We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog Hollow Tavern

Frog Hollow Tavern
1282 Broad St, Augusta, GA 30901-1116
706-364-6906
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Frog Hollow Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 408 Restaurants in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 13th Street
Description: Located in Historic Downtown Augusta, Ga Frog Hollow Tavern serves Local and Regional Cuisine sourced from local area farms. The bar serves barrel aged craft cocktails and also has a wide selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.
xntric1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We had a wonderful meal at FHT, again. As usual, the service is spot on but not pretentious. The fresh salmon was perfectly cooked and as always expected, the pork was so tender you could cut it with your fork. The strawberry shortbread trifle was a divine way to finish the meal. We were glad we snagged one before the end of fresh, local berries. The fresh peach cocktail was a great start to dinner. I can't wait to see what is done with local blueberries, both in desserts and at the bar.

The only thing I would suggest is to tone down or mix up the style of the music. Bluegrass is not every one's favorite and after an hour plus of it in the background I was ready to poke my eye out with my knife. Throw some Blues and Jazz in the mix: that would help the ambiance greatly.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    59
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Spot, Great for Augusta...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My wife and I ate here for the first time and after many suggested it. We sampled several of the "light fare" dishes like the Homemade Andouille Sausage (So good), crab cakes, mussels, and pork belly. We ate at the bar and asked our bartender to pair each dish with a different wine. Everyone we sat near raved about the place and we certainly had an enjoyable experience. For a town where most people wait in line three hours to get an Outback steak, this place is a treat. Again, we sat at the bar and our service was solid, can't comment about the wait staff though. Try the Mussels and Sausage.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
175 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if your in Augusta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We had an excellent dinner for four during our vist to Frog Hollow. All of us had different entrees and there was not a complaint from anyone. Our server was very attentive and looking around the restaurant, it seemed fully staffed and more than capable of handling the high volume associated with Masters' week. If I was in the area, I would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del mar ca
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Serious Flaws”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We agree with another reviewer: there are better dining experiences in Augusta. While the food could be good, and the focus on local sourcing is nice, our recent experience was very disappointing for the following reasons:
1. There was gravel in a salad that could have broken a tooth. When shown to the server, he argued that it was a peppercorn, despite the fact that it tasted like, and had the consistency of gravel. Also, the salad was proudly described as having Pt. Reyes blue cheese, heirloom tomatoes and balsamic vinaigrette. There were about 6 tiny bits of cheese and exactly 2 cherry sized heirloom tomatoes. You couldn't taste the balsamic.
2. A $34 rib eye steak was ordered "medium" by a diner who would have eaten it if served medium rare. It arrived very rare, verging on what is called "black and blue." Of course, it had to be returned to the kitchen for another 10 mins. or so, while the other diner could choose to eat her meal while hot or wait for dining partner's dinner to be returned. (No offer was made to take her plate away and keep it warm.) The steak returned at medium to medium rare, so the temperature would have been acceptable if deliverd that way originally; it had suffered from the cutting and two firings.
3. The service was really poor. In addition to the inhospitable response to the problem mentioned in #1, above, we had to ask for bread, and for replacement of the bread plate on which gravel was removed and cutlery removed after first courses. The server was not well informed about the food choices (other than being able to repeat the descriptions he'd been given) or the wines. Most importantly, he was not properly trained to deal with the issues that arose, as servers must be in restaurants that have aspirations like Frog Hollow does.
The restaurant is also very noisy.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience from Chef Sean Wight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Dinner for four was truly remarkable with great food and great service. Sean is a very creative chef, even down to his very creative cocktails (Bacon infused bourbon, special bitters, and orange). The starter of seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras was delicious as well as the House made andouille sausage. Signature entree was Fudge Farm Berkshireford Pork, with smoked gouda mac n cheese, braised collards. Most unusual but heavenly mac n cheese as they make their own thin lasagna like noodles for the cheese. Would eat here many times.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog Hollow Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Frog Hollow Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frog Hollow Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.