We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Athens to your Saves list
Travelodge Athens
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   898 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Stillwater, ok
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Not Very Clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

After driving scenic roads all day, we needed a place to crash for the night and just pulled in and got a room. I wish I had kept driving. This room was dirty to say the least. (room 215 on 3/13/21) and looked to have been used and abused badly in it's lifetime. Wyndham Hotel Group should be ashamed to have there name on this one.

Room Tip: Avoid room 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    13
    20
    59
See reviews for
16
25
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We checked into a non smoking room that smelled awful. On the floor right under the dust ruffle were cigarette butts. We were moved to another room. When we went into the bathroom there were dirty towels draped over the edge of the bathtub, dried dirty wash cloths in the corner of the bathtub, dirty soap on the side of the bath tub, mold on the shower curtain and red stuff on the shower head. When the staff were advised, we were told there was nothing they could do and we would have to talk to the mgr in the am. We slept with our clothes on on top of the bedspread, using our coats as blankets for fear the sheets had not been cleaned or changed. Even then, we itched all night. The next morning the lady on duty in the office professed to be the manager. When I explained our experience, she told me that I could have a full refund but I would have to sign something that would prevent me from complaining. When I stated I was going to complain, I was told that I would not be given a refund. When I asked her to put that in writing, she told me she could don't do that and in fact was not the manager. I then asked for a zero balance bill. She advised that she could not do that. After I insisted that indeed she could and would, she did. A member of the cleaning crew advised they are not allows to leave towels on the floor. I informed them that indeed it had happened and I had pictures to prove it. She immediately left. I am confident that not only are the rooms never cleaned, but that management has no interest in ensuring they have a clean facility. I would not be surprised if the rooms rent out hourly or the hotel staff allow people to stay in or use the rooms.

It was by far the worst hotel I have ever see or stayed out. It should be shut down.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the Holiday Inn Express down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I would seriously urge students to commit a non-violent crime that would put them in jail overnight, before advising anyone to book a night at the Travelodge. As a 2003 UGA alumni, I continually struggle to find available rooms during the football season and have, in the past, been forced to stay at the Travelodge. While never experiencing any serious issues, the place is simply old and crappy. Real estate is at a premium near the downtown area, so it is my hope that the stubborn owners of the Travelodge sell the property for its land value, so that a new hotel can be built.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I travel with a pet sometimes, so cannot really do hotwire or priceline when traveling with her. So after checking which hotels near downtown Athens will allow pets, I booked through Travelodge website without thinking.

First, it is not really downtown. It is walking distance from The Varsity, but, taking my dog for a walk towards downtown on Broad St. the afternoon we got there, I quickly turned around after passing boarded up businesses and avoiding the shady looking bums hanging out and hopscotching the broken beer and wine bottles on the sidewalk. I drove my car downtown and parked, which I recommend. The deadbolt would not lock, and the security latch looked like it had been knocked off during a break-in and hastily reattached. I had my dog, so did not request another room, which I should have.

The room: Bed looked like someone had dropped a bowling ball from 10 stories on top of it...a 1.5 foot depression about 1 foot deep in the middle of the bed....maybe a 250 pound hooker had been working there. Debris and dried liquid/unknown materials on walls and headboard. Hot water took about 20 minutes to get to the room. Knob on tub shower was loose and took some real magic to get water to come out, much less figure out how to get hot water. When the shower knob was pulled, about 10 % of water came out of shower head and the remaining 90% came out of the faucet, so wetting yourself, much less hair, was a real task. Bathtub/tile/floor had been patched with big messy bead of caulk which was cracked and brown.

Phone buttons were all smashed in. Luckily "O" worked when I had to call the office to report the fight going on in a nearby room. After some guy banged on the door for 10 minutes at 2 AM, the stupid girl inside opened it, let him in, and they were screaming and cursing each other(calling each other "N*&G*r") and I expected gunfire at any time. I called the office rather than the police, and the front desk girl said "call 911". I said I don't know what room it is in and she said she would check it out. Well, the screaming/banging continued and she called me back in a few minutes and said "i didn't hear anything". I doubt she checked it out, as this is probably normal in this hotel. As the domestic violence continued, I called her back and said I was frightened. She said she would call the police. They came, and knocked on MY door! Of course, the minute the cop showed up, they stopped fighting. You would think that Athens police would know how to approach a situation like this and observe the violence so that they could at least address the situation and make arrests.

The only good thing about this stay was that I was able to check out alive and not injured. Now, will I get some disease or discover bedbugs later? I don't know.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

this was the worst motel i have every stayed in it smelled like a sewer it had mold in the bathroom, the room itself nasty. there was burnt holes in the spread. it looked like something that they rent by the hour. there was no other hotel rooms anywhere since there was a ga game going on but ill never go back to Athen if i have to stay there. i suggest shutting the doors on this place

Room Tip: any where but this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 via mobile

On arrival, tv was on and bed disheveled. Linens were dirty and they had turned a full size sheet sideways to try to make it fit a king bed. Room stunk, the tv was about to fall out of the cabinet. Sofa had a big stain on the seat cushion. I had to go to office and request new linens. I was unable to shower because they had screwed a regular faucet handle onto a lever type faucet so it would only turn on in cold position. Room and bathroom in disrepair with spackle and paint that looked like a 5 year old had played with. This was a cross between Bates hotel and Roach hotel! Drive 40 miles to a hotel if you must, but do not stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

First, the clerk checked another person in under our reservation. Second, the first room we were issued reaked of cat urine!!!! Third, the clerk said that hotels.com charged the wrong amount so she not only charged the other guest on my friends credit card, but charged us again on her credit card. The second room was OK, we could sleep in that room. Don't plan on breakfast here, no juice, you had to ask for milk for the cereal, a banana or apple is the only fruit, cheep sams club muffins, and bagels are it, no jelly, only plain cream cheese. my friend requested a ground floor room because of her health issues, so of corse we got a third floor room.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Athens

Address: 898 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30601
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Athens 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Athens Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.