We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Brown revisited” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta Museum of History

Augusta Museum of History
560 Reynolds Street, Augusta, GA 30901
706-722-8454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“James Brown revisited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014


we viewed the exhibit of James Brown. It revealed things about his career that I did not know, even though I followed him through that time. The exhibit is very informative and extensive. Our visit coincided with the release of his biopic "Get On Up", which premiered at a downtown theater.

Toni, the salesperson in the store, was very helpful and enthusiastic in her praise of Augusta.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I've been to better museums, but those were in the nation's capital and various state capitals. This museum captures the local history well. Only complaint is a little too much focus on James Brown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Augusta Museum is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We visited this museum last month and wished we had more time there. The volunteer guide (I can not remember her name, but it was on Sunday 25 May. She may remember us, as we were telling her how wonderful it is to Skype with family members far away), was VERY knowledgeable about everything in the museum and it was a pleasure to hear it all. Well, nearly all as we had to leave to go a cave and a lookout before it got dark. This museum has wonderful photos and artefacts from the early history of Augusta and surrounding area. Such difficult and hard early days! A must see if you are in the area!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Augusta Museum of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Be sure to visit the Augusta History Museum. The historical displays are
very interesting and kept up very well. Children will also enjoy this visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were surprised at how much history there was in the area, aside from the Masters tournament. Very nice building with very good exhibits. The gift shop staff was really nice and very informative.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Augusta Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.