We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump ..Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Athens-University Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   197 East Broad Street, PO Box 1666, Athens, GA 30603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What a dump ..Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

We have never quite had the negative experience that we had at the Athens Holiday Inn . It is cramped, dirty , smelly, staffed by uncaring robots and very overpriced. If there are 20 hotels in Athens then this one is # 20. Don;t let the location fool you, this place is one to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
41
31
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bisgo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

This hotel is well situated between downtown and the University. Plenty of great restaurants, shops, and bars within walking distance of the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. I will stay here again on my next visit to Athens.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
callander
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I stayed here twice last month and i had a great time. The hotel is right downtown and just across the street from campus. The front desk staff were nice and helpful, room was pritty big and cheapish. everything was clean and i had no problems when i was there. Any one going to athens should stay at the holiday inn!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

I am not sure why this hotel has such a low rating. We stayed in the executive tower on the 6th floor, the room was spacious and looked new and clean. It came with a microwave, mini-fridge, and double sinks. However, the tv did not get local channels and other channels were completely fuzzy. From the check-in to room service, all the employees were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and not to mention our "custom" pillows arrived within 5mins of ordering. The indoor pool appeared to be clean (although we didn't swim). The location was perfect for walking downtown-much better than the holiday inn express location, which was down a massive hill. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I have used this hotel several times prior, on this same annual business trip. First of all, do not accept a room in the "motel" portion. It is far away from everything, is backed by a property of questionable safety, and parking can be an issue. Go for the tower portion of the hotel (if six stories can be called a "tower.")

Check-in has always been snail-paced slow for some reason. How hard can it be to look at the confirmation number, call up the reservation, and issue the keys? It has been slow in the past, but this time around, 18 minutes from the time I approached the desk until the keys were issued, and nobody was in line ahead of me. The clerk interrupted her transaction four times to take phone calls, one of which was clearly personal in nature.

The restaurant, I am happy to report, is much improved over my visit a year ago. While still not in anyone's "top 20" list, it is airy, clean, and offers a fairly decent breakfast buffet. I find the dinner choices somewhat limited and the prices a bit above what should be expected for food of this type and quality. Service is good and attentive.

There is but a single elevator in the "tower" and you probably need to factor in a few extra minutes of travel time. All floors have vending machines and ice. High speed internet is truly fast, and best of all, free. Rooms near the street are noisy; rooms near the elevator hear the rather aged equipment slamming shut. This elevator also has the loudest bell in the entire world, I do believe. Therefore, ask for a room in the 50s, i.e., 251, 253, 256, 259 (with the first digit changing for each floor.)

I don't know if checkout is as slow as checkin. They allow you to drop you key card in a box on departure and a copy of your final bill can be emailed within a few days.

The location is very convenient to the University of Georgia. There are a couple of so-so restaurants within walking distance; otherwise you need to be prepared to drive about three miles west along U.S. 78 to find any really decent restaurants.

  • Liked — Lightning speed free internet
  • Disliked — Slowness of checkin
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

Pluses: very nice staff, good location, close to UGA.
Minuses: street noise in the room (North tower), heater without thermostat (either always on or always off). Looks dated.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

We reserved three rooms at this hotel. Only one room (which was in a newer part of the hotel) was Okay. The other two rooms (which were in an older part of the hotel) were not worth the money being charged. The two rooms were not cleaned good. Our room did not look like it had been vacuumed and they didn’t vacuum it while we were there. We found a roach and two spiders in the room. Both refrigerators had broken shelves in them. Our refrigerator only worked some of the time. There were places in the room which smelt like pee. We had a towel which smelt like pee. The other room had to get a set on clean sheets because they had sheets which looked like they had pee stains on them. The floors were not cleaned good in the second room also. Room had hair on bathroom floor and seating area. To top all that off they allowed drinking in their parking lot in the back portion of the hotel. Both nights we were there people gathered in the parking lot to drink. This was not light drinking but people with bottles of JD and beer and needless to say all the trash was there in the morning. Thankfully our AC unit was so loud we could not hear very much from outside our room except for a few car alarms going off at 2 to 3 in the morning and a few loud people. That’s just the thing you want your children to see. Out of three rooms we did have one good room. I would guess the closer you get your room to the main part of the hotel the better (Broad St. Side of the hotel). The only other good thing it is close to UGA. I will never stay at this hotel again. Although we did have one good room I still would not recommend this hotel for what you pay not unless you’re a person who doesn’t mind a possible bad room/bad service.

  • Liked — Close to UGA
  • Disliked — NOT CLEAN
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Athens-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Address: 197 East Broad Street, PO Box 1666, Athens, GA 30603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.