We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concerts-Graduations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta-Richmond Civic Center

Augusta-Richmond Civic Center
601 Seventh Street, Augusta, GA 30903
706-722-3521
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 16 Attractions in Augusta
Type: Convention Centers, Landmarks
Attraction details
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Concerts-Graduations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the premier place for all graduations in our area. It's just a big arena for special events. Nothing spectacular about it. I've seen bigger and better in other states.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Holds Up Under Pressure of Several Graduations, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

One would think with back-to-back graduation cerimonies all day the James Brown Arena would staff appropriately for restroom cleanliness and supplies. It's really absurd to run out of TP and have other unsightly indications of neglect. Doesn't reflect well on Augusta to all the out of town visitors.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Civic Center (James Brown Arena) isn't anything special. It's average size (say Phillips Arena in Atlanta) and not many people want to book good shows here due to the crowd turnouts, but the good shows (popular at the time) usually do sell out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Never Going Back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

"I remember when you could be exited about attending an event at the civic center. I guess my emory is better than my children think if I can remember that far back but I see no reason to ever return. It is dirty, needs many repairs and the attractions don t attract me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, SC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a good place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not the best place in town to be. High ticket cost, over rated shows, serly employees and not the cleanest place in town. Not a place I will ever go back to.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augusta-Richmond Civic Center also viewed

 

Been to Augusta-Richmond Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta-Richmond Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.