We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to have a quiet relaxing dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big City Bread Cafe

Big City Bread Cafe
393 N. Finley Street, Athens, GA 30601
+1 706-353-0029
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Description: A local family owned and operated restaurant two blocks out of downtown Athens serving affordable but high quality ingredients utilizing locally farmed produce and meats. All breads and pastries made in-house daily. Fabulous outdoor seating on an expansive courtyard. Welcoming to families with young children.
Sugar Loaf, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a quiet relaxing dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The menu is prepared daily and the food is excellent and the prices are great. Soft music in the background is nice. I enjoy having dinner here at the end of a stressful day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    33
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Meal and Great Bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went here for dinner and were impressed. The menu is not huge but there are interesting dishes that will suit everyone's taste. The food and service were good. The restaurant has a nice patio to sit on if it is a nice day. The bakery is outstanding. They have a variety of breads and baked goods any of which can be ordered for eating in house or taken to go. Big City Bread also serves breakfast which I would also recommend. They have a variety of breakfast baked goods as well as breakfast sandwiches served on their own rolls/biscuits.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“second visit, 3.5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Well, This visit is somewhat better than my last. The food's good here, just nothing to shock my senses. $20+ for 2 for breakfast seems a bit high. Enjoyed their special omelet of the day and their quiche. Like to be able to drink lots of coffee. If I go out for breakfast, I want it to either be cheap or something I don't make at home. Big City Bread is not wowing me either way.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went to Big City Bread with my daughter. They had some of the best burgers I have ever eaten. I think they put Bree cheese in the burger. It was outstanding. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best biscuits, great atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I'll be honest - the main courses are neither cheap nor impressive. But I will say, THIS is where I go for a biscuit with raspberry jam. I've had a few other things here, but at the end of the day, my personal history with Big City Bread is this: the biscuits are the legacy. They have a pretty decent menu and breakfast, but I'm not the person who's going to wait in the long line the morning after the football game. I'd recommend Big City as a rendezvous point with friends (BISCUITS WITH JAM) in the morning (lovely outdoor seating and lights)... but I'll say it one last time: it's the biscuits, y'all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big City Bread Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Big City Bread Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big City Bread Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.