We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express Athens, Ga. Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Athens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Athens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 West Broad St, Athens, GA 30601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Alpharetta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Inn Express Athens, Ga. Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed many times at this hotel. The experience is consistently excellent. The accomodations are always clean and the staff is exceptional. Every single staff member makes you feel welcome and very special. The complimentary breakfast is delicious and we highly recommend the cinnamon rolls (my wife's favorite).
The general manager, Mr. Figueroa, goes out of his way to be helpful, and he sets the highest standard for all of his employees.
When we are in Athens, Ga., this is our "go to" hotel.

Drew & Karen

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    66
    43
    10
    10
See reviews for
54
32
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having travled extensively throughout the US during the last twelve years for my job and as a professional football official, I can say, without equivocation, that this Holiday Inn Express sets the standard for customer service. No other hotel chain starts and ends with the excellent level of service at this HI-Express. From the Front Desk Staff (Cateia, Rebekah, Caitlin, Heather and Daniel to the housekeeping staff, everyone makes you feel like family. Every trip to this hotel finds the rooms in spotless condition, the amenities excellent and the atmosphere one of "family." All members of the staff go out of their way to ensure that your stay is memorable, quiet and safe.

WELL DONE!

Bud Mc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martian
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was advertised as a three star hotel. Apparently it was in a different cosmos. This hotel smelled and was relatively expensive. Rooms were just adequate. Additionally, while security was very good (via fencing, etc), it obviously was not in a great area. Hence, walking in the area was not a good idea -- even though the location was very good. Staff was friendly and very professional and the breakfast was good but our basement stay was just that. People get a five and the place barely deserves a place.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear MartianGranola,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you liked our hotel location and breakfast service. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I'm sorry our hotel fell below your expectations. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Seldom have I experienced a hotel with great service and a friendly, personable staff. This is one such hotel. Everyone on staff from the housekeepers to the general manager made us feel welcome and we were blown away with their deire to make our stay pleasureable. The hotel is immaculate as is the property itself. A great hotel that makes you feel like family!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a wonderful experience. This is a "large" Holiday Inn Express in a converted hotel. The general manager and his staff superbly maintain a comforting and helpful manner. They put the customer first--like in the old days. It was very convenient to the University, the downtown and the shopping districts. As seasoned travelers who have stayed in a lot of HIEs, we appreciate a good hotel. This one was extraordinary for our long stay. We would recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were recently in Athens, GA for my niece's wedding. We were told that there would be a place for us to change clothes so we left home in shorts and tee. Unfortunately, the changing room was over-used. I called the local HIE where we had a reservation for that night, check-in at 3, to see if we could possibly come in early ( 1:30 ). I explained the situation to the young lady on the phone. She checked on our reservation, came back and told me that our rooms were ready and that we could check in early. What a lifesaver!
We were traveling with my soon-to-be 90 year old mother and had asked for adjoining rooms. Our request was granted, and we were next door. The rooms were both clean and fresh with plenty of extra cover and pillows. The bed was so comfortable that I slept for 8 hours! We would definitely recommend this HEI to everyone!

Room Tip: The king room also has a pull-out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dushore, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Conveniently located within walking distance to center of Athens. Hotel provides breakfast and has outdoor pool. Pool was closed for first few days of our stay for renovations, but enjoyed it for two days. Only negative is that rooms were not very sound proof and we could hear the elevator and, room doors closing and everything said in the hallways. Was great value thogh and just what we needed for a few days while visiting family. Has wifi which made inconvenient to connect via IPad and IPhone. Did provide computers in lobby also.

Room Tip: Get room further from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.7 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#2 of 21 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 21 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Athens

Address: 513 West Broad St, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Athens for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens be your home away from home. Travelers appreciate our corporate atmosphere and how we make comfort and convenience a top priority. Conveniently located off of I-65 at exit 351 and easily accessible to I-565 approximately 20 miles from Huntsville International Airport. (HSV) We are also located near TVA Brownsferry, Delphi, Steelcase, Federal Mogul and Athens State University.Each guest room is beautifully appointed and equipped with a microwave and fridge. Our guest rooms also have a large work space with ergonomic chairs. We are the perfect choice for business or leisure guests. Wireless and hard-wired Internet access is provided free of charge in all guestrooms and public areas. We offer an on-site cardio fitness room and on-site guest laundry for your convenience. We also have an in-door pool and hot tub for year round swimming.Start your day by enjoying our deluxe hot continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to a lighter fare such as yogurt, muffins, toast, or fruit. Don t forget to try our delicious cinnamon roll that you can only get from Holiday Inn Express. If you are in a rush in the morning, just ask for one of our convenient To-go Bags and cinnamon roll box.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens will be everything you expect and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Athens Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.