We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hampton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Athens to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Athens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2220 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30606   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
129 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Typical Hampton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great location in Athens and just like most other Hamptons - comfortable rooms, great bed, excellent breakfast. The staff seemed a little overworked but it was a football weekend yet no complaints. If you like Hamptons, this one will satisfy you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    79
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
27
18
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
374 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Not the first time I have stayed here but the first time I've written a review. All in all, it was a Hampton. Room was nice and clean. Air was good and cooled the room properly without making a lot of racket. I did not eat at the buffet. It's near a lot of shops and restaurants and within a 5 minute drive to downtown Athens but far enough away to cost much less than staying downtown. I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have stayed in many places in Athens over the years, much to our disgust. Most of the motels in this college town are a sticky choice between gross, scary, repulsive and disgusting - and some have the distinction of achieving all of the above. (Don't get me started on the taxis!)

This Hampton Inn is the exception. It was clean. It was quiet. It was pleasant. It was comfortable. It was well-maintained. If you're looking for glass cups, a spacious bathroom, fridge in the room or turndown service, you're in the wrong town.

We were there for graduation ceremonies, and the fact that the Hampton Inn shares a parking lot with the Applebees next door was great for those who wished to celebrate and not have to drive!

But absolutely the best part of this hotel/motel was the people. Hands-down! As usual, I'm pretty demanding, but they handled every request with grace and a smile. In addition I had some bizarre requests in the middle of the night and their staff bent over backwards to meet our needs. They were so impressive I even sent a short note to Corporate about the quality of the staff here.

The only problem we experienced was the wakeup call. Since the next morning was graduation day & we had to be there early, we did a double backup: set the alarm in the room AND asked the front desk for a wake up call. The alarm clock didn't go off - not a peep. And the wakeup call had been entered incorrectly by the front desk and came exactly one hour late. Fortunately we were so excited that we were already awake, so it all worked out = no harm, no foul . . . but it could have been disasterous.

The only other issue was the security system with their front doors. This wasn't a quality problem, but a quick FYI if you decide to stay there: where you have to stand to put in your room key to open the doors after hours is too close to the doors. The sensor doesn't recognize you're there, so you need to stick in your key & then jump back so the doors will open. They don't tell you this when you check in, and you can't always be guaranteed that the front desk staff is going to be there or realize you're there when you try to enter the hotel at night. Weird quirk, but definitely not a deal-breaker - just something you need to know if you're going to try to get up to your room at night.

Overall, a pleasant experience . . . particularly given what we've endured in other places in Athens!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had a group of people staying here for a conference. The hotel is great. The bathroom needs updating. The rooms were clean. The staff was friendly. It is close to the St. Mary's hospital. My only complaint is the cost of taking a can into downtown. The cabs are expensive!!! The low cost of this hotel plus the cost of the cab....equals it would be less expensive to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The cabs cost is not the hotels fault but, should be taken into account if you plan on going downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. While not cheap for a roadside hotel, it is a great find. I will be staying here whenever I make the trip between Michigan and Florida. The staff was wonderful and the beds and bedding incredible. It is the best night's sleep I have ever had at a hotel. If you don't sleep well on the road, this is the place to try.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oderay D, Manager at Hampton Inn Athens, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Hampton Inn in Athens, GA. for your lodging needs. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This Hampton Inn has possibly the friendliest staff I have seen in a Hampton Inn. It is clean and provides the breakfast our 3 generation family of 14 from 2 months to 67 needs. The hot dishes are adequate but muffins and cereals are my grandkids breakfast of choice and these were abundant. Too often a Hampton this small does not offer as many choices. The hot chocolate chip cookies were replaced more than once in the late afternoon. I have not been in a Hampton that did this. Usually you are told there are no more after one plate. This is a small thing but it makes a difference in the welcoming feeling. I commend the nice staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nice enough place with clean beds and good service. Their breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn fare, except for the rather dry eggs, which I have dubbed "Hampton Pellets", on the guess that they're not unique to this branch. The bacon was also hard enough for interior repairs, or perhaps shingling. Nice oatmeal, though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
2.2 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#2 of 21 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown
4.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Athens
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Athens

Address: 2220 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Athens Hotel Athens
Athens Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.