/when another occasion brings us to Augusta.

Room Tip: The hotel has two buildings - one has all suites and the other has regular rooms. The suites are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you for recent stay at the Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you received your item promptly. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    119
    47
    20
    14
See reviews for
42
48
15
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I decided to take our six kids (ages 4-16) to Augusta for a couple of days, and we used some reward certificates to get two rooms here. We loved it. My kids thought the HOTEL was the vacation. The lobby is gorgeous, and the staff was very friendly. Our rooms were in the main tower, and were very comfortable. The beds were great, and we all slept very well. The only negative thing was that the shower had mildew in the corners. That was surprising for such a nice hotel.

The location is amazing. We walked right out the back onto the beautiful Augusta River Walk and had a great afternoon of walking, playing in parks, and family picture time. the kids loved the pool, and my wife and I loved the selection of restaurants within walking distance. When we went out and explored the area, the hotel was a great central place to come back to. I plan to try to stay there next time I am in Augusta.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your visit to our downtown area. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed at this Marriott location July 8th and 9th. Being a Business owner for over 30 years I must say the Treatment I received at arrival by the VP/GM was the most rude and obnoxious Treatment I have ever experienced at any lodging facility. I was not the only person treated in a rude manner.

I did send a complaint to Marriott. Not much of a response until 8/15/11. I received a letter from the same VP/GM telling me I was not welcome there. I will complain to those above the VP/GM.

The VP/GM seems to have forgotten how to treat guest.

Room Tip: Not the Cleanest I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
This guest was released from ever returning to our facility by our General Manager for his unruly and abusive behavior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
317 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel...clean spacius rooms, great bathrooms, a riverside promenade with a music amphitheatre right outside and a really good restaurant which provides great room service too. Also its walking distance from The Science Center which is probably Augusta"s best attraction after the Masters golf course! The hotel has great rates for extended stays which we availed of. Also the little coffe stall near the restaurant was excellent. We received super service from all the staff...who were invariably super-polite and helpful. I dont know if there are better hotels in Augusta but i would think this one rates pretty high in the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again during future visits to our city!
Maria Fe Calvo-Pierce
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This property was poorly maintained. Sheets were too small for mattress. Toliet need maintenance. TV malfunctioned. The air conditioning and wifi were satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced during your stay with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you. At your convenience, please contact our Guest Services Manager, Ms. Maren Jones at 706 722-8900.

Maria Fe Calvo-Pierce
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed at the Marriott Augusta for two nights. Hotel is very nice, and the service is first class all the way. Modern work out equipment was a huge plus. That all said, you can see clearly that the economic downturn has hit the downtown Augusta area. All the shops are boarded up...kind of deserted.

One minor nit - the mirror in the bathroom was at a low height. I'm 6 foot 3, so having to bend down to see myself shaving was a bit annoying. That should be the worst part of any hotel stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments. Like many downtown areas, Augusta continues to work on attracting more businesses and activities. While it is true that there are numerous boarded up store fronts there are also more than 20 restaurants, bars, art galleries, specialty shops and attractions downtown. Sundays and Mondays can be quiet, but there is generally a lot of activity on the other nights. We hope you come visit us again!

Maria Fe Calvo-Pierce
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed one night at the Marriott in Augusta for a wedding we were attending in the area. I've stayed in many Marriotts, and this one definitely falls into the lower half... however, for Augusta, there aren't too many great choices in hotels, so take that into consideration.

The Good:
- Incredibly close to Broad Street (bars, restaurants, shops) of Downtown Augusta.
- On the Riverwalk.
- Large facility - lots of convention space, rooms, etc.
- Had a complimentary breakfast at Augustino's, which was tasty (omelet station, fresh fruit, baked goods, etc.)
- Comfortable bed, soft sheets, etc. (up to Marriott's standard).
- Good mirrors and lighting for getting ready.

The Bad:
- Terrible parking deck - I've never seen parking spaces smaller. And this isn't a state where everyone drives a Smart Car. Fortunately, it's only $5 a night, but choose your space wisely or you'll have dings all over the sides of your car.
- The rooms need to be updated. Even if they could just replace the shower curtains, it would help. They look like they've been there 10 years. We weren't in the room too much so this really didn't matter for us, but we did find it surprising that there was a tube TV in the room instead of a flat screen.

The Ugly:
- The hot water was brown. BROWN! I filled the sink with warm water to wash my face and it was completely murky. Didn't give me a ton of confidence in cleanliness from the shower.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for your review; we appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience during your recent stay. Our construction crew hit a water line and water had to be shut down for a while causing the brown water. If you have any other questions or further concerns please contact our Guest Service Manager, Ms. Maren Jones at 706 722-8900.

Maria Fe Calvo-Pierce
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augusta hotels
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Augusta Hotel
Sheraton Augusta Hotel
#15 of 82 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
6.3 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Augusta
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Partridge Inn
The Partridge Inn
#31 of 82 in Augusta
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
4.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Augusta
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 2 10th Street, Augusta, GA 30901
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Augusta
#12 Business Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Marriott At The Hotel Augusta
Marriott Augusta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.