We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK with Exceptions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Athens

Howard Johnson Express Athens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Athens to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Athens
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2465 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30606   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    45
    23
    37
See reviews for
57
30
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had booked a room at this hotel for it's convenience to downtown. We had specified a NON SMOKING room with a king bed for me and my wife. Upon arrival to the room, which had a non-smoking sign on the door, we immediately noticed a very heavy cigarette smoke smell. Upon further inspection of the room, we realized that it previously was a smoking room, that had been heavily smoked in. Looks like they just changed the smoking sign to a non-smoking sign. There were cigarette burns on the fixtures in the bathroom, and the stench was horrible. At this point, we had to be downtown, and it was useless to find another hotel on game day in Athens. As we were leaving the room and walking down the hallway to the exit, we noticed a VERY heavy smoke smell. 75% of the rooms on this non-ventilated hallway were SMOKING rooms, including the rooms adjacent to our NON SMOKING room. Needless to say, we spent the night in HELL, and a day later me and my wife have sinus issues and all of our luggage and clothes reek of stale cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: If you have a sensitivity to cigarette smoke, avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel. It is with great sincerity that we apologize for our shortcomings. Please know that we will work closely to address the matters pertaining to the overwhelming smoke smell that you mentioned so that we may significantly correct our deficiencies. Please know that we are constantly finding ways to contain and eliminate the cigarette smells, but due to the volume of people who smoke inside the hotel, it sometimes poses as a challenge. Nevertheless, we are determined to address your concern to the best of our abilities for we also believe that our guests should get nothing but the best accommodation there is we could offer. Your reviews are valuable for us as it gives us added reference in identifying the aspects that we need to implement corrective measures and improvement. We wish nothing but to give you a better and a more enjoyable experience should you wish to reconsider and give us another chance. Hoping to be given the opportunity to change your perception of our hotel again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good hotel for the money. We enjoyed our night there and plan to stay there again when we are in Athens

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
The inspiration we get from hearing your wonderful feedback is the driving force why we pour out our hearts into ensuring that our guests get nothing but the best service there is we can offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and making the effort to share to us your hotel experience. Our goal is to give you excellent service, and you can count on us to work harder than hard to attend to your needs at all times. Thank you for all your appreciation with regards to the value for your money as well as the overall service. Thank you for expressing the desire to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stay at this HoJo when we go to UGA football games and usually get a king room. But this time our king room had a sofa, nice chair, ottoman, and a separate area for the desk. The room was also a good bit larger than we've had before. It made our stay very enjoyable. Even though this motel is quite old, it has been kept up quite well. We had no problems while there on this trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Athens, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Your wonderful feedback validates all the hard work we are doing to continually seek excellence at all times. Thank you so much for taking the time to share to us your great experience. We are delighted to hear that we succeeded in making your stay a comfortable and convenient one. We wish to let you know that you can always count on us to always attend to your needs to the best of our abilities, and we will strive to further excel so that we may give our valued guests the best service there is like no other hotel can. Thank you so much for your loyalty and we couldn’t wait to serve you again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Athens

Address: 2465 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Athens
Athens Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.