We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insanely good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog Hollow Tavern

Frog Hollow Tavern
1282 Broad St, Augusta, GA 30901-1116
706-364-6906
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Frog Hollow Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 419 Restaurants in Augusta
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 13th Street
Description: Located in Historic Downtown Augusta, Ga Frog Hollow Tavern serves Local and Regional Cuisine sourced from local area farms. The bar serves barrel aged craft cocktails and also has a wide selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.
Aiken, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Insanely good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

best food in town. Pastured meat and local produce. truly great food in an elegant but comfortable setting in the heart of downtown.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    43
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband & I celebrated our 11th year wedding anniversary at Frog Hollow with some close friends. The atmosphere is perfect for a romantic dinner or a fine dining experience with friends. The food was amazing. There were 6 of us and our entire table thoroughly enjoyed every bit of our food. Our waiter was very tentative to all of our needs. They also have an excellent choice of several white & red wines. We will definitely be returning!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great downtown Augusta experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been to this restaurant about four times since it opened. They have a small but very well thought out and executed Southern menu. Every dish I have seen come out of the kitchen was appealing and every dish I have tried has been very tasty. Nice wine selection. Nice service staff. Nice vibe.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oh, My Goodness! The Place Is a Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a find! Terrific food and reasonable prices combine to make this a restaurant you must visit if you're near Augusta, Georgia. The restaurant is called Frog Hollow Tavern. Do not let the name fool you. It is anything BUT what most folks would call a tavern.

First, although the restaurant has a respectable number of beers available, it is the incredible wine selection which will amaze you. It is almost overwhelming. Second, the quality and the taste of the food are superb and the prices are quite reasonable.

There are two portion sizes available, although not of the same menu items. The "small-plate" menu items range in price from seven to twelve dollars. The "large-plate" menu items range in price from thirteen to twenty-nine dollars.

During my 19 December 2012 visit, I chose the eight-dollar small-plate andouille sausage with a four-dollar side order of collareds. It was the best twelve dollars I have ever spent on a meal.

My wife and our six friends ordered from both the small- and the large-plate menus and each made the same comment: The food is unbelievably delicious. Take my advice . . . go there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food is main attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Be sure you make reservations (on Open Table) and don't plan on Monday night. In our party of 6, every plate was quite delicious. More of a foodie place, with a focus on simple items done well. Some items were overpriced, but not overpriced overall. Also their drinks are unique. One of my colleagues had a strange drink with some sort of pickled cherries in it that was particularly horrible. Fortunately, the waitstaff really knows the menu well so just ask what to do get. Ours recommended the pork shoulder (which was fantastic) or the shrimp/grits (I had a bite, also delicious).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog Hollow Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Frog Hollow Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frog Hollow Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.