We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Choice for Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Augusta East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Augusta East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Augusta East
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   444 Broad Street, Augusta, GA 30901 (Formerly Regency Inn Augusta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Athens GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Choice for Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There are very few hotel selections in downtown Augusta, so when I discovered a new Holiday Inn Express right on Broad Street, it was a pleasant surprise. We were there to attend a family wedding and were within walking distance of the venue. This hotel was recently completely gutted and rehabbed, so everything was clean and new, which was my main motivation for booking. Check-in was a little slow, because the clerk was in training. The room was nice, clean and well appointed....the king bed was extremely comfortable, including the pillows. The only drawback was the noise coming from the locked closet which housed the heating/cooling system...it literally sounded like a Mack truck was in our room every time it kicked on. This was room 503, and for that reason alone I would try to avoid it. We did not partake of the free breakfast so I cannot comment there. We did sit out at the pool area and drink a beer (there is a package store next door), and it is a nice area with a good sized pool. All-in-all, it was a good stay, with the exception of the noisy cooling system, and I would stay there again if I needed to be located downtown. Although this end of Broad St is a little run down, I never felt uncomfortable and I never saw any people lurking or hanging around. As I said prior, our family walked the 3 blocks to the wedding venue and felt completely safe.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
2
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

444 Broad St. Convenient to Golf course in Augusta, Old Towne Augusta, Kimberly-Clark Beech Island. Clean, new...what you would expect of Holiday Inn Express. Friendly staff. Gated parking. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The front desk manager handled my check in and was so uninterested in her job that I cant even say she cared enough to be rude. She didnt even look at me when she spoke to me. After my rude check in, I had to go back to the front desk to tell her My room key didnt work in the parking lot entrance gate. She told me "all I can do is just reset it like I did everyone elses. There is nothing I can do" (without even looking up) it didnt work for my entire visit. It was scary because every store front within a 4 block radius has bars on its windows so I didnt feel comfortable leaving my car outside the secured lot. The area surrounding this hotel is not very nice. But the room was clean and modern. The hotel itself is nice, but the front desk manager and surrounding area leave lots to be desired.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

This is the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel/motel. After checking in and going out to find a location to have dinner, I returned to my room and prepared to have my dinner. I needed additional condiments, I was provided with those items. What alarmed me the most was as I was returning to my floor I noticed a couple near my room and realized there were no other rooms on the other side of my room. Well, to my surprise, someone was coming out of my room and I overheard them saying "someone stuff is in that room, I can't believe they gave us someone room." I then asked is that my room you all were given and she stated yes. I then came to the room and tried to use my card and it would not work, prior to the couple using their key to get that was given to them my Monique, I was no longer able to gain access to my room. The couple and I went back to the front desk and told the guest clerk, name Monique, that she gave someone else access to my room. I then state my privacy was exposed and it was Holiday Inn Express fault. She then looks in the system and said "no, you were in the wrong room you were supposed to be in room 413." I said, "No you gave me a key card and wrote on the card holder 419 and the key worked in 419." Monique then stated "well your card was already made so it was not my fault", I said no I watched you program the card. I felt violated and she thought it was FUNNY as she began laughing with the guest that she gave access to my room. I asked for a refund so I could go to another hotel, as I no longer felt safe here and she stated no, I could not get one. I asked for the manager and she stated the manager would not be in until in the morning and I would have to take that up with her. She gave the manager name of "Rebecca Sims". Again, I asked for my money back, because I no longer felt safe, she then said it was only an error and they happen. I informed her because of Holiday Inn Express error I no longer felt comfortable at this hotel. Monique is the employee that represents Holiday Express Inn that therefore is a negative reflection on their hotel. I will continue to take my business to Marriott, where I will be residing on tonight or tomorrow night. The guest clerk Monique was very unprofessional and does not need to be working at anyone's front desk. Oh did I mention the unit runs like a motor in the room before the heat comes on.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Augusta East, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Dear India R,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us with regards to our staff service. We have sent you a private message to discuss your concern further.

Sincerely,

Dianne L.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

This hotel is at the end of the main boulevard (Broad St) downtown. It would be very good if you were going to go to places downtown and didn’t want to drive back to the interstate area. There are several restaurants within walking distance and if so inclined, the local strip clubs are one block over. I didn’t notice any fast food drive through places nearby. This end of the strip is kind of sketchy and I don’t think a single woman should walk down the sidewalk here. I walked down to Luigi’s for dinner (about three blocks) and would have been a little more comfortable with another guy with me.
That being said, the hotel seems fairly new and has a modern look to it. The room was fresh and sleek looking. The lobby looks new and has the little store where you can pick up a few things. Breakfast is the usual Holiday Inn junk, so nothing special. Parking is gated but it is in most downtown areas of the country. I didn’t see any security that other posts commented on but they may have been around somewhere. I would stay here again if I was going to one of the establishments in the downtown area and didn’t want to drive very far when the night ended. There is plenty of parking along Broad Street (which the hotel is on) which has many, many clubs, restaurants, and shops.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eerbeek, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

Ok, the hotel isn't new and is not located at the best area of Augusta, but the rooms are clean en equipped correctly. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is typical Holiday Inn food, not very special but it's for free.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A S, Management Co. at Holiday Inn Express Augusta East, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Dear Bertrand N:

I appreciate you taking the time to submit a review. Thank you for your kind words as we strive to take care of our guests as well as provide a clean and comfortable room. I hope you to have you stay with us again the next time you're in the Augusta. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to our team.

Travel safe

Holiday Inn Express Augusta-East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a horrible area of town and therefore they have put a gate on the parking lot.

I appreciate the fact that they took that precaution for cars not to get broken into but the hotel is not that great. The hotel could have been put together better. The rooms are not that great either. But it is clean.

I just don't see what was so great about it. It's a little a-typical of the typical holiday inn

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Augusta East, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Dear truthful r,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. I am happy that you found our hotel clean. However, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the condition of the hotel may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest services.

Once again, thank you for taking the time. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Augusta East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Augusta East

Address: 444 Broad Street, Augusta, GA 30901 (Formerly Regency Inn Augusta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Augusta East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express East in downtown Augusta Georgia. Conveniently located with-in walking distance to Civic Center and Trade, Exhibit and Event Center (TEE Center). Also short distance from Georgia's largest medical center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Augusta East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Augusta East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.