We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good interpretation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Augusta Canal Interpretive Center at Enterprise Mill

The Augusta Canal Interpretive Center at Enterprise Mill
1450 Greene St., Augusta, GA 30901
706-823-0440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Augusta
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Outdoors
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good interpretation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The center showed a slice of life in an emerging Augusta. The best part was seeing the first hearse used by my paternal great grandparents of Dent Funeral Home.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    40
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottonton Al
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Monthly Sunset Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Booked this sunset cruise for my husband's Father's Day gift. It was a pleasant 3 hour cruise down Memory Lane. We used to live in Augusta and fished in the canal when we were newly married. We will celebrate our Golden Anniversary in August so it was great fun to see how it's changed and all the improvements which have been made. The commentary from the guide and the Captain were most informative. The displays in the Enterprise Mill bldg. are
very interesting and educational. A great place for kids to learn about a bygone era.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“History of the Augusta Canal Interpretive Center & Canal ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very informative center and pleasurable boat ride up to canal to the locks. Bring your picnic and wine and enjoy the evening boat cruse with friends.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Museum and historical boat tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

There is a very interesting museum that provides excellent insights into the early development of the city, the development of the cotton mill industry, and a good perspective on the lives of those working in the early mills. The boat tour of the canal that provided the water to power the mill is very enjoyable and informative. Very worthwhile for history buffs and a relaxing, informative experience. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Trip down the Augusta Canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful tour of the History Musem and a tour down the historic canal tour guide explains when and why the canal was built it was a lovely day and so peacful well worth the tour we have told many of our friends that they should experince this treasure

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Augusta Canal Interpretive Center at Enterprise Mill also viewed

 

Been to The Augusta Canal Interpretive Center at Enterprise Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Augusta Canal Interpretive Center at Enterprise Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.