We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2175 Gordon Hwy, Augusta, GA 30909   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was nice and clean, I LOVED the smell in the lobby ( I meant to ask what it was). The hallways were quiet, and going into the room, it was nice, comfortable, and CLEAN! Internet accessibility was quick so I could check my mail and other things that were needed. Breakfast each morning was actually good! They have Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, fruit, cereal, waffles (you make), yogurt, coffee/tea/juices (Apple/orange), toast, bagels, etc. The hotel is not too far from the airport, Augusta Mall, or Washington Street (places to get just about anything to eat, grocery stores). The gas station is across the street for those that have a rental car and need to return it back to the airport. Ft Gordon is only about 3 miles away for those visiting military personnel or need to utilize the bases facilities.

I did have two issues:

1. When booking, I requested an early check in. My flight was delayed, and I would have gotten there earlier than I did (about noon). When I tried, to check in, they had no room I requested (double beds) available. I was not too bummed because I decided to go to a family members house, however, if I was banking on the early check in, I would have been very disappointed. It's a lot easier to just say NO EARLY CHECK on the website, and that would alleviate futher issues.

2.. The housekeeper forgot towels :0(....that was minor though. I went downstairs, and they were happy to supply the forgotten towels with a smile and quickness!

Overall, I would return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay with us. I am glad that most of your visit was to your expectations. I want to apologize for the fact we could not get you an early check in. We try our best to accommodate those on a case by case basis, but sometimes we cannot. I have also shared your comments with our housekeeping staff about the lack of replacement towels. I assure you this is an “exception to the rule”, and not a normal occurrence here and we hope then next time you are in town you will choose us as your preferred hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    36
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
16
9
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

What you'd expect in a Fairfield Inn. It did not disappoint. Very clean, friendly staff, good beds, and flat screen television. The breakfast bar seemed to have more breakfast items than the usual Fairfield Inn. No bacon and eggs but lots to chose from. The breakfast area was not very large and that caused a "traffic" problem. Our room was very quiet. We didn't use their internet connection so we can't comment on that. The Fairfield Inn has seemed to downgrade their towels. They aren't as fluffy or thick as some other hotel chains. Overall, a very nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I sincerely apologize that you felt that our towels were a downgraded product. We actually just ordered a brand new batch of towels recently. I will make sure I follow up our Executive Housekeeper to ensure that these towels are going into our rooms. We hope the next time you are in Augusta you come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Not a bad stay. Very friendly staff but very slow internet. Also very generic soaps/shampoos not your typical Marriitt standard.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you had troubles with the internet. We are actually in the process of upgrading our internet, and we have had fewer reported issues now that we have completed a portion of this. I will make sure I relay this infomation back to our IT department so it can be looked into, and take the proper steps to make sure this isn't an issue moving forward. We hope to see you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was by far a nice hotel, even though i thought the room was not well designed for my taste but none the less it was functional for my stay. The breakfast attendant was not prepared for the amount of guest that were present this past weekend, but she wasted no time preparing what was needed to make breakfast go off without a hitch, just a few minutes of waiting an we were all taken care of with a smile. My only complaint was that when the room was cleaned, they took the dirty towels and did not leave one clean towel for us ot use, and when we called the front desk we were informed that we would have to come down to the front desk to pick them up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your weekend experience with us. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our hotel as well as breakfast during your stay, and I will share your comments with our staff about your breakfast experience. I apologize that no towels were left behind when your room was serviced. I will follow up with our team and make sure they double check the rooms before completing their service. We hope to see you next time you are in Augusta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Excellent service and the staff will definitely try to accommodate your needs. The property's decor is modern and enticing as so are the rooms. They have pretty decent breakfast, but more hot choices such as eggs and sausage/bacon would be a plus.
Now to the cons since this is why we write and read these reviews. If you are planning on staying only a few days this is an excellent place to stay, Marriott has done a terrific job with their properties. However, if you are planning on staying for over a week I would recommend a different place that offers more bang for your buck.
The rooms do not have a refrigerator and/or microwave so it gets expensive to eat out everyday and there are no restaurants around the hotel, so if you want to eat you have to drive. The rooms have a really nice flat screen tv, but if you are planning on bringing your own electronic devices that require either HDMI or component inputs you will not be able to use them since the hotel has locked the TV inputs. The channel selection, although it has a few HBO and ESPN channels, is terrible. If you are traveling with children, good luck keeping them entertained since there are no TV channels for kids (Disney, Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon)
The towels are probably the cheapest ones that you can find at Walmart, you use them once and feel like throwing them out.
Overall it is a good hotel if you are a business traveler conducting businesses in the vicinity and staying only for a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. We are actively working on getting microwaves and refrigerators for all of our guestrooms to help accommodate those with long term stay needs. We are also in the process of expanding our channel lineup for our cable TV to give our guests more choices. I am sorry that the bath towels were thin. I have discussed this with our housekeeping team and we have taken steps to make sure that those issues are eliminated, and that only the best quality linen is used in our rooms. We hope the next time you are in town you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

If we had not booked this place in haste when we discovered we had Masters tickets, I might feel better about this experience. This is a good low-end hotel which does a decent job with breakfast, evening munches (no alcohol license), gym and whirlpool facilities and helpful and positive staff. But the location could not be weaker for the Augusta area--not a restaurant, market or liquor store within miles and surrounded by abandoned shopping centers. A pathetic location with mediocre housekeeping. But if you are on a budget, this should be fine when they take the $499 price tag off of the back of the door (we paid over $600 a night) and charge the $79 which this might be worth in this part of the world. And if you are booking for the Masters, be sure to research better options (they do not even have the Golf Channel!) although their shuttle service was terrific if you are not in the mood for driving and parking yourself.

Room Tip: You might be better off on the back side of the hotel with the train rather than the trucks and moto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. I am sorry that our location was not the best for you. I know we do not have anything within walking distance of the hotel; however we are only minutes away from the Augusta Mall and the restaurants that are located around the mall area. Masters is a very special time for Augusta, and we try our best to make sure everyone enjoys their experience at our hotel. We are working on getting an expanded cable package this year which would include the Golf Channel, and I am sorry we did not have it while you were with us. If there is anything I can assist you with in the future do not hesitate to give me a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is one of the nicest Fairfield Inns that I have stayed in - definitely exceeded my expectations. Fairfield Inn is a solid brand and I have always had good luck with them - not a lot of frills, but consistently good across the board. This hotel was a cut above. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, my room was great, and breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your stay. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations, and I will make sure I share your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Augusta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augusta hotels
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Augusta
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham
Wingate by Wyndham
#25 of 82 in Augusta
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Augusta - Gordon Hwy.
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta / Gordon Highway
5.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn and Suites

Address: 2175 Gordon Hwy, Augusta, GA 30909
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy our magnificent Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Augusta Gordon Highway. You will experience true Southern Hospitality at its best. Indulge in fun loving activities of golf, swimming, tennis, bowling, dinning and exquisite shopping at the Augusta Mall, the Historic Downtown district and the Surrey Center. Augusta is home to the beautiful Augusta National Golf Club and the famous Masters Golf tournament. The hotel is located at the intersection of I-520 and Gordon Highway to give you easy access to all major businesses such as: General Dynamics, Comcast, The Southern Company, Standard Aero, and Ft. Gordon Military Installation, home of the Southeastern Signal School. Come and experience the beautiful elegance of the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott in Augusta where Staying is Believing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Augusta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.