We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for a walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwalk

Riverwalk
Savannah River, Augusta, GA
706-821-1754
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 47 things to do in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newberry, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“nice for a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Walked along the river. Took pictures, read the history markers. Very nice views. Was great to learn about the flooding that has happened in the past.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    94
    62
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Bad for Relaxation and Walking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

During quiet weekdays, the place is good for walking and jogging. You can catch a good view of Savannah River; you may see some ducks and turtles. There are many writings on the walk-through telling the history of Augusta. There are usually more activities on the weekends like art show and mini concerts. Note: the mini store is closed on Mondays.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Md.
Level Contributor
253 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very pretty walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It was suggested to us that we talk a walk on the Riverwalk....but to do it during day time hours....not in the evening. We did and it was a wonderful walk. Very pretty. Definitely NOT like the Savannah River Walk. Don't expect that......if you do, you will be disappointed. There were no shops along the walking path. BUT it was very pretty and a nice walk.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where is the life of the Riverwalk?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We visited the Riverwalk on a Sunday afternoon. There were a small number of people on the Riverwalk. We searched for the liveliness of the Riverwalk but it was a lost cause. The downtown area boarding the Riverwalk seemed to be closed. The Riverwalk did not display the life of a Riverwalk in other cities I have visited. It was just a walk on the sidewalk of the river nothing else.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“something about the nostalgia of this place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

ive been going to the riverwalk faithfully since i was a little girl, we would take field trips there and play around on the playground...as a teenager, it was always a sweet spot to walk around after a first date and just talk and hold hands at night...as an adult, i take my daughter out there and we walk and talk and she plays on the same playground i did...while the playground could use some updating, this is a beautiful little spot...it's great to channel your inner model and take pictures, its great to spend some romantic alone time with a loved one, its great to just connect, because in the moment, it feels like you're the only people there. it's hard to explain, if you arent from augusta, you may not understand the appeal but i love the riverwalk...its just a great place to clear your head.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.