We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Athens!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Athens-University Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   197 East Broad Street, PO Box 1666, Athens, GA 30603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Metro-Manila
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good for Athens!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

For a college town, University of Georgia is located there, it's great to have a Holiday Inn. It is basic with small common spaces. Rooms were okay. A bit ratty. Free wifi was good to have if you had enough of it. The signal was soooo poor! It was almost useless. They put us in an added wing that was forced to say it nicely. To go to our room from the puny reception, it was a trek through corridors that never ended. Never had a meal there so can't tell what was. The reception people were nice but somewhat lacking in skill. Free coffee in the room. That was good. For what it was, it was still reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Elfilibusterismo,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. I am pleased that were able to meet the basics you expect from our hotel. However, I am sorry that we failed in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    77
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
42
32
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Checking in was a weird experience, our room was not ready so they put us in a different room, then called that room and said we have to move you again due to maintence issues. We get to that room and the view was amazing but that was it! My husband and I step out to walk around downtown, come back and our hotel door was open. We called and reported it and they came up there and hooked a computer to the door to see who came in our room and said they would investigate and get back with us... They never did.. I felt unsafe and stored my valuable items in my car!! They tried to compensate the crappy room switch with a breakfast pass from their restaurant, the food was nasty! The second day we expected to come back to a nice clean room and all they did was come in and make up the bed and add some towels. They did not clean out the ice bucket or empty the trash or anything else. On top of all that, they charged a security charge to my credit card upon our arrival and have yet to take it off.... The staff was friendly. It was just overall a very weird experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jeanette B,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed one night. The hotel is very reasonably priced, especially at this time of year when school was not back in session and there was no football. Can walk from hotel to campus and all the downtown stores and restaurants. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night. Everything was fine. The hotel is rather worn around the edges, but given that it is filled with rowdy Bulldog fans every weekend during football seasons, they've managed to keep things fairly clean and working well. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable. The shower was really great after a long day of driving. Everyone at the desk was helpful and friendly. Good value and great location right in downtown Athens. I didn't have to drive at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for three nights while traveling for a business trip. I checked in on a Sunday late afternoon and stood in line ofor 15 minutes as they only had 1 person working behind the desk. After getting my room key, parking sticker and internet code I found my way over to my room. I stayed in the North Tower which was a little odd getting too . . . I finnally figured it out but it was weird. I had a King room in th corner which was nice. Not a lot of noise and it was a fairly large room to spreasd out my work related stuff.

I had a micrwave & fridge - they charge an arm & a leg for water/soda in the vending machines so stop ahead of time. Hotel is right in the middle of downtown so easy access to stores, cafe's and restaurants. I tried the hotel restraurant on my 2nd night and I don't reccomend the food. Service was ok - nothing extravaget and the food was so-so. I would have gotten a much better meal elsewhere.

The odd part of this hotel is that it has either been re-modeled or added onto so traveling from one section to another part of the hotel can be confusing. I stumbled accross a short cut from the north tower to the on-site restaurant by going through the stair door and across the hall to the other sides elevator and taking that down. The elevator I closest to me was down for repair when I finished with my conference the first day and I didn't want to lug up all my supplies to the 6th floor.

Room was comfy - nice & big, spacious bathroom, good water pressure, and room to spread out my work stuff. Internet was decent, a tad slow in the evening but for the most part okay. Bed was a little saggy and by the 3rd night I was a little stiff.

I was a little perterbed with the hotel's housekeeping staff. Check-out is at 11 AM and they were already knocking on my door by 8 AM to see if I had checked out yet. I found this a little rude and mentioned it to the front desk when I did check out about 10 AM.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Well, this was interesting. We booked our room through a deal on Priceline so we saved about $40 for the night. We checked in around 6:30 and there was a kid's soccer team that had taken over the place so we were put in a King Executive Suite in the Executive Tower. Parking is free but it was a pain to find a space. Luckily someone was leaving to get dinner and we snagged that space.

After making it across the parking lot we used our key to get into the executive tower and our room was right by the elevator and door. Well this is where it gets weird. The Executive Tower is the old tower (The hotel has added a new tower) and in the room we were in they had turned two rooms into one but it was stupidly large! It was a plus sleeping 20 feet from the door with another door that we could close was great being that we were right by the main entrance to the building and the elevator. With that door closed it was nice and quiet. However, the strange recesses that you know used to be a closet and the large open areas that made it look like the room had been stripped of furniture left a little to be desired.

There is a full size refrigerator and a full sized sink with a microwave and a coffee maker but no stove? Why make a kitchen area so large and you can't cook anything in it? Then the living or sitting area is also humongous but not practical and it's not useful space for a traveler everything is pushed over to the side and there is an open area as if there is furniture missing. I guess this bugged me because it's a huge room but a complete waste of space! A bath tub would be an excellent addition in these rooms and would put them far above what the competition has to offer. It would also help with the vast open areas in the room.

There are two huge TVs mounted in the room (One in the sitting area and one in the bedroom). This could be great for a family staying here. The bed was horrible to me but I realize that these things are subjective. It was clearly one of those with regular springs as it sagged when you would sit on the bed but they added a mattress bad to it for a little plush. It was too soft for me and I woke up feeling like I slept on a log.

I can't really say that I would stay here again but it would be a safe bet if I couldn't get in to the Courtyard or the Hilton (I know what to expect from their beds). The Location is great as you can use the free parking and walk around most any place downtown Athens within a 15-minute walk.The room is clean (but noticeably old in some areas) the towels were awesome and so was the shower and the water pressure. If nothing else you will get the basics and they will be clean (from what I saw) but for the money it's not really what you would expect and they really should upgrade those mattresses. At most, the average night here should be something like e i g h t y d o l l a r s for a standard room but it was about f o r t y d o l l a r s more than that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My stay here was nice. I decided to stay here cause I was very tired on Thanksgiving night. Love the location, hotel was very quiet. The only negative was booked through Expedia , and I checked my bank account 2 days later I had the same charge from Holiday Inn. When I called he said it was an accounting error and it would be fixed on Monday. Good thing I checked my account. Overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Athens-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Address: 197 East Broad Street, PO Box 1666, Athens, GA 30603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.