We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Market Grille

French Market Grille
425 Highland Ave, Augusta, GA 30909
+1 706-737-4865
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 436 Restaurants in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Columbia SC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived for dinner and were quickly seated by the host. Our waiter, Pat, said hello almost immediately and took our drink order. My husband had the She crab soup which was fabulous and came with a shot of sherry (I think) . He also had the shrimp salad which was fresh. I opted for the Shrimp Etoufee and it was nice and spicy. The restaurant decor is interesting and although there's TVs over the bar they're kept at a low volume so they don't intrude on your dining experience. This is a great restaurant with friendly service and if I lived in Augusta I would want to come back often to try other menu items.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    72
    23
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Ga
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Touch of New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good food. Have eaten here for years and the food has remained great. I think that some of their food is better than what I have eaten in New Orleans. The P-boys are great, and the red beans a rice. You can not go wrong with anything to order

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail B, Owner at French Market Grille, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! We try to put a little New Orleans into every bite here at French Market Grille. We love our loyal customers and -- as you have been a customer of ours for years -- may I say, I hope you have signed up for our Repeat Rewards program! For every dollar you spend, you get a point towards all sorts of free goodies. Free Birthday Desserts, a free entrée on your anniversary, appetizers, and coupons for $10 off your meal are just a few of the benefits for signing up and adding up points!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not New Orleans, but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I went here after work with a few coworkers, it was very accommodating and the service was good, but the food was average. Really good Oysters, in fact the server had to check to make sure they had some in stock because they ran out the night before. If you have ever lived in Maryland do not get the crab cake, this is not a real jumbo lump crab cake but if you like the breaded cakes it will be just fine for you. A few coworkers got the steak which looked great and they said was tender. It was decent for a visitor if you are looking for good food, but not a chain restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail B, Owner at French Market Grille, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Our oysters are extremely popular and demand keeps our shucker on his toes! I'm sorry the crab cake was not to your taste. We pride ourselves on our own "New Orleans twist" on the crab cake. We use premium claw and lump crab meat, bound by a white sauce (with butter, apple brandy, and cream), which we add cornflour to, and a hint of creole spice to heat things up! We then sautee the crab cake to make it crispy and serve it with our house made cajun tartar sauce. It is certainly different from a Maryland style crab cake. That spice will hit you, for one! Again, we thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to review FMG. Please visit us again, ..we'll have a juicy steak and an ice cold cajun martini waiting on you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New Orland's food at its best inland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I eat here every time that I come to Augusta. I have never been disappointed in a meal. The food is New Orleans style and food that you cannot get anywhere else. The jumbalya ,gumbo and etoufee are my favorites. They also have a good selection of Louisiana beers. Definitely eat here if you are in Augusta.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail B, Owner at French Market Grille, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
May I say, you have excellent taste! :) Gumbo is one of my favorites as well! Personally I think gumbo is such a comfort food, full of meaty spicy goodness! It always hits the spot. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Deserving of every award”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a big group and the staff was incredible. As a raw food vegan I had placed my order in advance and it was perfect. A huge cauldron of the freshest veggies and fruit. So much that I had enough for lunch the next day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail B, Owner at French Market Grille, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to FMG! We love large groups and yours was a pleasure to accommodate. We often have those who have special dietary considerations, such as those with gluten allergies. However, you were the first vegan we have prepared anything for. The chef and our catering manager, Patty, is so pleased that you liked it! Please visit us again anytime! Call ahead and let us know and we will be sure to have a special meal made just for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market Grille also viewed

 

Been to French Market Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Market Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.