We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for light meal and outdoor sitting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big City Bread Cafe

Big City Bread Cafe
393 N. Finley Street, Athens, GA 30601
+1 706-353-0029
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Description: A local family owned and operated restaurant two blocks out of downtown Athens serving affordable but high quality ingredients utilizing locally farmed produce and meats. All breads and pastries made in-house daily. Fabulous outdoor seating on an expansive courtyard. Welcoming to families with young children.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place for light meal and outdoor sitting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Food is heavy carbs, but excellent. Good salads and fair assortment of beers and drinks. Evening and breakfast-brunch seem to be a relaxing time to visit, converse, and dine in the outdoor area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just not efficient”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I went with some friends for lunch, because they felt we should try to patronize a "local business" instead of a chain like Panera. There's a reason chains expand across the country - they're competently run. Big City Bread is just not efficient. The workers did not wear uniforms, name badges, or identifying information. The bathrooms are medium clean and in awkward locations. To help others, the women's is behind the bar area. The men's is right next to where notices to staff are posted, things I should not be seeing. I shouldn't know about clock-in problems.

Laminated menus are at the entrance, but they don't include everything. Baked goods have different prices marked on boards behind the counter (not next to the baked goods in the case), which complicates decision making. When you order, you don't receive a receipt listing what you asked for, a point which becomes important later. It cost $11 for the burger you see - not particularly large - and a peanut butter cookie.

Then the waiting begins. We did go around 1:00 Saturday, a busy time. The workers brought out a sign noting a 45 minute wait. My friends and I were just chatting, so we decided to stay. That estimate was roughly honest, at least; it took 38 minutes to receive two burgers, a special, and a sandwich. Oh, plus they forgot the peanut butter cookie I also ordered, because there aren't those clear records.

The food itself was pretty good; we all liked the taste of our orders. However, neither burger nor cookie was special. The burger is not as good as In-N-Out (or even Five Guys), and the cookie was not as good as Earthfare market in Athens, roughly equal to Panera cookies. Given the disorganization and cost, I need to experience something special to recommend this place. I'm not against local. There are nice local places in Athens - The Grit, for instance, is two blocks away. Nevertheless, "local" often means "not ready for prime time", like here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Loaf, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a quiet relaxing dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The menu is prepared daily and the food is excellent and the prices are great. Soft music in the background is nice. I enjoy having dinner here at the end of a stressful day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Meal and Great Bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went here for dinner and were impressed. The menu is not huge but there are interesting dishes that will suit everyone's taste. The food and service were good. The restaurant has a nice patio to sit on if it is a nice day. The bakery is outstanding. They have a variety of breads and baked goods any of which can be ordered for eating in house or taken to go. Big City Bread also serves breakfast which I would also recommend. They have a variety of breakfast baked goods as well as breakfast sandwiches served on their own rolls/biscuits.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“second visit, 3.5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Well, This visit is somewhat better than my last. The food's good here, just nothing to shock my senses. $20+ for 2 for breakfast seems a bit high. Enjoyed their special omelet of the day and their quiche. Like to be able to drink lots of coffee. If I go out for breakfast, I want it to either be cheap or something I don't make at home. Big City Bread is not wowing me either way.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big City Bread Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Big City Bread Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big City Bread Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.